Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars133
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2013
Most will have seen versions of this popular classic but I can really recommend this one. The acting, direction and production are first class.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
While this well done, why was it necessary to re-write Dickens' book. In that regard it's a travesty!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
The definitive adaptation of Dickens' masterpiece. Interesting casting of Gillian Anderson as Miss Havisham. Otherwise, this oozes class from the BBC's matchless period drama productions. Worth the licence fee alone. Ray Winstone's Magwitch has to be the definitive performance of a strong ensemble cast. Muted colours throughout seem to match the mood of this exceptional adaptation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
Gillian Anderson and Ray Winstone are both exceptional in this BBC mini series! based on the novel by Charles Dickens which is a classic! There has been so many versions of this be it TV series or movies but this mini series is fantastic. Beautifully filmed with a amazing cast makes this version simply unmissable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
As always Charles Dickens knows how to hold his readers/audience. The characters we all know were brilliantly portrayed by a well chosen cast. .The attention to detail was always there, but not obvious. The colour subdued which added to the illusion.
Charles Dickens would have approved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2015
A wonderful adaptation of the Charles Dickens novel. Marvellous actors, particularly Gillian Anderson in the role as Lady Dedlock, a tortured soul, with a secret in her past.
The sets were very evocative of the time, and all the actors put in sterling performances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2012
Loved this. The acting is outstanding, and the pace moved quickly. The only reason is doesnt get 5 stars is the older pip is not as believable. He's far too pretty!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I love Charles Dickens and I advise to you especially this movie.I ordered this dvd 19 November 2013 and today is 28 November 2013 I have enjoyed .Dvd arrived quickly and was well in perfect condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
I really liked this production of Great Expectations. When I first heard Gillian Anderson had been cast as Miss Havisham I thought she wasn't a good choice as she was far too young, but she did a fantastic job - really captured the madness and obsession of Miss Havisham. Ray winstone great as usual. I haven't given it 5 stars simply because I felt that the script was a little rushed and some things were not explained very well, and some of the best bits of the book were lost. The guys who played both baddies (orlick and drummel) were brilliant was well. Worth the money...!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Bought for my 19 year old daughter. She loved it and has been reading classic books for a while so was pleased with the DVD as we had both watched it on tv together and now watches when she wants.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)