Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book
I downloaded this book because it was free at the time and I'm so glad I did because its excellent. Its a really good story and very well written.

I'm not going to give the plot away but if your into SciFi and Time travel bookes then this guy is very good indeed.

Keep up the good work and write more soon, I'll be keeping an eye out for more of his...
Published on 26 Mar 2012 by Richard P. James

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Part one only
Although this is more or less a complete novel it is obviously part one and you really are forced to buy subsequent volumes if you want to know what happens.
It isn't the greatest read ever but OK to while away an hour or two.
Published 6 months ago by Geoff


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book, 26 Mar 2012
By 
Richard P. James (Leicester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Jump (Halcyon Gate Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book because it was free at the time and I'm so glad I did because its excellent. Its a really good story and very well written.

I'm not going to give the plot away but if your into SciFi and Time travel bookes then this guy is very good indeed.

Keep up the good work and write more soon, I'll be keeping an eye out for more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars halcyon gate book 1, 16 Aug 2012
This review is from: Time Jump (Halcyon Gate Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
very good story. fast paced and exciting with a bit of humour thrown in. and the book is a good price as well. i look forward to the next in the series eugenic reprisal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Part one, 16 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Jump (Halcyon Gate Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
What starts as a simple mission through a newly formed time portal develops into a more complex situation as the story unfolds.

There are some thoughtful ideas within the story that are played out. Whilst at times it might seem a little slow paced and perhaps one of the main characters seems a bit underdeveloped or don't understand quite why that happened you find the reason why at the end which is an interesting twist.

Time is spent setting the scene/ exploring the characters/world where they came from and where they ended up after going through the portal but it still has a good amount of action and suspense in it ...... which is why I am trying to avoid giving too much of the plot away.

My only rant is that it is the first of what is likely to be a trilogy and it ends with only some of the questions answered ....something I would have liked to know before I started as I am impatient to know what happens next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 Stars For Time Jump!, 17 July 2012
By 
The Kindle Book Review (Indianapolis, IN) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Time Jump (Halcyon Gate Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Time Jump is an exciting look at time travel. It starts in the not too terribly distant future, giving me a look at changes ranging from technology to societal norms, just barely acquainting them with the "present" before I realize that Mason and Jacob are about to be sent back in time. The parameters of the project are clear, but some details are sketchy, and then what do you know, things do NOT go as planned.

The settings were well laid out, and the writing was very clear with the exception of a couple of small points (here is where I took off half a star) where the narrative jumps to first person, with not a lot of explanation as to why, or much connection to the plot at hand. Each time, I went back a page or so to make sure I didn't skip something. It doesn't seem like I did. I could have lived with the perspective change if those first person narratives were a bit more regular and explanatory, maybe written in italics or something to make it clear that it's thought or a dream. I still am not sure as to what the author was intending in those spots.

Aside from the small bits of confusion, the plot was excellent, the main characters were well developed, humor and levity shared the pages well, and there were enough twists in the story to keep me from figuring out what was going on overall for quite a while. It's possible that I will find in the next book that my hunches are completely off, but that's half the fun, isn't it? There's enough adventure to keep it thrilling, but not so much that one thinks that Mason and Jacob and Hector are indestructable.

I look forward to seeing what's in store for our heroes in the next installment of Halcyon Gate. Will they defeat the Elders? Will they prevent an all-out war? Get back to their own time? With such a strong first installment, I anticipate a robust story arc for the whole series.

Katherine X, Kindle Book Review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "TIME JUMP" OPENS A WINDOW TO A UNIQUE TIME-TRAVEL ADVENTURE, 2 Jun 2012
By 
RSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Time Jump (Halcyon Gate Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Four and a half ENJOYABLE STARS! "Time Jump" by J.M. Preiss is the first book in the Halcyon Gate saga and details the adventures of the first humans to travel in time. In the future, the Halcyon project in Ireland is set to benefit mankind by sending a two-man team, Mason and Jacob, on its history-making mission, but the deployed team is immediately puzzled by what they find and who they meet. Then comes the shock of where they are in time and space. The team must sort out whether and how to complete their mission. Failure is not an option. Skillfully written with short chapters and minimal plot holes, the author quickly advances the plot line and bolsters it with baffling circumstances and interesting characters. This novel takes us beyond the usual 'time travel' fare. Highly Recommended. Four and a half ADVENTUROUS Stars (Review is based on a Kindle download of 257 KB ~159 pages)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HG Wells meets "AI", 24 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Jump (Halcyon Gate Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a "Went on a time-travel journey and it all went squiffy" story.
Intending to journey into the past, the main characters find themselves drawn to an unfortunate future where the climate has dramatically cooled.
The reasons for this become clear at the end of the book where the protagonists are again sent back in time to fix things, which may involve them making sure one of them isn't born!
Looking forwards to Book2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Part one only, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Jump (Halcyon Gate Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Although this is more or less a complete novel it is obviously part one and you really are forced to buy subsequent volumes if you want to know what happens.
It isn't the greatest read ever but OK to while away an hour or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good short book, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Jump (Halcyon Gate Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I very much enjoyed this book. Some of the dialogue is a little awkward and unbelievable however the overall quality of the story and settings means that these issues do not derail the enjoyment of the read.
I look forward to the next instalment with great interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Harrumphed, 14 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Jump (Halcyon Gate Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I did enjoy this book loved the plot. But how many times can the word harrumphed be used in such a short story ? drove me mad!
A good modern twist on time travel where travel Into the future is possible, albeit an accident, I harrumph.
Looking forward to second instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 29 Sep 2013
This review is from: Time Jump (Halcyon Gate Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Its as if the author outlined the plot and left it at that.
Very comic book like. The interaction of the characters all seems most illogical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Jump (Halcyon Gate Book 1)
1.84
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews