Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read
Really enjoyed this, bought out of curiosity to be honest but was pleasantly surprised and found it an entertaining read.
Published 9 months ago by I C Douglas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Warms Up (pun intended)
Having read the author's note I approached this book with some trepidation. The story takes a while to get going, and the first half of the book lacks depth and credibility. I persevered and found the second half more rewarding. I would have to agree with the author that it is lightweight, but it is nonetheless ultimately worth reading.
Published 12 months ago by Andrew


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Tomb Second Edition (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this, bought out of curiosity to be honest but was pleasantly surprised and found it an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ice tomb, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Tomb Second Edition (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book ,would certainly try another by this author. I liked the thought of the ancients being involved with our survival,a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It Warms Up (pun intended), 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Tomb Second Edition (Kindle Edition)
Having read the author's note I approached this book with some trepidation. The story takes a while to get going, and the first half of the book lacks depth and credibility. I persevered and found the second half more rewarding. I would have to agree with the author that it is lightweight, but it is nonetheless ultimately worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dawsvader, 3 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Tomb Second Edition (Kindle Edition)
Great read, good pace and a good story well told. Likeable and unlikable characters go arm in arm,only slight criticism is end felt a bit rushed,wont say why would spoil the ending,but well worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arctic to Antarctica - in quest of "hot spots"?, 25 Jan 2005
By 
Stephen A. Haines (Ottawa, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ice Tomb (Paperback)
In 1929, a map of the New World dated 1513 CE was discovered. Highly detailed, the cartographer declared in his notes that he had drawn on many sources, some quite ancient, to produce the chart. The cartographer was a Turkish Admiral and the chart became known as the Piri Reis Map. Among its mysteries, it depicted a detailed shoreline of Antarctica.
The Piri Reis Map becomes a key element in Deborah Jackson's adventurous tale of scientists confronting bizarre mysteries in harsh conditions. Erica Daniels is a mountain climber. She's a vulcanologist and the mountains she climbs are capable of ejecting her from their slopes - along with tons of rock, ash and lava. Erica has had more than mountains to conquer. The machinations of ambitious men have been as severe a hazard as any pyroclastic flow. In university, her career well planned and ready to be undertaken, her lover decamps with her thesis to initiate his own success.
As a result, David Marsh becomes a noted geologist. He's crafty and ambitious, rising to be chosen to investigate craters on the moon for water and minerals. Chance observations of our neighbour in space have indicated the possibility that Luna may not be as dead as is thought. If the moon has geological activity, it will have serious implications for any colony. NASA has already taken the first step with a HAB base constructed only nine years from now. In Jackson's story, the year 2015 will be portentious. Relations with China will have improved to the point where an astronaut from there will be joining Marsh on his expedition. There are interesting lunar features to explore and Marsh is the best researcher available. Or is he?
Although Daniels and Marsh carry abrasive memories of their past relationship, Jackson's story keeps them interacting at several levels. Erica has been called away from an Alaskan climb that threatened to extinguish her abilities - along with herself - to journey to the other Pole. From a "hotspot" atop an Alaskan mountain, she's been asked to cross the globe to Antarctica. Another "hotspot" - one that shouldn't exist - has been reported on the southernmost continent. Worse, it seems to have been gobbling up people. On her way, Erica encounters archaeologist Allan Rocheford. Inexplicably, this desert digger is also interested in the Antarctic hotspot. He has an idea of why it's there and what it implies. He's found something in a dig in Egypt that relates to the evidence given by the Piri Reis map - Antarctica hasn't always enjoyed the conditions there now. Is the "hotspot" under the ice an alien artefact? Or something even more profound?
Marsh arrives on the moon and begins exploring one of the mysterious "rilles" - deep ravines that stretch over the moonscape. He encounters wholly unexpected conditions. "Lava tubes" are a phenomenon of some Earth volcanoes. They are the result of quick surface cooling of molten magma leaving the interior still fluid and flowing. The result is a long cylinder of stone, easily adaptable to conversion into a habitat. On the moon the much-reduced force of gravity could leave such structures much larger than found here. What might such a stone configuration contain? With his Russian companion, Vochenkov, Marsh seeks understanding of this most bizarre of lunar secrets. Is the moon still an active world? What will that mean for the extension of the habitat? Marsh's explorations indicate he needs more expertise to resolve the riddles. Who better to supply that extra knowledge than Erica Daniels? The link between the mysterious structures on the moon and the enigma under Antarctic ice reveals the deepest mystery of all.
Jackson's book is a good reason why speculative fiction should shed its stigma of "fantasy based on research". Set in the immediate future, and based on a wealth of research, there is little here that couldn't be achieved in this story. Nor are the speculations wholly invalid. The Piri Reis Map was assessed by cartographers who deemed most of its displayed landforms as conforming to modern configurations. Jackson builds her story with care, staffing it with people we might encounter in any academic or government research facility. There are petty jealousies, intense emotion both attractive and repellent. The scientist's dedication to revealing the underlying elements of what appears to be fantastic is admirably displayed. Erica Daniels may appear a bit explosive, but what other characteristics is one to expect from a vulcanologist? David Marsh plunders a thesis, but competition among scientists has bred unsavoury conduct before. In short, this is an adventuresome tale in a realistic setting. It's something to take up when you seek excitement. You won't be disappointed. [stephen a. haines - Ottawa, Canada]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Tomb Second Edition (Kindle Edition)
Enthralling,book kept you entertained from beginning to end.interesting and informative without being too high tech.I will look at other books by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A little to scientific, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Tomb Second Edition (Kindle Edition)
A good read. Perhaps a little slow to begin with and a bit to much science jargon. Nevertheless a good read with an interesting concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and fun, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Tomb Second Edition (Kindle Edition)
This is one of those novels that makes me glad that I have a Kindle - 75p for an enjoyable read and a good yarn to escape into on a day off from work. I liked the story with its two locations, Antarctica and the Moon and the developing tale of the ways in which the two are linked. It took some alternative history ideas and dropped them into a light hearted science fiction context in a way that provided a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book I took everywhere, waiting for those few spare minutes were I could re-enter the world of the Ice Tomb., 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Tomb Second Edition (Kindle Edition)
An interesting story of love,ambition and guilt, all mixed together with a good mix of adventure and thrills as we travel through the story from 2 view points, coming together at the end in an interesting conclusion.
Well worth reading and one of the books that sticks in your mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is definate "must read", 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ice Tomb Second Edition (Kindle Edition)
I found this book engrossing and compelling, I couldn't wait to read it all, but I didn't want it to end!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ice Tomb Second Edition
Ice Tomb Second Edition by Deborah Jackson
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews