Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettabe Masterpieces Finally on DVD
Bill Douglas (1934-91) only made 4 films in his career, and the Trilogy forms the core of his oeuvre. Based on his own upbringing in dire poverty in a mining village just outside Edinburgh in the 1940s and 50s, they do not make for easy viewing. But kitchen sink realism a la Loach and Leigh they are not: these are poetic films, and can stand with the best of world cinema...
Published on 18 Jun 2008 by Paracelsus1966

versus
1 of 45 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars bill douglas trilogy
a slow and pointless movie with a bad story and you need patience to see it to the end
Published on 28 Feb 2009 by Patfinmur


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettabe Masterpieces Finally on DVD, 18 Jun 2008
By 
Paracelsus1966 (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bill Douglas Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Bill Douglas (1934-91) only made 4 films in his career, and the Trilogy forms the core of his oeuvre. Based on his own upbringing in dire poverty in a mining village just outside Edinburgh in the 1940s and 50s, they do not make for easy viewing. But kitchen sink realism a la Loach and Leigh they are not: these are poetic films, and can stand with the best of world cinema. Filtered through Douglas's memory, they are unsentimental, at times bleak and brutal, but always compassionate; rather than narratives, they are more like poems. Poetic cinema is rare enough in Britain, which seems to be embarrassed by such things, and these three films are powerful enough to be remembered by the body as much as the memory. Bill Douglas had a unique vision, and the Trilogy, once seen, will stay with you for A very long time, and can stand up to repeated viewings, each time giving you something new. They are almost totally unique in British cinema, but rather than lament, we should give thanks that at least Douglas managed to make 4 films - all masterpieces (the other being the 3 hour epic Comrades).

The transfers appear to be very good, and the booklet contains a number of essays about the films. Disc Two contains Douglas's London Film School graduation film, Come Dancing, in which his mature style was first evident, as well as a short interview about the Trilogy from 1980, and Andy Kimpton-Nye's 2006 documentary about Douglas's life and work.

I can't recommend these films higly enough. Bill Douglas is a forgotten genius of British cinema, and let's hope this excellent release does something to bring him back to some kind of visibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 15 Nov 2009
By 
Virginia Cassidy (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Douglas Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Had the first two of the trilogy on tape many years ago and decided to treat myself to the DVD. It is a very dark film about two young boys growing up in a Scottish mining village - the boys have different fathers who rarely take an interest in them and a mother who is in a mental hospital. Not for the faint hearted ! It is so well portrayed and you feel every emotion with them - give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 10 Feb 2010
The most affecting series of films you are ever likely to see. A window into a life that is both harrowing and uplifting. There is a sense of hope just under the surface, however, the surface is pitted, scarred and almost impenetrable.

A must have for everyone, film buff or otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - but not for everyone, 27 May 2012
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bill Douglas Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
This autobiographical trilogy is a piece of masterful film-making. Set at the end of the 2nd world war it depicts the evolving life of young boy who lives in a Scottish mining community. The boys life is a tale of rejection and alienation, as he lives with various members of his family. The back of the DVD says this is not a depressing set of films, or words to that effect, but I'm afraid I did find them quite depressing, and any prospective purchasers need to be aware of this. An action blockbuster this is not!

The films themselves were shot of a period of years using the same actors, so the boy grows through the 3 films. They are quite short. The first two are under an hour each and the 3rd is 72mins.

Having said that the movies are depressing, to counter-balance that, the acting is first class, some of the cinematography is beautiful and there is a poetic quality to the whole trilogy that you would never see in a contemporary mainstream movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great trilogy on a perennial subject, 26 Nov 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bill Douglas Trilogy [DVD + Blu-ray] (DVD)
Philip French is quoted on the box as saying: "I believe this trilogy will come to be regarded not just as a milestone, but as one of the heroic achievements of the British cinema." It's an endorsement that seems fully justified when you watch this tryptich - it shows the intensity of a painter's eye - totalling nearly three hours (making each film actually quite short). Coming-of-age films are rarely as gritty as this one, but what is even rarer is its visual poetry that creates such a density of image. The black and white pictures really do tell the story of young Jamie's life, and get the feel of it in a piecemeal, slightly dislocated way, but with great power. It is closest to Vigo, I think, as another reviewer has said, turning the ordinary into something unforgettable. There is also something of Bresson in how much meaning he can get into a door opening, or the bleakest domestic scene, which is more austere than Vigo. You often feel intensely sorry for Jamie, at which point he is often held in the frame in all his helplessness. The actor, Stephen Archibald, gets older in successive films, going from about ten to sixteen. He has a forlorn look that evokes as much pathos as Antoine Doinel in Les 400 Coups, in fact his reticence and sad expression are heartbreaking, and he seems less of a survivor. The friend he meets in the airforce seems to have an intimate connection to him and a concern that verge on love, very touchingly after following his travails through so many episodes and so much unkindness. But potential viewers shouldn't be put off by the bleakness, because it is transcended by the cinematic art in a way few films manage to this marvellous degree. The second disc includes a short interview with Douglas, a documentary about his life, and a short film called Come Dancing that does have a quite explicit gay aspect, especially when you consider it was made in Britain in 1970, thereby preceding Sunday Bloody Sunday by a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special to me, 17 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Douglas Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
I suppose this doesn't really count as a review but for me the release of these films on DVDs is extra special. My grandmother plays the paternal grandmother in the first two films and, as she died when I was one, the films she made are the only way of seeing her. I have these on video so was delighted to find them on DVD. They are stark, gloomy films but a good portrayal of a time gone by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jewel of British Cinema, 3 Nov 2010
By 
M. Lucien MARCHAL (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bill Douglas Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Unknown in France, the work of Bill Douglas is really exceptional. I tend to make a comparison with our french director Jean Vigo. Poetic, urgent, somewhat violent, so near to the wounds of the poor. A very personnal style. You really can tell this is Bill Douglas's work. To be recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing closeted trilogy, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Douglas Trilogy [DVD + Blu-ray] (DVD)
If ever a series of films were more 'in the closet' it would be this trilogy The director hints subtly but then cuts scenes so drastically, spiriting away any lingering affirmation of the main characters homosexuality. Brutal and harrowing. They deserve to be at the pinnacle of 'Gay Cinema'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFUL BOXSET., 10 April 2013
By 
HAN XIAO "heaven851102" (CHINA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bill Douglas Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
WONDERFUL BOXSET. HOWEVER, THIS COMMENT ONLY COMES FROM ONES WHO REALLY ARE INTERESTED IN OLD FILMS AND SEE THEM AS TREASURES OF GOLDEN ERA...RECOMMENDED...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Motion Picture Art, 10 Oct 2010
This review is from: Bill Douglas Trilogy [DVD] (DVD)
Another of those experiences where you immediately sit up and notice you are watching something special. I had never heard of Bill Douglas, but the title caught my eye when I was browsing through a video library last week. I'm glad I signed it out.

I was reminded of some of Bergmans almost silent shots of still figures in a cold landscape. A work of art.

I look forward to seeing Comrades.

Enthusiast, Ireland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bill Douglas Trilogy [DVD + Blu-ray]
Bill Douglas Trilogy [DVD + Blu-ray] by Bill Douglas (DVD - 2012)
£14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews