Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant but beware the missing episode
Firstly a warning, this is supposed to contain the 'complete' set of series one episodes, but it does not. Episode 4 'Meet Captain America' is not present on any of the DVDs in this set. It is worth pointing out that none of the individual volumes, when purchased seperately, contain this episode either; although it has been broadcast on television many times before...
Published 23 months ago by P. Draper

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for the collection!
We've had several Avenger animated features before, this has been the most entertaining and interesting of the lot, with many twists & turns that are a joy to discover alongside the main characters, Iron-Man, Captain America, Ant-Man, Thor, Black Panther, Hawkeye, Wasp and the ever wimpy, Hulk!

As we all know by now, there is an episode missing on this set,...
Published 22 months ago by Zentron


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Utterly brilliant but beware the missing episode, 3 May 2012
By 
P. Draper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes - Volume 1 - 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly a warning, this is supposed to contain the 'complete' set of series one episodes, but it does not. Episode 4 'Meet Captain America' is not present on any of the DVDs in this set. It is worth pointing out that none of the individual volumes, when purchased seperately, contain this episode either; although it has been broadcast on television many times before. Also I have noted that this episode is present on the U.S. (NTSC Region 1) volume 1 DVD, which makes it even stranger that it is missing from the UK (European PAL Region 2) volume 1 DVD. If it wasn't for this oversight, I would have given this product five stars.

The Avengers Earth's Mightiest Heroes TV series is a truly brilliant depiction of the Avengers greatest exploits. It contains stories with truly great depictions of everyones favourite Avenger characters, which are portrayed superbly. Iron Man, Captain America, Thor, The Hulk, Wasp, Ant Man, Hawkeye, Black Panther, Black Widow, Nick Fury, they are all in there. They are all both believable whilst being reasonably true to the originals. They square of against some of the greatest enemies the Avengers have ever faced. Hydra, AIM, The Masters of Evil, Kang The Conquerer, Ultron, Loki, and many more, get the full treatment with some incredible story arcs that overlap and intertwine throughout the series. The animation is very well done and has a modern high end feel to it (not CGI thank god), and the acting is spot on.

With regards to the DVD product itself, it is very basic. It is just four DVDs in a DVD case. The case itself is not great, because the DVDs overlap, which makes it fidly to get them in and out. It is far from the best design I have seen when it comes to squeezing four DVDs into a single case. It could also really do with an inlay, or at the least something that tells you which episodes are on which DVD. So if there were marks for presentation they would be very low. Frankly it is very disappointing to see the lack of effort that has gone into the product considering how great the content is.

Overall if you are a fan of the Marvel Universe or The Avengers in particular, this is a must own product, it really does not get any better than this. The Avengers movie is utterly awesome (I have seen it already), and this series is awesome too with a lot more content than the movie (at least 9 hours worth here).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, about time it had a complete release! Now has all episodes!, 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes - Volume 1 - 4 [DVD] (DVD)
If you like other superhero series such as Justice League,Batman The Brave and The Bold and Wolverine and The X-Men this should be right up your street as it has great writing and animation which kids (and adults) of all ages should love.

Definitely a must buy for comic book fans, now if only they'd do the same for Young Justice I'd be very happy!

Edit: Thanks to the review by P.Draper I now know that this boxset is missing an episode, namely ep 4 Meet Capatin America. I urge anyone who is thinking of or already has purchased this item to contact Disney to find out why this is missing and if it will ever be rectified.

The only contact I could find was: help@disney.co.uk and it has now been confirmed that the missing episode will not be released in this country for reasons, so far, unknown.

If you're buying this for young kids they may not notice but for the older kids among us it's just not good enough so I'll be waiting for a full complete season to be released be it here or overseas.

Five stars for the product, 1 star for Disney not providing what they are selling.

**UPDATE**
As numerous people have said this now does include all the episodes despite what Disney said, so it really is a no brainer, buy this and hopefully they will release a complete second season release!

Just check it does have the missing episode in case there are still old copies floating about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love it, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes - Volume 1 - 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Son likes this better than the hollywood film. I secretly enjoy watching it too. Lookd great and plots not too simple, enough to keep adUlts entertained too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff - instantaneous, unlike the movie(s), 25 May 2012
By 
McRonson (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes - Volume 1 - 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Finished watching these last night; I just KNEW that when the Avengers are stuck on Asgard that Iron Man would somehow get a new suit of armour and they made me wait till almost the end of the series to make me see it!

Iron Man's Asgardian armour.... It's nifty.

I also enjoyed the Hulk's presence here in this incarnation of the Avengers - I was hooked when Jade Jaws walks in with the Red Ghost's Super XXXXX (sorry, don't want to spoil it for you!) and threw them on the floor. For a pedantic old fanboy like me, I'd like to know how the Hulk never reverts back to being Bruce Banner when all of the excitment of battle's calmed down as well as just how on earth is the Hulk kept busy???

Older fans of Earth's Mightiest Heroes will remember that the Hulk only lasted in the original comic book lineup for two (2) issues, leaving in issue 2 after he realised how hurtful his team mates comments were during his limbo swaps with the Space Phantom (confused? Don't be; just accept it and move on) so having Banner's alter-ego hang around and rather handily be the team's ultimate weapon DOES make for a very amusing and entertaining cartoon so, I'm not going to quibble in that respect.

Also, Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes has the Black Panther (I'm all for diversity myself; can we also have the Falcon too, please?) which is great; his costume re-design is terrific - far superior to his Ultimate Avengers suit (bare arms???).

While there's a missing episode*, it can be viewed on Youtube so unless you want to invest in a R1 edition of disc one of this series, there's more than enough here to keep you thoroughly entertained. Mind you, where was Ms. Marvel? She's previewed in the special features on the 2nd individually available disc of this series...

*"Meet Captain America". See other comments here on Amazon regarding this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Big hit with 10 year old son, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes - Volume 1 - 4 [DVD] (DVD)
My son absolutely loves this dvd box set. well worth the money. He hasn't stopped watching it since his birthday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great series, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes - Volume 1 - 4 [DVD] (DVD)
my son really enjoyed it and watched it a lot ,avengers is one of favourite team, box and discs in good condition
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Avengers Assemble - It is complete actually!, 2 Dec 2013
By 
A. Campbell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes - Volume 1 - 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Just a note I haven't watched this series yet but I wanted to point out that one user noted this series doesn't have the 'Meet Captain America' episode. Well that info is wrong it's on the first disc as I checked mine.

Rest assured this is the COMPLETE set with all 26 episodes. Buy with confidence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My 4 yr old loves this series, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes - Volume 1 - 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Very pleased with this DVD set. It was cheap and you get 4 volumes. Hoping they will do the same for the next 4 as it is expensive to buy them a volume at a time. My son is avengers mad and really likes this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for those budding hero's, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes - Volume 1 - 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Brought this for my friends little boy who has seen the film, so absolutely loved this cartoon collection. Fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Entertainment, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes - Volume 1 - 4 [DVD] (DVD)
My 5 year old son is obsessed with The Avengers and is a little too young for the live action films so these satisfy him completely. I would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8d1fa5c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews