Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Articulate and Inspiring
This book sets out to inspire and motivate you. In that goal it doesn't fall short, a beautifully designed guide to creative landscape painting with all the emphasis in the right place.
Easy to read, without dumbing down, and full of worthwhile material for all painting abilities.
Gorgeous use of varied artists' work to illustrate each chapter's subject matter...
Published on 23 Mar 2010 by S. A. Pleydell-pearce

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Landscape Painting
I was very disapointed with the whole book. Bad reproduction, not enough informative information. Can learn very little from this book.
Published 18 months ago by James Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Articulate and Inspiring, 23 Mar 2010
By 
S. A. Pleydell-pearce "Steve PP" (Woolacombe, Devon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Landscape Painting (Hardcover)
This book sets out to inspire and motivate you. In that goal it doesn't fall short, a beautifully designed guide to creative landscape painting with all the emphasis in the right place.
Easy to read, without dumbing down, and full of worthwhile material for all painting abilities.
Gorgeous use of varied artists' work to illustrate each chapter's subject matter. Throw in a few insightful quotes, and you have a really well conceived book that not only instructs well ,but inspires at the same time. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: Landscape Painting (Hardcover)
As a learner painter (not a beginner, not an expert) this book provided just what I was looking for - info from a knowledgeable teacher on what makes a good landscape painting and guidance on how to achieve it. Good balance of info - basic / advanced, practical / theoretical. Insights into how landscape paintings are constructed, the importance of values, masses, simplification, composition. Uses great examples of both his own work and the work of others to illustrate points. A couple of 'how to' demonstrations at the end. Nice that he includes advice on use of photographs and image manipulation techniques. Albala knows what he is talking about. Definitely recommed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Painting (Hardcover)
This book is an excellent resource for those considering landscape painting.
It is logically divided into theory, technique and examples.
I look forward to seeing more by this enthusiastic teacher and painter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on landscape painting available, 1 May 2012
By 
Blue in Washington "Barry Ballow" (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Landscape Painting (Hardcover)
Painter/educator Mitch Albala has put together a terrific book for the landscape painter which is destined to become a standard in the field. As an amateur painter, I am in constant struggle on how to organize, simplify and avoid literal representation. Albala addresses all of this head on in a way that I can connect with. Somehow, he just does it better than others who have published similar books. Every chapter of the book has been useful in some way to me.

The book has a lot to say to anyone trying to move away from strict representation and toward looser, more open painting. It includes a great chapter on abstracting nature which has been particularly useful to me. And Albala's several sections on color are also insightful, clearly presented and valuable.

Finally, Albala has included in his book not only a number of his own landscape/skyscape/waterscape paintings as illustrations, but has put in even more paintings by other, mostly contemporary, painters that serve as wonderful examples of the techniques and concepts that he's writing about. Generously, he has included web contacts for all of these artists among the book's several indexes.

Great book that will get a lot of use from this reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive manual on plein air painting, 5 Oct 2011
By 
AJ Loader (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Painting (Hardcover)
Just finished reading this very comprehensive book and can thoroughly recommend it. A great reference book too, which I will go back to in the future, easy to follow and well illustrated. A modern and therefore up-to-date manual in the vein of 'Guide to Landscape Painting' by J.F. Carlson. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 4 Sep 2012
By 
T. Denniss (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Painting (Hardcover)
I have not yet received my copy from the seller but have a library copy which I'm reading for the third time. This is an excellent book for oil painter's at any level. The author is one of those few writers who can write in an inspirational and motivational way so that every page has something new to offer and this can be of a practical or theoretical nature. In other words, what the author has to say is not purely instructional but gives plenty of food for thought and will stay with you long after you have read the book. Both the text and the illustrations are first class. Well worth buying and good value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SO much wisdom at so little cost, 26 Jun 2012
By 
A. Shuttleworth "ali" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Painting (Hardcover)
I have many (many, many) books of art instruction. This is among the best of them. It's simply laid out, points are well illustrated, and its scope really goes well beyond landscape painting. Of course there will be crossover with some other books as the vital information doesn't change, but this covers all the bases better than anything I've seen before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... a friend who has thanked me profusely and expressed great pleasure regarding the contents which have helped her progress ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Painting (Hardcover)
This was purchased as a gift for a friend who has thanked me profusely and expressed great pleasure regarding the contents which have helped her progress as an artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another painting book!, 15 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Painting (Hardcover)
I thought that I'd had enough art books but when I encountered this one I bought it! The author covers quite a few aspects that some of my other books omit. I really recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good allround paintings!, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Landscape Painting: Essential Concepts and Techniques for Plein Air and Studio Practice (Kindle Edition)
An enjoyable book - some of the paintings are slightly old-school traditional, well painted but not very exciting, while others make you want to pick up your brushes and get going!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews