Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regency romance at its best, 21 May 2008
This review is from: The Paradise Will (Hardcover)
Elizabeth Hanbury's debut novel begins with a captivating premise: in order to inherit the family estate, Alyssa Paradise is obliged by her maverick uncle's will to dine alone once a week for six months with her new neighbour, Sir Giles Maxton. This is a Regency romance in the tradition of Georgette Heyer. Fine attention to period detail and a fast-paced plot is combined with a main character who is no simpering miss but as feisty and forthright as any 21st century heroine, while Sir Giles is impossible not to fall in love with. Best of all is the way the author combines real emotion with a wonderful witty style, and an Austenian sense of fun. A really good read: highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Humour, warmth and a thoroughly satisfying read., 28 May 2008
This review is from: The Paradise Will (Hardcover)
Humour, warmth and a thoroughly satisfying read.

Sparkling wit, a resourceful heroine, well-rounded and complicated secondary characters and a very stirring hero. Settle down to the delightful debut novel that is The Paradise Will.

It tells the tale of two young people forced by a wily and knowing uncle to dinners a deux. How could Sir Giles resist the intelligence and beauty of Alyssa? In turn, Alyssa would be mad not to fall for Giles - a gorgeous Regency hunk to rival even a damp Darcy for sexiness.

The exchanges between the two main protagonists are to be savoured, as is the gentle humour and it all ends most satisfactorily. I read it over a wet Bank Holiday weekend and didn't even notice the howling gales outside. Highly recommended. More please, Miss Hanbury!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My first Hanbury - but not my last, 28 Aug 2008
This review is from: The Paradise Will (Hardcover)
Although I'm an avid Jane Austen fan, I rarely read historical romance and I'd never bought a 'Regency' novel, not even a Heyer. So I wasn't sure what to expect from The Paradise Will. However, I'm so glad I stepped out of my usual reading groove as I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The plot concerns the unusual terms of a will written by Alyssa Paradise's, uncle Tom. The will forces her to spend time with Sir Giles Maxton, an arrangement which at the outset of the novel, is irksome to both of them...

This book was an entertaining and deliciously romantic read with a cracking plot and several touching moments, particularly the ending. It had strong characters, a very sexy hero, a spirited heroine and witty dialogue.

I shall definitely be broadening my reading as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious entertainment, 10 May 2008
By 
Bryher (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paradise Will (Hardcover)
The Paradise Will is a skillfully written, gorgeously escapist novel. The words 'airy confection' were made for it! I devoured it in a day, when I needed an infusion of its particular wit and joie de vivre, and I just loved it.

The premise on which the plot turns is original and clever (I'd have wondered if any plot variants were left that put the protagonists in a Regency romance at odds with one another, but I'd have been wrong!), and keeps the reader guessing - well - for a fair way into the novel! It is quite obvious that hero and heroine are meant for each other, but how are they going to free themselves from the entanglements in their lives to be able to spend the rest of their lives together? And, unlike so many novels set in the past, the author does not leave us at the church door ... delicious!

There is an entertaining sub-plot, involving another couple of winning characters, expertly woven into the main storyline. Elizabeth Hanbury knows her history, too, and gives us some insights into the social conditions and rural discontent of the time. And in Sir Giles Maxton we have a great addition to the catalogue tall, dark, handsome heroes, intelligent and questing, and with a great taste in heroines (eventually!) All of this adds to the pleasures to be gained from The Paradise Will.

So, The Paradise Will is elegant, exhilarating and hugely entertaining - a great addition to the Regency genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful and Witty Regency Romance, 5 May 2008
By 
Misuzmama (New York, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Paradise Will (Hardcover)
Much to her astonishment Miss Alyssa Paradise finds that she has inherited her uncle's estate. But there is one caveat. The lively Alyssa must take up residence at her uncle's home, Hawkscote Hall, for a period of six months. During that time she must dine alone once a week with the handsome Sir Giles Maxton, a most rude gentleman. But no matter, Alyssa is intent on fulfilling the requirements set forth by the will. The independent young lady relishes a chance at meeting the challenge of running such a large estate even if it means that she has to endure the company of a particularly displeasing neighbor.

But perhaps first impressions are not always accurate. Miss Paradise soon realizes that beneath his beautiful visage Sir Giles is actually a compassionate man who is more than happy to offer her any assistance or advice. Eventually they are fighting a strong attraction thats hard to resist. Then again, there are people who and circumstances which are determined to pull them apart. Curious events surround them. And soon Alyssa and Giles are working together to unravel these mysteries while slowly revealing the undeniable truth of their own hearts desire.

A highly enjoyable read with sparkling characters and witty dialogue. I couldn't help but be charmed by the heroine Alyssa. She's intelligent and determined enough to handle the running of an estate, but at the same time doesn't take herself too seriously and embraces the absurd (LOL! -you'll just have to read to find that one out). And Giles is a dream regency hero. An honorable gentleman who takes his obligations seriously, while possessing a highly passionate side ;). I found Alyssa's and Gile's private dinners to be the highlight of the book -couldn't wait for the next week!

Along with the engaging couple are a cast of delightful secondary characters. This includes another romance (but I won't say who because it would be a spoiler). And also there is a clever revenge plot with some mystery surrounding it where you really don't know who the villain is.

Lovers of the historical romance genre will enjoy this superb novel. Hanbury (author) manages to create a vastly entertaining story different from the usual overused regency plots (fake betrothal, convenient marriage, reformed rake etc.) while demonstrating a detailed knowledge of regency mannerisms. Coupled with the multidimensional characters and the captivating romance, I was hooked from beginning to end.

This romance simply demonstrates that you never know where you *will* find love. LOL! Pun intended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly entertaining read, 22 May 2008
By 
Mrs. K. M. Bellamy "Karen Bellamy" (Warwickshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Paradise Will (Hardcover)
This is not my usual type of read - however I found that once I started it I was hooked. I read it in record time as I couldn't wait for to find out what was going to hapen next. It's not at all stuffy - rather it's lighthearted and downright hilarious in places, yet in keeping with the period in which it is set.
If you haven't read it yet - go out and get your copy today and here's to the next one !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Georgette Heyer...then you'll love this book!, 11 July 2008
This review is from: The Paradise Will (Hardcover)
It seems hard these days, to find a book that captures Georgette Heyer's wit and charm. I think you'll find that once you've read The Paradise Will, you will not be disappointed.

It's a feel good read, you can curl up and turn the pages and become lost in the story of romance, and transported to another time and place.

I shall certainly look forward to the authors next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful book!, 13 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: The Paradise Will (Hardcover)
The Paradise Will was a delightful read! I found Alyssa and Letty to be absolutely charming. And Gil is a wonderful hero. I really liked Piers too and enjoyed his development throughout the course of the book. If you like Georgette Heyer, but would like something a bit more adult, this is the book for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paradise Will (Kindle Edition)
Light reading but very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 23 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Paradise Will (Kindle Edition)
While I couldn't give this book 5 stars it was extremely enjoyable and worth reading. I just felt I knew what was coming as I read it. Certainly worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Paradise Will
The Paradise Will by Elizabeth Hanbury
£1.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews