Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The chosen
Fantastic book, breath taking. Couldn't put book down. I think this must be the best author . His explanation is so real. Almost feels like I'm the detective .
A must read !!!
Published 6 months ago by Milaine

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silence of t' Lambs
Having thoroughly enjoyed his 1st book, when my local Waterstone's were advertising a signing by Mr Kitson next week, I went in to the store only to find no copies of his new work on display. Eventually one of the staff located and opened the box that had been delivered that day and I had my copy. The flysheet promised a plot which sounded rather akin to the Silence of...
Published on 16 Feb 2010 by Andy Q


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A good crime novel, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen (Kindle Edition)
I was blown away by Depth of Despair but this is, to my mind, more pedestrian and familiar territory for crime readers - a missing girl leads the detectives to uncover a serial killer. Having said that, it is well done and a good read. I did want to know what was coming next and I liked the interaction between the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The chosen, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book, breath taking. Couldn't put book down. I think this must be the best author . His explanation is so real. Almost feels like I'm the detective .
A must read !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb read, 11 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. J. Smith "johnny smith" (blackburn,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen (Kindle Edition)
what a page turner of a thriller gripping right to the last page,Bill Kitson makes his character's get right under your skin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top class again, 16 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. S. G. Little "bookworm" (manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen (Kindle Edition)
2nd book I have read of his and was better than first one , can't wait for next one the story lines are just right and getting to know the,main characters slowly loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silence of t' Lambs, 16 Feb 2010
This review is from: Chosen (Hardcover)
Having thoroughly enjoyed his 1st book, when my local Waterstone's were advertising a signing by Mr Kitson next week, I went in to the store only to find no copies of his new work on display. Eventually one of the staff located and opened the box that had been delivered that day and I had my copy. The flysheet promised a plot which sounded rather akin to the Silence of the Lambs comes to the Yorkshire Dales, including one of the leading Detectives being called Clara, not a million miles from Clarise

I was going abroad for a few days so, remembering how much I had enjoyed "Depth of Despair" was relishing the prospect of some relief from the boredom of airports / aircraft, and therefore dived in to this new volume with gusto.

Like his first offering Mr Kitson again hasn't shied away from topics many authors find taboo. I loved the twisting plot, and the constantly changing prime suspect( I wouldn't want to spoil it for potential readers so won't go into detail).

The problem is I was increasingly annoyed by the shoddy research and lack of knowledge of the factual issues round the story. Mr Kitson credits a Dr for assistance with the medical parts of the plot but obviously never spoke to a police officer, a criminal solicitor or even a kid with a GCSE in law about the legal or police proceedure aspects, which are very weak to say the least. Herein lies the problem, once you've read past a few glaring errors, its too easy to stop concentrating on the plot and just look for more bloopers. I didn't expect the late lamented, John Mortimer's level of subject knowledge, but for someone who wants to make it as a crime writer his grasp of the topic is poor to say the least. ( Gerald Seymour, or more recently Duncan Falconer, would have got it right!!) and that's what sets the best apart from the rest.

Apart from the above which could be gleened from a few episodes of "The Bill" there were other glaring errors. These varied from the small but annoying, such as characters smoking in a pub, (banned for a couple of years now) and referring to a burglary as a robbery, to the obvious, a plot which featured an "Adult cinema" ( I remember as a kid in the 70's regularly walking past one of these tawdry establishments on the way home from school, but it and its ilk disapeared with the advent of VHS in the early 80's)

There were a few tongue in cheek moments in the book which only a North Riding resident would pick up on (Club Wolfgang and the Westlea estate, a bit of lateral thinking reveals where his inspirations for those locations came from!)

Mr Kitson now faces what in rock 'n' roll terms is the tricky 3rd album, the first sells because its new and different, the second sells on the back of the first, but the 3rd has to set the bench mark for those to follow, or interest wanes and the loyal fan-base is never established, so lets hope its a good one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detective Inspector Mike Nash Features In Another Well Paced Thriller Mystery, 22 Oct 2011
This review is from: Chosen (Hardcover)
Chosen is the follow-up to Bill Kitson's gripping debut novel, Depth of Despair, and opens with a clipping from the 1983 Seattle Times

MISSING GIRLS: 3 BODIES FOUND.

The clipping ends with: "There is some confusion here. We've gotten immediate identification, yet the Medical Examiner tells us the girls have been dead a long time. We're not sure how this is possible."

And so the mystery begins as North Yorkshire Detective Inspector Mike Nash, formerly of London's Metropolitan Police, is disturbed during his much-needed weekend off by a call from his Sergeant, DS Mironoma, and the words: "Possible missing person. I've a woman here frantic with worry. Apparently, her daughter went out on Friday night and hasn't returned..."

It's every mother's nightmare and it's not long before DI Nash's intuitive (and sometimes unorthodox) methods of detection lead him to fear the worst, and guide him on to the trail of other missing girls that could be linked. Then it's only a matter of time before Nash suspects he has a serial killer on his hands. The team look into the history of other possible victims and it's during this part of the investigation that Nash becomes involved with the sister of one of them. The investigation turns into a race against time as more discoveries indicate the abductor could strike again soon.

DI Nash and his merry team are delightful characters. Nash attracts the ladies with his good looks, charm and dry sense of humour and earns a lot of respect from those around him. He banters with his colleagues - DS Clara Mironoma in particular, who is from Eastern Europe and is more than a match for Nash. There is a clear attraction here between these two although neither admit it, but it lays the foundations for future possibilities.

Chosen is written in the same short-chapter thriller format as Bill Kitson's other Nash books and enough information is provided to get the reader's imagination brewing before switching quickly to another scene and firing off further intrigue.

Despite being a detective novel, Chosen is not full of police procedure so don't expect nitty-gritty details on how DI Nash and the team operate. Chosen is driven by the characters and their interaction with each other, which is strongly evident in the realistic dialogue. Like the set up of the crimes, the reader is granted enough freedom to form their own mental pictures but the gritty dialogue builds another dimension to the characters. It also moves the plot forward with realism and conviction. Expect lots of twists and turns in the investigation to lead you around as DI Nash uses his own particular methods to solve the crimes. The ending was more gruesome than I expected but it pulled the whole story together satisfyingly.

This is the third book of Bill Kitson's Mike Nash series that I've read and I know I can pick up any of them and not be disappointed. The only disadvantage I would say, is that the books are only currently available in hardback and not yet in paperback - although Depth of Despair is just about to be released as an e-book in October 2011 and Minds That Hate in March 2012. Hopefully, this will open up Bill Kitson's crime thrillers to a much wider and well deserved audience.

Other DI Mike Nash books in the series are:

Depths of Despair (Aug 2009) e-book version due out Oct 2011
Chosen (Jan 2010) e-book version due out Jan 2012
Minds That Hate (May 2010)
Altered Egos (Mar 2011)
Back-Slash (due out 31st Oct 2011)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chosen, 25 Mar 2010
This review is from: Chosen (Hardcover)
Fortunately I am not au fait with police procedure, etc so I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I found it compulsive reading and a good follow up to Depth of Despair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chosen, 14 Feb 2010
By 
G. Lee (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chosen (Hardcover)
Another brilliant read! I just couldn't put it down.
The pace is frantic, and the characters terrific, the plot simply takes your breath away!
I can't wait for the next Mike Nash novel, bring it on!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chosen, 31 Jan 2010
By 
Mrs. Una Huxtable (North Yorkshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chosen (Hardcover)
Another fantastic book finished reading it at 4 am. A film just waiting to be made.
I have already ordered Minds that Hate I am only sorry I have to wait until May
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chosen
Chosen by Bill Kitson
4.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews