Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful read!
I bought this book as a life-long fan of the Royals and loved it, and so did my mum. Loads of fascinating information about how Buckingham Palace operates and little stories about the Royal family. I love Brian Hoey's writing as well as it is full of interesting titbits but not too gossipy. Anyone keen on the Royal family will enjoy this book.
Published on 11 Nov 2011 by hurrydo

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much insight, not much there...
250 odd pages for £4+ on kindle may sound like a fair deal but the truth is this book is bloated and repetitive, I didn't enjoy it, I won't read it again and as I was in the 7 day return period I sent it back. Thank you Amazon.

If you're looking for salacious gossip about the Royal family, there are a few titbits that you might find funny or interesting but not...
Published 19 months ago by Jack Ford


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not much insight, not much there..., 23 May 2013
By 
Jack Ford (GOSPORT, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Not in Front of the Corgis: Secrets of Life Behind the Royal Curtains (Kindle Edition)
250 odd pages for £4+ on kindle may sound like a fair deal but the truth is this book is bloated and repetitive, I didn't enjoy it, I won't read it again and as I was in the 7 day return period I sent it back. Thank you Amazon.

If you're looking for salacious gossip about the Royal family, there are a few titbits that you might find funny or interesting but not enough and not much that the average Brit hasn't heard before if they're interested in The Firm. If you've watched The Queen, you're not getting much more here about the different personalities of the senior members. The rest is mostly mundane details like what alcohol each prefers and where they get their suits made. Spoiler Alert - no-one liked Diana.

Most of this book is devoted to how the royal residences are run (who does what, what they get paid, how they get promoted, where all the money goes.... zzzzz) and then there's some info on how each are the royals are perceived by the staff.

This was an easy read but it was a bit of fluff that quickly turned boring. I don't know what I was expecting but I wasn't satisfied. I gave it a go and maybe you should too if you want a tiny bit of juice and know next to nothing about the family and have £4 quid to spare. Send it back if you don't like it (free on kindle).

All in all, I wouldn't recommend it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful read!, 11 Nov 2011
I bought this book as a life-long fan of the Royals and loved it, and so did my mum. Loads of fascinating information about how Buckingham Palace operates and little stories about the Royal family. I love Brian Hoey's writing as well as it is full of interesting titbits but not too gossipy. Anyone keen on the Royal family will enjoy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We'll never be Royal, 8 Sep 2014
By 
MisterHobgoblin (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not in Front of the Corgis: Secrets of Life Behind the Royal Curtains (Kindle Edition)
Brian Hoey's thing is that he comes at the Royal Family from the perspectives of their servants. This, as one might imagine, gives a very particular viewpoint. For example, whilst there are plenty of little anecdotes that show how fussy and demanding the Royals can be (Prince Charles, for example, insisting that his meals end with cheese and biscuits with the biscuits warmed to exactly his preferred temperature), the examples are told with an air of awe rather than ridicule. It also means that the text concentrates on matters such as clothing, food, cleaning and payscales rather than on matters of state. Of course, that's not a criticism, merely an observation.

The writing itself is plain and journalistic (that's a euphemism for not very good). There is no real narrative sense and details are mentioned in one chapter that are then introduced as though they were new material in subsequent chapters. It does get repetitive, especially with regard to the pay and progression This is also the material which will date quickly and render the text obsolete.

As a lifelong public servant, find it interesting to see how other departments operate. The Royal Household, despite its quirks and focus on delivery of domestic tasks, sounds very much a government department; the palaces sound very much like office blocks sharing space with relatively modestly sized Royal apartments; and the Royal roles sound quite straitjacketed and governed by protocol and expectations. These are not necessarily new insights but the way in which they are illustrated was interesting enough if, by the end, somewhat repetitive.

This is a light, frothy read. I guess it didn't take long to write and it doesn't take long to read. It is amusing in places and passes the time, but it is unlikely to offer any new insight into the monarchy as an institution, although it does shine a light on one or two of the personalities on both sides of the green baize door.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive, 4 Jan 2013
This review is from: Not in Front of the Corgis: Secrets of Life Behind the Royal Curtains (Kindle Edition)
I thought the book started out well and promised a fly on the wall/ below stairs insight into the palace. But it got very repetitive almost as if the writer had worked on bits of the book in a different order and never read the final version to see if facts had been told before. The second half of the book seemed very dry with little personal insight.. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not in Front of the Corgis, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not in Front of the Corgis: Secrets of Life Behind the Royal Curtains (Kindle Edition)
O.K. for light reading. did not learn anything new about the Royals. Nothing more to be said. Would not recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 5 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this, I appreciate that some of it is duplicated but for people who like reading things about the Royal family it is light, fun, easy reading. I thought the 'Not in front of the corgis' was just a witty title but it is actually a serious one as it means be careful what you say, if the corgis appear it is likely that the Queen is not far behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rather Bland Book!, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not in Front of the Corgis: Secrets of Life Behind the Royal Curtains (Kindle Edition)
A disappointment. Very run of the mill collection of incidents and anecdotes, based on life within the palace.i wouldn't read it, or even dip into it, a second time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dates, 20 Nov 2011
I found this book disappointing. The date of the Queen Mother's 100th birthday and the reference to the Duke of Edinburgh's 80th birthday are incorrect on page 35.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a behind the scenes understanding of the royal household, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this far more than I expected, with anecdotes which were not subservient and at times were amusing and at times a trifle bitchy. However, it gave an interesting dimension of the royal household and suggested what a phenomenal amount of work and attention to detail is required to keep it running smoothly and, apparenmtly, flawlessly. I don't think any of it was meant maliciously and at times it was quite poignant and moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not as described, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Not in Front of the Corgis: Secrets of Life Behind the Royal Curtains (Kindle Edition)
I bought the Kindle version of this book and have asked for a refund as it is not at all as described. It has little about the members of the Royal Family, but concentrates on the most boring details of how the Royal household is run - non of which are particularly illuminating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews