Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human drama accurately told
Whilst this is not as accurate as the 1997 blockbuster, this film provides a balanced insight into the lives of all three classes of passengers.

This film is highly underrated, and if you're willing to look beyond set/location inaccuracies, you'll find it very enjoyable.

The musical score for this film is amazing.

This is the 98 minute...
Published on 16 Mar 2012 by F.W

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good effort, but EDITED, I'm told, from the original running length
Since this listing on Amazon.UK is for a new, April 2012 release from a respectable home video studio, I am hoping it is the unabridged original version as aired over multiple nights on US TV back in the day. Maybe a reviewer will step forward and tell us, since Amazon's listing here provides no such vital information. I have a multi-region player and would buy this IF...
Published on 5 April 2012 by R.L. Holly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Human drama accurately told, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOS Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
Whilst this is not as accurate as the 1997 blockbuster, this film provides a balanced insight into the lives of all three classes of passengers.

This film is highly underrated, and if you're willing to look beyond set/location inaccuracies, you'll find it very enjoyable.

The musical score for this film is amazing.

This is the 98 minute version and not the full broadcast version.

---After receiving the DVD ---- A couple of gripes:
The DVD version has edited parts out which help to set up characters (the stewardesses for instance). This is the 98 minute version instead of the 144 min version. This version is played out in chronological order, whereas the longer version starts with the Carpathia rescue, then retells the story. I much prefer the full version, of course, but unfortunately it wasn't to be for this release. I knew this before purchasing, but its still a shame.

Second gripe, nothing to do with the actual film at all, is the packaging/artwork. The cover art is frankly disgusting. A mashup of a b&w Titanic picture, a cruise ship and 3D graphics. Looks like someone was inspired by 'Titanic II'. What's with the waves and lighting? Hardly a 'mill pond with no moon' is it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good effort, but EDITED, I'm told, from the original running length, 5 April 2012
This review is from: SOS Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
Since this listing on Amazon.UK is for a new, April 2012 release from a respectable home video studio, I am hoping it is the unabridged original version as aired over multiple nights on US TV back in the day. Maybe a reviewer will step forward and tell us, since Amazon's listing here provides no such vital information. I have a multi-region player and would buy this IF it is the full-length cut; otherwise, there's not much point in being disappointed again. I could buy an NTSC region 1 disc if I wanted a botched-up edited copy. And the VHS tape is available cheap and just as long.

While not as spectacular a production as James Cameron's massive moneymaker, it does feature quietly effective performances from a very good cast and generally holds to the truth of things as far as they can be known (or were thought true back in the 1980s). The effects aren't as breathtaking, but it's a very enjoyable take on the Titanic story -- for a long, long time, this was the most elaborate and well-done Titanic epic ever made, and it still merits a complete, intact release.

UPDATE: see the comments section. I'm told that this is in fact the same badly butchered print that has been long available as a Region 1 DVD. At least 40 minutes, perhaps more, is missing, and the movie suffers as a result. Just docked two stars from my review. Studio Canal should have done better by its customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Titanic the Great, 19 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOS Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
This is a far better recreation of the tragedy than the block buster "Titanic". It lacks the romantic sugar of the later film and all the better for that - yet it still has a love interest but it is more 'sincere' and realistic. The flooding of the galleys etc is well done and does not go on for that seemed like hours in the later film. Altogether the production and the acting from the great cast made this a fine film. To be recommended over the later film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ICE BERG AHEAD AGAIN!!!!, 25 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. R. S. Clancy "deejayclancy" (GUERNSEY CHANNEL ISLANDS) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOS Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
Another story about the famous R.M.S.(Royal Mail Ship) Titanic, there is nothing new but the story line is taken from other accounts from people who survived the carnage of the sinking. Watch out for actors like Ed Bishop with his actual real life wife(which one I do not know he married 3 times I think) , David Jensen (the original Fugitive Dr Kimble) who plays a millionaire with a wife who is 20 or 30 years younger than him and rejected by his fellow millionaire cronies. If you watch very carefully you will see at least 4 other actors/actress who turn up in the "TITANIC" film with Kate Winslett(sorry about last name spelling) which is also available on Amazon.co.uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ther best Titanic story, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOS Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
This is probably the best Titanic film. Low key but with an excellent cast. It tells the story through the eyes of a real person (David Warner). It won't disappoint you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars s.o.s titanic dvd, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOS Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
Great film. You may be thinking, what a other titanic film. Yes you are right it is. When I watch this film I was thinking. The same old story, ok! you are right, but the film was good to watch. So if you are into watching titanic films, going buy this one as well. I enjoy the film from start to end. Plus this film came to me within days of ordering. The package was good as well. The DVD were safe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SOS Titanic, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOS Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
Starring Helen Mirren and Harry Andrews as Captain E.J Smith I like the first colour production made. Six years before underground submarines went to see the reck. I don't think it's the slightest bit in important seeing the ship split in two like in the 1997 production of James Cameron. David Warner, the actor in the 1997 production plays Cal Hockney's butler or chauffeur. The 1979 of SOS he plays Laurence Beasley a much amiable character based on a true one who survived the disaster in 1912. I like the stopping at Queenstown on the 2nd day of its maiden voyage, seeing the final set of passengers and how they had to come aboard in those days. To conclude Lennard De Caprio and Kate Winslet just could be put on the Bow Bell, or another little vessel. James Cameron is a director of unusual films. In 1982 he made Piranha Two, Flying Killers know known as Piranha,The Spawning where Piranhas come out on dry land to eat people. I suppose you could call it entertainment. Enough Said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars S.O.S. Titanic is S.O.S on DVD, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOS Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
I really looked forward to this film / mini series on DVD but sadly I find myself being disappointed after watching it. Why has so much been edited from the original, looks like about 40 minutes worth. As a result the production really suffers as much of the tension has been lost in a bid to rush the film to it's inevitable end. A lot of the character build up is lost in this 98 minute production which leaves the viewer with a feeling that the Titanic is more important than the people that were on her. Having seen the original full length version which has great character build up that leaves you feeling for them at the end this edit from Studiocanal gives all the impression of realising a Titanic film just for the sake of it for the centenary.

What a shame. A great opportunity to release what is essentially a very good and powerful film has been missed.

I hope we see the full version released very soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars value for money, would highly recmmend, 31 July 2014
This review is from: SOS Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SOS Titanic [DVD] (DVD)
:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SOS Titanic [DVD]
SOS Titanic [DVD] by Helen Mirren (DVD - 2012)
14.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews