Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good
I'm an ex-Science teacher and I like this product. It really needs to be played with by an adult and child together though. Left alone they would lose bits and not be able to follow the instructions easily. There are better water rockets (like the Rokit) but this one operates well from a medium sized garden and some of the other gadgets can be used indoors.
Published on 19 Sep 2012 by Profpop

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
This product is very poor value for money. There is not much equipment provided and what is provided is of poor quality. The goggles are of reasonable quality and the safety advice is okay. My grandson was frustrated and disappointed, and I felt that we had been ripped off.
Published on 10 July 2012 by Mrs Average


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 10 July 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Adams Booms Bangs Fizzes (Toy)
This product is very poor value for money. There is not much equipment provided and what is provided is of poor quality. The goggles are of reasonable quality and the safety advice is okay. My grandson was frustrated and disappointed, and I felt that we had been ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It didn't fizz it fizzled., 29 Dec 2012
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: John Adams Booms Bangs Fizzes (Toy)
So disappointed in this kit. Not one of the experiments worked in the way it was meant to. And by that I am being generous, the one that did sort of work didn't work in the way it was meant to. Result was one very disappointed daughter who was really excited about receiving this gift in her stocking only to be let down steadily by film canisters that leaked, volcanoes that didn't erupt and rockets that didn't fly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Booms, bangs and swizzes, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Andy Farley (Liverpool. UK.) - See all my reviews
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: John Adams Booms Bangs Fizzes (Toy)
DO NOT BUY THIS.

Would it have killed them to include some blu-tack? Or a soluble Vitamin C tablet? Or one of the other plethora of trivial ingredients that are marked "Not included" and stop you dead when you're trying to do an experiment?

Oh yeah, and the "experiments". One of them is fill a balloon with small pieces of paper (not included), blow up the balloon with a pump (not included) and release outside.

The balloon is included.

There - I've saved you >£2.

The only things my children learned from this is that science is disappointing, dull and comes with several items that cannot be found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 28 Dec 2012
By 
L. Fee - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Adams Booms Bangs Fizzes (Toy)
Bought in a fond haze of childhood chemistry kits but entirely disappointing.

More than half the experiments can only be done outside. Of the indoor ones all but two needed kit we didn't have and the two we tried didn't work.

Refund requested and that process at least was good. So well done Amazon but Boo Hiss John Adams!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 19 Sep 2012
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Adams Booms Bangs Fizzes (Toy)
I'm an ex-Science teacher and I like this product. It really needs to be played with by an adult and child together though. Left alone they would lose bits and not be able to follow the instructions easily. There are better water rockets (like the Rokit) but this one operates well from a medium sized garden and some of the other gadgets can be used indoors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kept my son entertained for ages, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Adams Booms Bangs Fizzes (Toy)
Bought as a Christmas present for my 8yo son, this kept him entertained for a couple of hours at a time every couple of days over the Christmas holiday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars happy grandson, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Adams Booms Bangs Fizzes (Toy)
This is a good present for children but you need to know there are basic things needed for the experiments which can be found in most kitchens. Best to check first before you plan to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a great idea, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Adams Booms Bangs Fizzes (Toy)
wasn't too keen on this im afraid we were all excited to get building the rocket which was not successful and didn't please my son too much but was excited and keen to learn and see how these experiments worked have a few other experiments to try. hopefully these will be better .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY ITS A CON, 28 Jan 2013
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Adams Booms Bangs Fizzes (Toy)
Not a cheap set, very little included to complete the actual experiements. You need to buy so much extra stuff to actually do the tasks.

you would need to spend at least another £20 to buy the stuff that is not included to do the experiements( i.e Soluable vitamin C tablet, Plastic bottles, blue tac, selotape, paper, card,etc etc the list is endless)

Oh and don't forget you need TWO STRUDY TREES, so don't bother is you only have shrubs

The most disappointing product I have ever bought, what a rip off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Things missing and poor instructions, 16 April 2014
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: John Adams Booms Bangs Fizzes (Toy)
I bought this to play with my two daughters, sadly there are many things missing and no shopping list. You'll need a bike pump, blutac, selatape, vitamin C tablet, large glass bowl or jug, scissors, scrap paper, outside space, a bottle of cola, etc..
My advice is to try the experiments out before getting the kids involved, but if like me you are too busy for that then you're better off simply avoiding this. There must be better kits out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Adams Booms Bangs Fizzes
£15.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews