Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars britpop is back
cast return to the sound they do best here. not original, but it doesn't need to be when the melodies are strong. john power sometimes gets criticised for his lyrics, unfairly in my opinion. he touches on mans inhumanity to man but has no answers. but then again neither does anyone else. welcome back cast!
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Mr. Alan Dawson

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars still waiting
ive listened to this about three times now just waiting for it to grab me but so far it hasn't. i will keep trying though cos i love Cast, it just hasn't got anything like 'Finetime' or 'All right' or even 'Flying'. Shame :(
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by K. P. Wilson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars britpop is back, 6 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. Alan Dawson (BOLTON, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troubled Times (Audio CD)
cast return to the sound they do best here. not original, but it doesn't need to be when the melodies are strong. john power sometimes gets criticised for his lyrics, unfairly in my opinion. he touches on mans inhumanity to man but has no answers. but then again neither does anyone else. welcome back cast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Class of 1995, 30 Mar 2012
By 
P. Frizelle (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troubled Times (Audio CD)
Remember the summer of 1995 and the sound of Britpop. .
Cast were always there but never really visible. These loveable Scousers despite multi- platinum selling albums (including the fastest selling debut album of the time) never really reached the heights they should have or deserved. 17 years on there back after some incestuous affairs on the Liverpool music scene.

Troubled Times sounds like Cast in terms of the vocals and the easily identifiable guitar work, but not in style or spirit. Yes they take from the retro sixties influence that Britpop always did, but it lacks the effervescence of their youth. This is a mature collection of songs that reflects their age and stature (These guys are in their early 40's now).

Sadly they sound like a middle aged band playing in a pub somewhere on a Tuesday night. That's not so say it's bad but the brisk optimism and infectious choruses have gone. Unfortunately you can't really recapture a scene that was so spontaneous and I don't think they are really trying to here. The wide eyes, energy, excitement are now replaced more mundane affairs and acceptance of what life is all about.

Never the less this collection of songs is heartfelt and warming and comes from a group that have gained wisdom through experience and age. The songs and tempo reflect this. When you think about it the audience are going to be ex- brit-popers who are also going to be around the late 30 or early 40 mark. So they should be able to relate.

Cast have never been critical darlings. Even when Britpop was at its peak they were being written off as mere revivalists. But this never affected their popularity, mainly thanks to John Power, a songwriter with a gift for writing radio-friendly melodies. This album does not attempt o relive the Britpop years but picks up exactly where they left off. The guitars chime and jangle brightly and the songs are full of lyrical clichés. But it's not the Cast you may remember.
If Cast in 1995 were a bottle on lemonade the Cast of 2012 are a bottle of lemon squash

It's sad that with so much musical talent and versatility that this album will not appeal to anyone else other than those wishing to open window into the past. These seasoned musicians who have played with the likes of Shack, the LA's and the Bunnymen deserve more but unfortunately I don't think this will do it .

All in all a plesent album but another one that will collect dust in the collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars But he decided that it would work better with the old band, 20 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troubled Times (Audio CD)
Having had a long lay off between albums ( their last one released in 2001) due to John Power going solo. The band reformed to celebrate the anniversary of their original classic album and go on tour with it. John Power had written some new material which he was going to release as a solo artist. But he decided that it would work better with the old band. And although it didn't do commercially well. It is a good album, more laid back, more acoustic and with some good demo versions on it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troubled Times (Audio CD)
This I would say is Cast's best offering. Really catchy tunes and the band have got better through time. Could play over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is it good?????, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troubled Times (Audio CD)
I am completely obsessed with Britpop and the britopo era, the 90's in general was the greatest time for British music ever as far as i'm conerned,

So for these bands such as Cast to be reuinited fills me with nothing other than joy. I am delighted for the band and it was very emotional for me to hear they were back together....so is the album good? the answer is NO..it is tremendous. Buy it and support the band and all Britpop artists that are reformed.

I had the pleasure of drinking with John Power one night in Glasgow after his gig at King tuts, John was a down to earth guy.

I love this band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cast, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troubled Times (Audio CD)
Liverpool band ive got lots of Liverpool music iv`e also got their hits the collection lots of Liverpool music great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars still waiting, 9 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Troubled Times (Audio CD)
ive listened to this about three times now just waiting for it to grab me but so far it hasn't. i will keep trying though cos i love Cast, it just hasn't got anything like 'Finetime' or 'All right' or even 'Flying'. Shame :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars troubled times, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Troubled Times (Audio CD)
bought for my son of my grand son for his father dont know what it is like yet my son hasnt played it yet im waiting for the other 2 to come so he can have them all at once thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's great!, 12 Mar 2012
This review is from: Troubled Times (Audio CD)
It's really, really great! They are from Liverpool and they are great. John Power is a great musician and a great scouser. By your 2nd or 3rd listen you'll appreciate what an awesome record this really is.

Great, really really great. Chicken turkey great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Troubled Times
Troubled Times by Cast (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews