Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great girl Sadie is
Loved this book from page 1 I never knew this stuff !! After reading it I want to be Sadies friend I feel I know her now honestly written fantastic read don't miss an amazing book.
Published 9 months ago by junnieb

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars couldve been better
I did enjoy reading this book - but glad i didnt pay more than a few pounds to do so!!
Whilst her early years are quite interesting and many years detailed, the later years (which we all know her for) were basic, skimmed over and parts missing! I understand why she didnt want to "dwell or write about" certain things (what happened at the childrens birthday party for...
Published on 4 Mar 2012 by ange11


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars couldve been better, 4 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did enjoy reading this book - but glad i didnt pay more than a few pounds to do so!!
Whilst her early years are quite interesting and many years detailed, the later years (which we all know her for) were basic, skimmed over and parts missing! I understand why she didnt want to "dwell or write about" certain things (what happened at the childrens birthday party for example) but dont write a book if you dont want to tell the whole story. Makes for a frustrated and disapointed reader!!! I KNOW for legal reasons not a lot could be said but if the truth was fabricated by the press well this is the time to clear it up and actually TELL the truth - that is if the truth is stories were fabricated - makes you wonder if they were really true! (probably) If this was my life and one of the most talked about significant events had been potrayed as something completly different - id want to set the record straight!!
felt as if it was more about her father and the book a tribute to him.
PEARL LOWE's book give much more detail and probably true-er account of the primrose hill set!! Read that book!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as exciting as hoped!!!, 6 Jan 2011
Whilst the book was enjoyable and I completed within three days, I was rather hoping to read more about her so called partying days, rock and roll lifestyle, I felt the book was more a tribute to her father than anything else, and that regardless of celebrity status it seemed quite dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sexy Sadie's Story, 1 Sep 2010
By 
Paul Donnelley (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sadie Frost is, or was, a tabloid regular thanks to her membership of the privileged Primrose Hillbillies set and marriages to Gary Kemp and Jude Law. Now she puts her side of the story or at least as much as Jude Law's lawyers will let her.

M'learned friends certainly had their blue pencil out before this book hit the printers. Miss Frost explains why her marriage to Gary Kemp broke up (he was too earnest and intellectual - yes, that surprised me as well. They are not the sort of adjectives you normally associate with pop stars) but there is nary a mention of why the one to Mr Law failed, certainly no mentions of infidelities or nannies. One page they are together and then they split. Nor is there any explanation (for "legal and privacy" reasons) about what really happened at that infamous children's party in Soho (p219) that made headlines a few years back.

Miss Frost does talk about her own drug taking (pp118, 128, 161, passim); her insecurity and her dysfunctional relationship with her father (passim) - could they be related?; her severe post-natal depression that had her sectioned while in America (pp227-228); how when she worked for Francis Ford Coppola the hairdresser hired for the film was not interested in the hair on her head (surely, it's bush not tush?) (pp185-186) and her obvious love for her children (passim).

Perhaps we have no right to know certain aspects of someone's life but then if you want to keep your life private, don't write an autobiography.

Crazy Days could have done with a proof reader - Marrakech is the preferred spelling and we meet Mark Bolan (Marc); Meg Matthews (it's Mathews); Fran Culter (Cutler); Stephen Spielberg (Steven); Pete Docherty (Doherty); Spizzenergi (not Spizz Energy); Beatrice Dahl (it's Dalle) and the fashionable thoroughfare in west London is King's Road not the King's Road.

Should you splash out £19.99 on the book? No, and here on amazon you don't have to but if you want to read more about Sadie Frost's childhood and early career than about her later life, then you will probably enjoy it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Recollections from Primrose Hill., 17 April 2011
By 
RM/TM (UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was mildly disappointed by this book, which is thin on the ground in parts (particularly the era covering Sadie's marriage to Jude Law). Even allowing for the well-known court injunction, it does seem we've been short-changed more than a little in terms of her life during that period. Also, Sadie's recollections of her early childhood seem somewhat romanticised - her father is painted very much as the tormented artist, rather than the violent drunk that he appears to the reader. In fact, the whole of Sadie's childhood is far from the care-free bohemian existence I had imagined from interviews and articles - condemned flats, real poverty and serious respiratory illness figure much larger than the occasional trip to Marrakech.

What can't fail to grip you though, is the proliferation of celebrities at every turn. David Bailey taking Sadie's photograph as she played in the street as a child, the Beatles commissioning furniture from her father, even the young Sam Mendes and David Milliband playing kiss-chase with the girls in her primary school class.

Not tremendously well written and with gaping holes in the known plot - yet also strangely un-putdownable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weird, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy Days (Kindle Edition)
The strangest thing about this book is how much of it focuses on her childhood way past the middle a nd she is still talking about her mum and dad. No information given about her breakup with Jude law or any other personal information apart from her depression. Well if you want to read about her depression then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great girl Sadie is, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy Days (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book from page 1 I never knew this stuff !! After reading it I want to be Sadies friend I feel I know her now honestly written fantastic read don't miss an amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadie frost bio, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy Days (Kindle Edition)
Sadie frost bio Really good read and worth purchasing I read in two days whilst on holiday. It's one of those books you can't put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crazy Days (Kindle Edition)
It's OK, but most stuff you already know from the mags, tabloids. Not much new stuff and Jude Law is glossed over really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars All the juice has been left out, 2 Aug 2014
By 
Clarey R (Leeds. England) - See all my reviews
What a boring read this was. Thought it was going to be a wild tale of excess and instead it was basically a lukewarm tale of moderation. Not that I think that Sadie Frost hasn't got more to say - I just don't think that she was prepared to or allowed to. In which case one wonders why she bothered to write an autobiography at all. All the stuff I wanted to learn more about such as lustful affairs, painful marriage breakdowns, drugs knocking about at a child's party etc was censored beyond belief. What you get here is loads of stuff about her late father, who was a bit of a hippy type. Interesting enough, but a chapter rather than most of the book would have sufficed. Don't bother with this book, you could get a better and more interesting account of what really happened with the Sadie/Jude/Sienna/nanny thing just looking on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Addicted!, 23 Dec 2010
I read this in about one sitting. I loved the earlier life, and the book reads as a tragic love story between father and daughter. Like another reviewer, on reflection, I'd have liked more depth and detail about the later life as well as the earlier stuff. But to be honest, while I was reading it I was so enthralled by Sadie's childhood and teens, that by the time I'd got to the grown up stuff, I wasn't that interested in reading about Jude Law. Sadie is much more interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crazy Days
Crazy Days by Sadie Frost
£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews