Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album
The boys are back and I have to agree with the other reviews that this is a brilliant album.

How's these boys aren't more mainstream remains a mystery to me as they are just as good if not better than some of the more 'fashionable' names but the fact that they aren't is also a bonus as they play more intimate gigs and not arenas and they are without a doubt the...
Published 20 months ago by Caz4278

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Twang are still just average
Upon first listen the album was a mixture of bland, boring, inoffensive pop and seemed worth nothing but dismissing. However, upon a second listen however, tracks started to stand out and melodies became familiar.

`We're A Crowd', the first single from 10:20, is a catchy number. The guitar led melody brings out the hook in the vocals and the background sax...
Published 20 months ago by ktvowles


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album, 6 Nov 2012
This review is from: 10:20 (Audio CD)
The boys are back and I have to agree with the other reviews that this is a brilliant album.

How's these boys aren't more mainstream remains a mystery to me as they are just as good if not better than some of the more 'fashionable' names but the fact that they aren't is also a bonus as they play more intimate gigs and not arenas and they are without a doubt the best live band I have ever seen and I have seen a lot.

Too many good songs to name a favourite. Buy the album you won't regret it and if you don't own the first 2 buy those as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10:20 (Audio CD)
Non Mainstream Band

Most underrated band of my generation

Fantastic Live Too

Buy all their albums I love this band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars possibly the best band in the world! ever!, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10:20 (Audio CD)
At first listen the jury was out, but having listened to a couple more times, i've listened to nothing else since, as good as the first two albums, love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some belters on here, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10:20 (MP3 Download)
Some crackin' tracks from the boys and worth the wait. Saw them at the Manchester Ritz last week and they were as fantastic live as ever. Liked the new 5 piece lineup - -the extra guitar added richness to the sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album-Give it A Listen, 30 Oct 2012
This review is from: 10:20 (Audio CD)
First off this isn't the type of band i listen to as a rule, but my daughters boyfriend never shuts up about them and so i purchased their first two albums and to be honest i probably played them once all the way through.

Then i heard the new single mainline and loved it and so when the new album was given a release date i ordered one for me and one for the kids.

Iv'e now got it on the ipod on repeat and its full of melodies and hooks, very good songwriting and the drumming stands out on most of the tracks.

My fave tracks are mainline, beer wine and sunshine, whoa man and strangers.

So im a convert, just got dig those first two albums out now and give them a proper listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, from Birminghams best..., 30 Oct 2012
By 
R. PLAISTER "Rob P" (Birmingham, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10:20 (Audio CD)
The Twangs 3rd Album, 10:20 is now out, and is an excellent production and mix of songs and styles.

Its fair to say The Twang have seen and experienced the ups and downs of the Music industry, from the critically acclaimed first Album, "Love it when I feel like this" released in 2007, to the apparent industry dissapointment of 2nd album release "Jewellery Quarter" (which is in fact a pretty good collection), to then losing long time drummer for the alleged stealing of equipment. But the lads from Quinton, Birmingham, have bounced back. New drummer Ash Sheehan, is something of a percussion genius, whilst vocallists Etheridge and Saunders have lost nothing, in fact, its fair to say their performances have matured. Backed up by Stuart Hartland (Guitar) and the wonderfully modest Jon Watkin on bass, this is a band who are still on the up.

New boy Sheehan announces himself by opening proceedings with some big drums on "Neptune", from there the anthem that is "Mainline" comes in. A political statement of intent, which so many these days will relate to, Etheridge's anger and frustration is obvious, to capture how so many feel during these tough times.

Another song which has a political stance is "We're a Crowd" written during the riots, the song is not so much a sign of admiration for the rioters, but a message to the politicans that whilst the riots were not right, they were a reflection of the times. An excellent song, which wll surely become a firm favourite with Twang fans.

Guapa is the third highlight, and by now already a favourite with Twang fans, often the best performance at any live gig. Switching between vocal styles with ease this is Etheridge at his very very best.

The big time is clearly only around the corner again for these hard working Brummie lads....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10:20 (Audio CD)
Fantastic album by one of the most underrated bands in Britain. Perhaps not hitting the heights of the first two albums for 4-5 superb tracks on here and only one complete duff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Could this be the best album this year?, 31 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 10:20 (MP3 Download)
There have been some great releases this year and this is right up there and possibly the cream of the crop.

The depth of material on this album is just stunning but keeping the essence of the Twang sound.

Each listen has provided a new favourite - that's how good the tunes are on this album so I am not going to name a specific.

This could well be the best album this year.

Can't recommend this enough - welcome back guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best band never to be on radio playlist, 6 Nov 2012
By 
N. Dickens "X_comedian" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 10:20 (Audio CD)
Following the excellent yet critically under-rated "Jewellery Quarter" was always going to be a tough call for the hardcore fans who enjoy watching the best live band currently still playing smaller venues such as W'ton Civic or the HMV institute.

Yet 10.20 see the Twang return with a new line up that sees the band move up a notch sonically. New drummer Ash is a power-house and the added trumpet work on 'mainline' and extra rhythm guitar on 'Paradise' and 'Neptune' grow the sound of an album that has lost none of the angst or edge from its predecessors.

Part of me didn't want to review this album - the fact that the Twang are the best kept secret on the British music scene means I don't want to see them change and start moving to the uber stadiums or plugging their latest single on the xfactor.

However, if you enjoy music; from Bloc Party, to Plan B to Led Zep then you need this album. Just don't tell all your friends about it - the boys are much more fun making a few hundred fans "bounce"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ALBUM YOU MUST HAVE IN YOUR COLLECTION!, 1 Nov 2012
This review is from: 10:20 (Audio CD)
I have followed this band from 2007 and they are to me the best live band that this country has.

Everyone should own every album this band has made, their melodies and words are the most thought provoking you will find and rubbish any other band that makes the charts every week.

If you ever loved The Mondays, Inspiral Carpets, The Roses or The Smiths then you need to wrap your ears around their work.

You need this in your life and get out and see them live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

10:20
10:20 by The Twang (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews