Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done!
Set in 1815. Jane had been a soiled dove lucky enough to marry wealthy Esmond Tremoille. Upon Esmond's death, Jane made sure she would get everything by doing away with the lawyer and torching his office. But rumor has it that Esmond had drawn up another will, revoking the one Jane has and leaving all to his daughter, Elizabeth "Beth". Jane had tossed Beth out last year...
Published on 27 Jan 2009 by Detra Fitch

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Star Crossed Summer
This book (I only read the first few pages) seems to concentrate on sexual matters rather than story content. This ruined it completely for me as there was really no need for it. It added nothing to the story.
Published 11 months ago by Ann Adams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well done!, 27 Jan 2009
By 
Detra Fitch (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star-crossed Summer (Hardcover)
Set in 1815. Jane had been a soiled dove lucky enough to marry wealthy Esmond Tremoille. Upon Esmond's death, Jane made sure she would get everything by doing away with the lawyer and torching his office. But rumor has it that Esmond had drawn up another will, revoking the one Jane has and leaving all to his daughter, Elizabeth "Beth". Jane had tossed Beth out last year and waits for her year of bereavement to be done so she can wed Lord (Thomas) Welland.

Sir Guy Valmer of Greylake is determined to claim Tremoille House, which had once belonged to his family. He needs only to find the second will and then marry Beth, by force if need be. Locating Beth is the harder of the two, because she knows Sir Guy is hunting her.

Beth had come across the dead body of the man taking Jane's money to the bank. Though Beth did not kill the man, she did steal the money. She leaves half the money for Jake Mannacott, the blacksmith she had been with since Jane kicked her out. With the other half, Jane goes to London. When Sir Guy finds her in London, Beth flees to the coast of Exmoor and leases the Dower House. It is there Beth meets wealthy landowner Landry Haldane. Once Beth feels safe, she allows herself to be with Landry even though she secretly longs for Sir Guy. Unknown to Beth though, Sir Guy has finally found her again.

***** Author Sarah Stanley keeps the story realistic to its time setting. I never found a flaw, though I admit that there are a bit too many coincidences. The secondary characters are almost as well developed as the main characters. Each personality has several layers, much like a real person. The story so well written that I found myself hating the wicked stepmother, and loving every moment of it, only to later actually start feeling a bit sorry for her. (Just a bit though.) This title is can work as a stand-alone story, however, if you do not know that there is to be a sequel released (Midwinter Marriage, May 29, 2009) you will not feel totally satisfied. It ends in a good spot, but leaves a few strings dangling. Be warned that this book is hotter than your average historical romance. All-in-all, Sarah Stanley has proven herself to be a terrific writer and I eagerly look forward to another story by this amazing author. *****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable historical drama --, 18 Oct 2008
By 
kellytwo "kellytwo" (cleveland hts, ohio) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Star-crossed Summer (Hardcover)
Some fictional characters are so extraordinary they expand way beyond the pages in which they live. Think of a female British adventuress and you think first of Moll Flanders. Until now. Moll has met her match in Beth Tremoille--sometimes known as Alabeth Alder or Beth Mannacott. There's good reason for all these names as the young woman who uses them must run and fight for her very existence through trauma and turmoil enough for twenty such as she. Her creator, Sarah Stanley, is a welcome addition to the ranks of magnificent story-tellers with this family saga that includes romance, suspense and adventure.

Ms. Stanley is a masterful weaver, keeping the various story lines clear and untangled, even when the characters from one skein mix with another one. There are young and old, rich and poor, titled and commoners, innocent and evil. Sometimes almost all of these traits may be found in one person. But yet, there is humor as well, and sympathy for people thrust into situations beyond their normal existence, forcing untoward behavior on occasion.

The England of 1815 was not always a nice or pretty place to live. The war with Napoleon was finally over, but unemployment was rampant, and the economy was slowing. This affected everyone at every level of society. People of every rank found themselves doing things they'd never before considered, and the author is superb at mining these motivations to their fullest, in order to expose the human frailties to which we're all subject.

In some ways, this is a gritty, rather than a pretty story, but it is honest, and in the end, truthful. It may not be for the very faint at heart, or those looking for a beautiful day spent in the bucolic countryside. What it is -- is unforgettable. It would also make for a superb multi-episode filmed costume drama. Very few of the relationships are satisfactorily resolved in this book. Rumor has it there will be a continuation volume in the next few months. Hooray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Star Crossed Summer, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star-Crossed Summer (Kindle Edition)
This book (I only read the first few pages) seems to concentrate on sexual matters rather than story content. This ruined it completely for me as there was really no need for it. It added nothing to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star-Crossed Summer (Kindle Edition)
The storyline is not strong enough and there is too much gratuitous sex. Did not hold my attention at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star-crossed summer, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star-Crossed Summer (Kindle Edition)
Slow to start but got more enjoyable further on. Lots of twists and turns along the way. Would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Aaargh!, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star-Crossed Summer (Kindle Edition)
Once I start a book I feel some sort of moral obligation to finish it. Having read this book in its entirety I am now on the hunt for a self-help book on "how to kick a bad habit". Never before have I rolled my eyes so much nor have I been more suprised to find out there's a sequel to this book. If you read for pleasure and love getting lost in a good story then please don't buy this book. If you think that gratuitous sex, a dire story line and a "heroine" who spends her waking hours fantasising about her "stalker" are the perfect ingredients for a good read then this is right up your street. As for me, the sequel will not be featuring on my list to Santa!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The first in a two book saga...., 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star-Crossed Summer (Kindle Edition)
Great romantic, dramatic story; definitely a chick only read but I loved it!! When I finished it, I straightaway googled for a sequel, found it, downloaded it to my kindle and started it the same day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star-Crossed summer, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star-Crossed Summer (Kindle Edition)
Great story from beginning to end.Really enjoyed this book.First book I have read from this author.Will certainly read more from sarah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fanulous read, 25 Aug 2013
This review is from: Star-Crossed Summer (Kindle Edition)
First book I have read by this author and absolutely amazing, could not put tne book down. Characters in the book were so interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star crossed Summer, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star-Crossed Summer (Kindle Edition)
This was a very easy read and I did enjoy it as a quick read. What more can I say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star-Crossed Summer
Star-Crossed Summer by Sarah Stanley
4.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews