Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Farage is a genius, soon to be the Right Honourable.
Great read, hilarious at times, highly recommended to any skeptics!
Published 10 months ago by Gary Hamilton

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new in here
If you follow UK politics you will not find anything you don't already know in here. Farage is a personable chap as we well know from the telly, but his ego does not permit of much deep reflection if this is anything to go by. Calms down a bit and gets a touch more reflective after his plane crash, but that doesn't last long. Good for political junkies, but you've already...
Published 14 months ago by JWilsonLLB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flying Free (Kindle Edition)
Farage is a genius, soon to be the Right Honourable.
Great read, hilarious at times, highly recommended to any skeptics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different view for a different Europe, 23 Jan 2012
This review is from: Flying Free (Paperback)
A really nice autobiography of UKIP's leader Nigel Farage. As usual Farage is funny, smart and logical. Maybe in the future he'll be a first star in the UK politics...maybe not... In my opinion he's the only one tuned with people's view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring., 29 July 2012
This review is from: Flying Free (Paperback)
I recently went along to a UKIP public-meeting featuring Nigel Farage as guest speaker. I arrived not knowing fully what to expect; I left truly inspired by the man's enthusiasm, honesty, and patriotism, and also a signed copy of this book, which I devoured with relish in a couple of days.

A politician who has also lived and worked in the 'real world' outside of politics, gives an honest account of his early life, what got him into his current role fighting the undemocratic EU, and where he wants to take UKIP and the UK in the future. Inspiring - a rare ability amongst today's clone-like career politicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling read, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flying Free (Kindle Edition)
Nigel Farage is undoubtedly a like or loathe type of character. The brief time he gets on television - usually on some BBC politics show where the broadcaster delights in promoting its pro-federalist agenda - fails to afford him much more than sound bites.

I attended a speech he gave in Newcastle recently where he spoke eloquently and humorously for an hour and a half with no notes. That speech, and this book, provides a much greater insight not only to the man but also his cause; anyone who believes in democracy and the right of the people to decide for themselves will be horrified by the accounts of fraud, bullying and deceit perpetuated by the unelected, unaccountable EU.

Funny and shocking, a compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Evil Empire, 28 Nov 2013
By 
J. Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flying Free (Kindle Edition)
An insiders expose of the evil, corrupt and wasteful workings of the EU. I fear Mr Farage is preaching to the converted here, as the reviews and comments show. There is so much apathy surrounding politics I doubt if UKIP will ever make any serious inroads into the problem, but I wish him well and will probably join UKIP before the next European elections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspiration, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flying Free (Paperback)
I have always liked Nigel Farage, and after reading this eye opener I like him and his party even more.'Count me in Nigel'..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly one of the best books I have ever read, 20 Dec 2011
This review is from: Flying Free (Paperback)
I love this man!! Already being well aware of the wasteful and corrupt nature of the EU I was not overly shocked by the content of this book, but did find it hugely entertaining and inspiring. Entertaining because Nigel's unique stamp of honesty and wit are weaved throughout, and inspired because of the lengths he (and UKIP in general) have gone to in order to expose the EU as the circus it is.

Nigel is an extraordinarily bold, magnetic character who is not afraid to admit his vices - this promotes a sense of trust and confidence in him - which is SUCH A RARITY within politics at this time. This book also challenged me to consider my own weaknesses in judging others or expecting them to fit into my preconceived ideas about how one should behave or be. Thank you Nigel for allowing me to reassess my own attitude once again and also for everything you are doing to capture an audience that is crying out for freedom and true democracy within our country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flying Free Nigel Farage, 6 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flying Free (Paperback)
Excellent book, specially for some of you who have no previuos experience in politics, the high's and low's of one man on a crusade to fight for this country, in the best way he believes, knowing others may have different directions. Often when you are in the thick of it, you have to rely on others to work side by side with you. Remember this is how Nigel Farage sees himself and his perception on the people he meets and works with. You will read the relationship he has with individuals and certainly gives you the tools to understand what you are letting yourself into if you have any interest in politics. UKIP is a party you need to keep an eye on, where others have laughed and smeared at UKIP, the party still keeps on pushing forward, and is now making seriuos impacted on the alternative view in politics. It is not just those at the top, it's also the loyal grassroot members that have kept it growing, that's what the other political parties desperately want. I recommend this book and certainly recommend you watch what happens to this party in the future and it's key members.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lively read that explains the anti-EU case but leaves questions about the man outstanding, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Mark Pack (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flying Free (Paperback)
Events and the political calendar are likely to keep UKIP as one of the most prominent 'other' political parties in the UK over the next few years, making this newly revised and expanded autobiography of its most high-profile and flamboyant personality, Nigel Farage, timely not only for the party's own fans but for anyone else interested in British politics.

It is a well-written, lively book, full of the sort of pugnacious language that has helped give Farage his popularity. It is also rather kinder to some of his opponents that you might expect if you had only come across Farage through his headline grabbing strings of insults aimed at others, though when it comes to the EU and its main functionaries he doesn't hold back. He even has some kind words to say for the man who threatened to kill him - and rightly so given the person's mental health had fallen apart.

Nigel Farage writes much about his own personal failings - the drunkenness, failed marriage and more - in a way that mixes skilfully killing future criticism by being frank with a strong view that if you believe in freedom the important thing is that people take responsibility for their own actions rather than that you try to ban people from making mistakes.

Despite being such a good read, at the end of it I was not that much clearer about what really motivates Nigel Farage than at the start. A libertarian streak certainly does come out. That explains some of his politics, much of which however seems to be heavily motivated by a love of being the gadfly, the person with the alternative views poking fun at the establishment and having fun in being different. At one point when describing what made him into a UKIP activist, his first adjective is "bloody-mindedness" rather than a directly political motivation.

In his time and place that all meant being a Eurosceptic, but in another time and place would he have simply picked a different target or would he still have had the same prime political beliefs?

The book necessarily recounts a good number of the many problems UKIP has had with some of its key personalities - the failed leaders, the prima donas, the people who broke rules and so on. Farage, to his credit, even includes the fiasco in the dog days of Michael Holmes's UKIP leadership when one morning first the party secretary changed the locks on party HQ to secure its records and then Farage himself ordered the doors broken down, the locks changed again and the files moved elsewhere so that he could secure the records.

Nearly every time Farage disarmingly wonder if he could have done or should have acted sooner, which works as a reaction in each isolated case but does not shed any light on the overall pattern. Why has UKIP had so many problems with people who got approved as candidates or even voted in as leader? The loss rate amongst its elected MEPs is very high. Given that Farage loves knocking in the book other parties with much tighter procedures for their controls and checks, it does leave you wondering if this is one case where rather than criticising others, Farage would be better advised to look at what can be learnt from them.

Even with those caveats, the book is well worth reading, particularly as it presents a very popular and aggressive version of the anti-European case. Those who agree with it will love the rhetoric and those who don't can learn much from its presentation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bob10042, 21 Oct 2012
By 
jane - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flying Free (Kindle Edition)
Nigel keep up the good work, love the utube you have great potential, great book, man of many talents keep it up!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaef50d68)

This product

Flying Free
Flying Free by Nigel Farage
5.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews