Customer Reviews


264 Reviews
5 star:
 (220)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


338 of 344 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic follow up - well done ladies!
It seemed almost impossible that the Military Wives choir of Chivenor and Plymouth could have got a full album out in just a few months, following their Christmas No 1.

The short answer is that they haven't - this selection of 11 songs includes not just Chivenor and Plymouth but the Military WAGS Choir of Catterick Garrison and the Portsmouth and Lympstone CTC...
Published on 5 Mar 2012 by A. I. McCulloch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars In My Dreams The Military Wives
The 'In My Dreams The Military Wives' CD is fairly good, but not as good as there first CD, but OK.
Published 5 months ago by Mr. R. C. Richings


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

338 of 344 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic follow up - well done ladies!, 5 Mar 2012
By 
A. I. McCulloch "Andrea" (Co Durham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In My Dreams (Audio CD)
It seemed almost impossible that the Military Wives choir of Chivenor and Plymouth could have got a full album out in just a few months, following their Christmas No 1.

The short answer is that they haven't - this selection of 11 songs includes not just Chivenor and Plymouth but the Military WAGS Choir of Catterick Garrison and the Portsmouth and Lympstone CTC Military Wives' Choirs too.

However, there's no drop-off in quality. It opens with a cracker - Bob Dylan's lovely 'Make You Feel My Love' with the solo sung by one of the leading lights of the TV series, Nicky Scott, backed by the rest of the Chivenor choir.

Clever editing enabled all the choirs to come together in the title track 'In My Dreams' which like 'Wherever You Are' is another Paul Mealor composition - a truly lovely original song. This track features the one male voice on the album, X-Factor finalist and serving soldier Jonjo Kerr - perhaps a slightly ironic choice, but a very good one. Jonjo has a fine voice that really blends well with the ladies.

All the tracks were clearly carefully chosen for the meaning behind the songs - so this is very much a mix of ballads, but none the worse for that. The Lympstone Choir didn't feature in the TV programme but they have a beautifully melodic True Love Ways whilst the Portsmouth Choir, also not seen on TV, contribute a stirring Up Where We Belong by Buffy St Marie, a difficult song that they tackle well.

Two exceptions to the chart ballads are the sailor's hymn Eternal Father, Strong To Save (For Those in Peril On The Sea) beautifully sung by the ladies of Chivenor and the lovely traditional Scottish song Silver Tassie. Silver Tassie is a poem by Robert Burns about the heartache of a soldier sailing to war and leaving his beloved Mary behind. Unsurprisingly the soloist for this much-loved song is the impressively talented Scot Sam Stevenson, the now well known soloist of Wherever You Are, also the closing track of the album.

It wouldn't be fair not to mention the other soloist featured, Emily Shipman of Plymouth who turns in a lovely performance in On My Own, the penultimate track. This is the song from Les Miserables, not the Whitney Houston song of the same name.

A special mention must go to the Catterick WAGS Choir - it was Nicky Clarke of Catterick who wrote the original letter to Gareth Malone suggesting that military wives would make a great subject for his next 'Choir' series.

The ladies of Catterick had to go ahead without Gareth, but Nicky Clarke's letter sowed the seed that resulted in the formation of the Military Wives Choir of TV fame. The WAGS Choir's own track is gorgeous - a stunning arrangement by Geoff Lawson of Coldplay's 'Fix You'.

A measure of the profits from sales will go to the Military Wives Choir Foundation which will help all military communities to run their own choirs. Those who have seen any of the 'Choir' programmes know of the benefits singing can bring to groups and individuals. What a great idea. What a great buy. This deserves to sell in hundreds of thousands for Mother's Day, but will appeal to all those who enjoy choral music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Military Wives, 8 Mar 2012
This review is from: In My Dreams (Audio CD)
This is a beautiful collection of songs beautifully sung. Track 5 True Love Ways, totally blew
me away.It has got to be one of the best versions ever recorded.
I havent stopped playing it. Congratulations to all involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Military Wives new album, 5 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In My Dreams (MP3 Download)
Beautiful recordings of a lot of my favourite songs. If you are the emotional type like me, you will be in tears.
Well done Military Wives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence, sheer excellence!!, 8 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In My Dreams (Audio CD)
Congratulations to all involved in this Military Wives album. The Wives, Gareth Malone and the new male voice who unforunately doesn't receive appropriate credit on the packaging - in fact ALL the wives need to be fully acredited, they deserve it. Really well done!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, 11 Mar 2012
This review is from: In My Dreams (Audio CD)
i think it is absolutely fantastic that a group of military personnel wives can devote so much time and effort to a very worthwhile causes, and would like to add my support to their need by buying this brilliant rendition of some my favourite songs sung by them all on one album, well done ladies xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just lovely, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: In My Dreams (Audio CD)
A cause close to my heart as a good friend is married to a Royal marine who was injured some time ago. Lovely collection and a great cause ladies ! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect listening, 8 Mar 2012
By 
Freda Breeds (Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In My Dreams (Audio CD)
A brilliant CD for listening to, and so well presented. The military wives have done a fantastic job of putting this together. Great listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just so uplifting!, 6 Mar 2012
By 
Paul Madge (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In My Dreams (Audio CD)
After having bought and enjoyed the single "Wherever You Are" so much I wondered whether this album could maintain the high benchmark that was set by that track. My answer is a resounding "yes" - although the style and origin of the tracks covers a wide spectrum from Dylan to classic hymns, every track is, in my opinion, solid gold. This album is a huge credit to the Military Wives and Gareth Malone - they perform with pride and the Nation should have the utmost pride in them. An album with universal appeal - buy it and be uplifted by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Military Wives - In My Dreams, 11 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In My Dreams (Audio CD)
Lovely - loved all of the CD. Even the slightly "off-notes". Beautifully presented. Hope they continue to produce more CD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartstrings plucker, 7 Mar 2012
This review is from: In My Dreams (Audio CD)
I got teased by the male members of my family for ordering this, but having seen the TV series I knew it would be a good buy. Yes they are standard romantic ballards, and there is nothing cutting edge about the renditions BUT they will fill you up. The slight trembles and off-keys just add to the poignancy, because you know they are not career vocalists, you've got the back stories and understand the significance of these women finding their voice, literally and metaphorically. Inspiring and humbling both. So easy to forget in this day and age "They also serve who only stand and wait". Make sure the hankies are to hand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In My Dreams
In My Dreams by Military Wives
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews