Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic
i dont read many books at all but i did make an effort to buy this as i had heard it was good read,i was more than suprised. after reading the first page i was hooked bare in mind im not a book gal at all,(i read this in under a week) i just couldnt put it down every page you are willing to turn. you get a full sight into katies life she talks about things that are very...
Published on 11 Jan. 2005

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Priceless, or Worthless?
If you've ever read a tabloid newspaper or a men's magazine, you'll have heard of Jordan. In more recent times, you don't even need to have done this to have heard of her, thanks to her attempts to represent the UK in 2005's Eurovision Song Contest and her appearance in the 2004 series of ITV's "I'm a Celebrity, Get Me Out Of Here!"

Born Katie Infield...
Published 2 months ago by Mr. Iain R. Wear


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Priceless, or Worthless?, 22 Jan. 2015
By 
This review is from: Being Jordan (Paperback)
If you've ever read a tabloid newspaper or a men's magazine, you'll have heard of Jordan. In more recent times, you don't even need to have done this to have heard of her, thanks to her attempts to represent the UK in 2005's Eurovision Song Contest and her appearance in the 2004 series of ITV's "I'm a Celebrity, Get Me Out Of Here!"

Born Katie Infield in Brighton, Jordan's problems with men started when she was three years old and her father, who hadn't really been around much, left for good. Her home life was to become a little more stable after her mother remarried, and the surname she now uses, Price, is that of her stepfather.

Although she denies it had any impact on her growing up, this is a story of failed relationships with men. Her attempts to become a model led her into a dangerous professional relationship with an amateur photographer who turned out to be a paedophile. From there on, it's her personal relationships that failed to go well, as she lurched from one disaster to another even as her dream career came true.

This means is that the book is mostly concerned with these two aspects of her life. There are brief mentions of her family and her time before she became a model, but they seem to be largely glossed over as if Jordan's eager to get them out of the way to get to what she feels is the real meat of the story. This is fine, if all you read is the Sun and News of the World or footballers' biographies.

For the more discerning reader amongst us, however, it proves to be a dreadful let down. Anyone hoping that Katie Price would be lifting the lid on her thoughts and feelings about life and telling about the bits that didn't make the tabloids as they happened before she ever became Jordan will be dreadfully disappointed. There is virtually nothing here that has not featured in one tabloid newspaper or another, even if it is written from a slightly different point of view.

Of course, it's unlikely that anyone looking to buy Jordan's autobiography is going to be expecting any great work of literature. That being the case, it's a great read. It's written in the language of the tabloids, which is to say in pretty simple language. It's the closest you can come to having a no-brainer in a book.

When somebody lives their life very much in the public eye, or in the pages of the tabloids, you have to expect that much of their life will have already been published elsewhere. But you would hope that when they do come to tell their side of the story, they would tell you the bits that didn't make the press. Jordan doesn't do that, merely treading over old ground. The only major difference between what is here and what is in the tabloids is that it's completely one sided, with Jordan being the victim and making out that the only thing she has ever done wrong is to make a few unwise choices.

The whole thing is wildly self indulgent and strangely lacking in emotion. Sure, we're hearing all about Jordan's love, or at least sex, life but there's little that involves you in the story. You can't really get emotionally involved when she falls in love and it's virtually impossible to feel her pain when she's treated badly of when things go wrong. It's only when she talks of her son Harvey that she seems to be emotionally involved in her own life in any way.

None of my preconceptions about Jordan were changed in reading "Being Jordan". I didn't get the impression that she was Katie Price inside and Jordan was just a suit she wore for work. Although she seems like a caring mother and someone who is desperately in need of reassurance and attention, this doesn't really come as a surprise. Before reading this book, I'd thought of Jordan as someone who thrives on the attention and will do whatever it takes to get it. This hasn't changed.

Like many hardback books, "Being Jordan" is ridiculously overpriced. But it seems even worse this time around, when you think that for the RRP of £16.99 you could buy 56 copies of The Sun, which would provide you with a higher, if not more intelligent word count and probably contain more about Jordan than this book does.

It's only something you should be reading if you're a particular fan of Jordan, as if you're someone who just enjoys gossip in general, you could have got all this from the tabloids and if you like reading biographies for the insights into a person's life they can provide, you'll be horribly let down by "Being Jordan", as it has none.

Incidentally, if you're a bloke hoping to buy it for pictures of Jordan in various states of undress, I wouldn't bother there, either. Certainly the hardback copy only had a couple from her Page 3 days, which is before she started having the operations. If that's all you're after, you'd be better off flicking through the pictures in the shop and returning the book to the shelf.

I will readily admit to being a Sun reader, despite knowing I really shouldn't be, but as no real fan of Jordan herself, even I found this to be dumbed down and lacking in any real insight. At least in the Sun, I could skip to the sports pages, but in "Being Jordan", all I can do is skip to where she's having a relationship with a footballer.

In much the same way that a Beano Annual takes your favourite characters from the comic and puts them all together in a hard cover, so "Being Jordan" is the equivalent of a Sun Annual. It gives you the same characters, acting in the same way, and gives them to you in one large chunk that you'll soon tire of.

Indeed, the only saving grace to the hardback copy of "Being Jordan" I read is this. I borrowed it from a colleague, so reading it didn't cost me a penny - which is about what its worth - and I can give it back and put it completely out of my mind, which will take all of thirty seconds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A surprising read (but not necessarily a good surprise!), 19 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Being Jordan (Paperback)
I picked up this book at a local bookstore as I was somewhat curious to all the hype and gossip surrounding the omnipresent Katie Price. She has flooded gossip columns, television shows and, now, literature book-lists as one of the highest grossing businesswomen of the millennium. I have never been extremely impressed with the media surrounding Ms Price, but thought that her autobiography might shed some light on what is behind all the harsh newspaper reports. What I found was quite an enjoyable read, for a few chapters anyway.
The first half of the book was quite surprising in that she goes into detail about her adolescent life, her inspirations surrounding pursuing a career in (glamour) modelling, and the very personal story of her experiences with a paedophilic photographer during her pre-adolescent teenage years. This I applaud her for, as I expect it is not an easy feat to expose personal stories like these, and hopefully will inspire people in similar situations to tell their stories as well, or at least seek help from the proper authorities.
This, however, is where my applauding halts, as most of the following chapters focus on her (very) publicised relationships. Plus, while this is expected, Katie goes into a rant of berating her ex-lovers' penis sizes, sexual performance and extremely shallow expectations of what a man's body should be like in order to acquire the authority to `date' her. I felt particularly sorry for Gareth Gates, as whilst I don't doubt Katie's words are in essence the truth, she really doesn't put him in a good light towards the end. How she can attempt to justify cheating on someone because she is in need of more sexual stimulation, or because she is simply bored is beyond me as you can bet that if these were the words of a man speaking, his book would most definitely not have been nominated for `Biography of the Year' at the 2005 British Books Awards.
Despite all of these negative aspects to Katie's first autobiography, I would still recommend that you pick up a copy if possible, and try to read with more of a psychological stance. It really is quite interesting to see how someone can justify their wrongdoings by using quite hypocritical methods of self-pity. This is not a book to find inspiration, and even after reading about her horrible adolescent experiences, this still doesn't balance out the shallow and self-advocating attitude she holds and expresses in vile language towards ex-lovers and men in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dull, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Jordan: The real story of one of the most notorious celebrities in Britain today. (Kindle Edition)
Typical Pricey predictable always an overlap with the first chapter almost re printing the final chapter of the previous book getting boring now however many times she marries!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 11 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Being Jordan (Hardcover)
i dont read many books at all but i did make an effort to buy this as i had heard it was good read,i was more than suprised. after reading the first page i was hooked bare in mind im not a book gal at all,(i read this in under a week) i just couldnt put it down every page you are willing to turn. you get a full sight into katies life she talks about things that are very personal to her about her son and her love life, she tells of her trouble of dwight york and her lust for teddy shringham its brilliant. after finishing this book it left me begging for more. although i found the book amazingly intresting i doubt wheter it would be sutable for prude types as she dosnt leave much to the imagination about her sex life and if your not intrested in the whole glamour modeling, sex lifes of the rich and famous i wouldnt bother. but if like my self you cant get enough of the rich and fabulous this is a deffinate for your book shelf. one word to summerise this book would be truthfull. go out and buy it i swear it will be money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read!, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Jordan (Paperback)
A addictive book. Read the whole book in 2 days and that is from someone who does not like reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could it get any worse, 8 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Being Jordan (Hardcover)
Utter dribble - a complete waste of paper and time. Even as someone who does think that there's more to Katy price than the two inflated egos stuck to her chest but this "book" is just a wanna be tabloid kiss and tell.
Pure cashing in on the "Get me out of here" media hype. Let's hope both her and Peter Andrea fall flat (well Katy couldn't) on their faces. It's a blatant ill thought out get rich quick scheme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A bit boring, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Jordan: The real story of one of the most notorious celebrities in Britain today. (Kindle Edition)
Seems this book is just a kiss and tell, all the men shes been with and goes on and on about it, so repetitive. She comes across as a right maneater and is needy and insecure. However I think shes had an interesting life and shes a rich business woman so kudos to her but I don't think I will be reading anymore of her autobiography, she talks about the same thing and its getting boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Being Jordan, 16 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Jordan: The real story of one of the most notorious celebrities in Britain today. (Kindle Edition)
I read this book to find out if Katie Price is really as 'shallow' as she seems - and I have to say she really is. She comes over as extremely insecure and although she has made a name for herself and, no doubt, made a lot of money, she has not had a very satisfying (except in the sexual sense!!!) life. This is the first of her books that I have read and I did intent reading the others, however, if they are all written in the same vain, degrading the partners she's had, then I won't be wasting any more money on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love her, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Jordan: The real story of one of the most notorious celebrities in Britain today. (Kindle Edition)
I just love reading about her opinions and the way she sees things. She's a very clever woman. Can't wait to read to the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 22 May 2004
By 
Mr. S. Downes (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Being Jordan (Hardcover)
I tried to approach this book with as few preconceptions as possible, and to be honest the only reason that I did read it was that it was lying around my common room and I had a few free periods. To be honest in hindsight if I'd spent those free periods locked in a dark cupboard they would have been spent more profitably.
Why is it that people, Jordan herself included, try so hard to intellectualise the idea of 'Jordan'. It seems pretty straightforward to me. She's famous for wearing very little and selling intimate details of her tawdry little private life and the sexual performance of various minor 'celebrities' (Dane Bowers anyone?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews