Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (23)
1 star:
 (31)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Idiosyncratically Ti West and a world away from the mainstream of horror
The Innkeepers delivers perfectly on a human level. Whether Paxton and Healy are talking about the terrible customers and unbeknownst to them, the creepy harbingers of doom who occupy the second and third act, it all builds up to a crescendo. All these convergent threads make the innkeepers the antithesis to poorly scripted genre films the world over. The only saggy scene...
Published on 8 Nov. 2012 by Rob Simpson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for fans of really sloooow moving horror
The Innkeepers' cover artwork is a little misleading (I haven't seen the trailer, so I can't comment on that). It shows a blooded hand ringing a bell, implying that this will be some sort of gore-fest. It isn't. It is however one of the slowest moving horror films ever. I use the term `horror' over supernatural because on the 2-3 parts of the film where it actually...
Published on 1 Feb. 2013 by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for fans of really sloooow moving horror, 1 Feb. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
The Innkeepers' cover artwork is a little misleading (I haven't seen the trailer, so I can't comment on that). It shows a blooded hand ringing a bell, implying that this will be some sort of gore-fest. It isn't. It is however one of the slowest moving horror films ever. I use the term `horror' over supernatural because on the 2-3 parts of the film where it actually gets scary, the scenes would probably fit more with other, more mainstream popcorn horror films.

It's about two workers at an inn which is due to close in the next few days. The inn is supposedly haunted and they decide to try and prove the stories true before the building is finally shut for good.

Most of the film is character-building. The two youngsters play their parts well. They're endearing and easily-related to. The story progresses and the tension slowly mounts. Slowly. This is where the film could fall down for some. I've checked other reviews and it seems that people either love or hate the film. Some see it as not that much of a horror - more a slow-burning suspenseful ghost story, putting characters over gore. Others simply find it too slow to be scary and/or exciting.

I fall somewhere between the two. The characters and the way the actors portray them deserves credit and there is certainly an air of tension created. However, I would have liked a few more scares and a little more action somewhere along the way.

This film will find an audience, but whether you'll enjoy it will depend on how `fast-paced' you like your movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Idiosyncratically Ti West and a world away from the mainstream of horror, 8 Nov. 2012
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
The Innkeepers delivers perfectly on a human level. Whether Paxton and Healy are talking about the terrible customers and unbeknownst to them, the creepy harbingers of doom who occupy the second and third act, it all builds up to a crescendo. All these convergent threads make the innkeepers the antithesis to poorly scripted genre films the world over. The only saggy scene is when Claire (Paxton) goes out of the hotel and down the road to the coffee shop where Lena `everyone's least favourite mumblecore patron' Dunham works.

The mixed reception expresses this point perfectly; this is not a film for everyone. The Innkeepers is hard to digest, slow and lacking in the explicit allures of the genre. However at the same time, West is calling back to the period of classic cinema when horror wasn't just about the visceral immediate reaction, it was about something that lingered in the memory long after the closing credits. It was about people.

Ti West's Innkeepers is the antidote to the modern horror film to the point where I wouldn't really call it a horror film. Like all the best genre films, it's not the jumps or the scares that make these pictures stand the test of time. On the contrary it's the drama, the characters and the development and thanks to a witty script of brilliant tension, interaction and tragedy together with the fantastic low-key performances from Sara Paxton and Pat Healy. The Innkeepers is the antithesis to poorly scripted genre films the world over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inn keeping with the current vogue for haunted house movies, 19 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
I actually really enjoyed this film; it's true that for long swathes of time very little happens, however Sara Paxton and Pat Healy excel as a pair of amateur ghost-hunters whose relationship is decidedly off-kilter, with Healy's bookish Luke almost professing his love (or perhaps just lust) for his lissome companion.
Director Ti West does very well with very little, and there are a handful-of scalp-prickling moments that may be derided by horror-movie afficionados but certainly worked on me!
I agree that the ending is a bit pat, however it did leave me with a fair few questions, and I think the film would bear repeated viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars takes a long time to dish up the genre clichés, 12 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
In this film two hotel workers spend their spare time investigating an old legend of a supposed haunting at the establishment where they work. Gradually they start to get signs that indicate they may indeed not be alone...

I find the hype surrounding this film quite mystifying. Although promising at the beginning with two central characters that don't seem initially to fit regular horror protagonists, they soon seem to dissolve into stupid fools doing illogical things that no real person would ever do, just to advance the increasingly lazy plot. I assume the extremely slow pace was an attempt to build a degree of tension, but I didn't find that was effective at all. It takes an age for not very much to happen and when it does I found myself expecting a lot more than what was offered. It is not that I have an attention span issue but for all the build up over the first hour of the film, the few fairly tame jumps do not pay off the amount of time you sit around waiting for something solid.
The two main actors are perfectly fine, but in the last third they start to do the moronic things that are a chronic problem in this kind of genre film - like glaring down into a dark basement and then continuing to go and have a look. When you have a capable cast, making them do stupid things like this is so frustrating as it undoes all the work up to that point and leaves them looking like the idiotic teens in a bad Friday 13th sequel.

The Innkeepers promised a lot, but is totally ruined by taking a long time to deliver virtually nothing. If you want a creepy hotel film, I would recommend watching The Shining instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wake me up when something happens!, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
Very slow..tedious and darn right boring,glad i only spent £3.00 on this. Don't waste your cash. Two stars,because they really tried to make this work. Sorry,not for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thoroughly enjoyable budget thriller, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
I knew that 'The Innkeepers' had received very mixed reviews, but I decided to bite the bullet at give it a go, and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The budget restraints are there, but that doesn't matter. Based in an apparently haunted-in-the-past Inn, two of it's employees begin to carry out some amateur ghost hunting. Meanwhile, there are some mysterious characters booking into the Inn, which is soon to be closing it's doors for good.

This one runs at a very slow, but completely satisfying pace, allowing for plenty of character development between the two leads (Sara Paxton and Pat Healy), who have a rather charming friendship despite their difference in age.

If your looking for a film with lots of guts and gore, I'd stay clear from this one. However, if you want an intriguing, slow burning story with some excellent, completely realistic characters, and a good deal of humour throughout, you should check into 'The Innkeepers'. It's isn't as scary as the DVD art would led you to believe, but it held my interest from being to end, with a satisfying ending to wrap things up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wot a load of rubbish, 10 Feb. 2014
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
Terrible acting no story line not scarey at all and I normally scared at everything don't waste your money very low budget
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No suspense or scares, 2 July 2013
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked Ti West's directorial style on The House Of The Devil so decided to give this haunted hotel film a go and I have to say it was a disappointment. It tells the story of two hotel workers and a very limited amount of guests, including a mother and child that have no impact on the story. The film feels far too long and the two leading cast members are not likable despite over long character development. The lead cast member (Sara Paxton) acting is woeful. When these sort of films are done well they are tense and frightening with lots of suspense and scares (The Innocents, The Others, The Uninvited), but this film is plain boring with no suspense or jumpy moments, a sad let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Budget old fashioned ghost story..., 20 Oct. 2014
By 
PF Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting attempt for an old fashioned ghost story. Slow in delivery and fairly well acted although I think more could have been made of a great location. Clearly a film on a budget it relies on the imagination of the viewer to realise certain aspects of the storyline but all in all, not a bad watch at a budget price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Haunted House Thrills., 29 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innkeepers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
An OK little Chiller for a dark evening. Takes (more than) a little while to get going, but when we're off, we're off. A good cast & a great looking film (for a low budget entry). And you will be pleased to know (well I was), it did not rely on the 'old' shaky camera stuff, like most of these low budget productions do. All-in-all a good looking Bluray, a well scripted film & Clare is a dream as a 'dorky' friend. Scares are limited, but done well - More, the image, than relying on jumping out at you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Innkeepers [DVD]
The Innkeepers [DVD] by Ti West (DVD - 2012)
£5.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews