Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Idiosyncratically Ti West and a world away from the mainstream of horror
The Innkeepers delivers perfectly on a human level. Whether Paxton and Healy are talking about the terrible customers and unbeknownst to them, the creepy harbingers of doom who occupy the second and third act, it all builds up to a crescendo. All these convergent threads make the innkeepers the antithesis to poorly scripted genre films the world over. The only saggy scene...
Published 22 months ago by Rob Simpson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for fans of really sloooow moving horror
The Innkeepers' cover artwork is a little misleading (I haven't seen the trailer, so I can't comment on that). It shows a blooded hand ringing a bell, implying that this will be some sort of gore-fest. It isn't. It is however one of the slowest moving horror films ever. I use the term `horror' over supernatural because on the 2-3 parts of the film where it actually...
Published 19 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for fans of really sloooow moving horror, 1 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
The Innkeepers' cover artwork is a little misleading (I haven't seen the trailer, so I can't comment on that). It shows a blooded hand ringing a bell, implying that this will be some sort of gore-fest. It isn't. It is however one of the slowest moving horror films ever. I use the term `horror' over supernatural because on the 2-3 parts of the film where it actually gets scary, the scenes would probably fit more with other, more mainstream popcorn horror films.

It's about two workers at an inn which is due to close in the next few days. The inn is supposedly haunted and they decide to try and prove the stories true before the building is finally shut for good.

Most of the film is character-building. The two youngsters play their parts well. They're endearing and easily-related to. The story progresses and the tension slowly mounts. Slowly. This is where the film could fall down for some. I've checked other reviews and it seems that people either love or hate the film. Some see it as not that much of a horror - more a slow-burning suspenseful ghost story, putting characters over gore. Others simply find it too slow to be scary and/or exciting.

I fall somewhere between the two. The characters and the way the actors portray them deserves credit and there is certainly an air of tension created. However, I would have liked a few more scares and a little more action somewhere along the way.

This film will find an audience, but whether you'll enjoy it will depend on how `fast-paced' you like your movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars takes a long time to dish up the genre clichés, 12 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
In this film two hotel workers spend their spare time investigating an old legend of a supposed haunting at the establishment where they work. Gradually they start to get signs that indicate they may indeed not be alone...

I find the hype surrounding this film quite mystifying. Although promising at the beginning with two central characters that don't seem initially to fit regular horror protagonists, they soon seem to dissolve into stupid fools doing illogical things that no real person would ever do, just to advance the increasingly lazy plot. I assume the extremely slow pace was an attempt to build a degree of tension, but I didn't find that was effective at all. It takes an age for not very much to happen and when it does I found myself expecting a lot more than what was offered. It is not that I have an attention span issue but for all the build up over the first hour of the film, the few fairly tame jumps do not pay off the amount of time you sit around waiting for something solid.
The two main actors are perfectly fine, but in the last third they start to do the moronic things that are a chronic problem in this kind of genre film - like glaring down into a dark basement and then continuing to go and have a look. When you have a capable cast, making them do stupid things like this is so frustrating as it undoes all the work up to that point and leaves them looking like the idiotic teens in a bad Friday 13th sequel.

The Innkeepers promised a lot, but is totally ruined by taking a long time to deliver virtually nothing. If you want a creepy hotel film, I would recommend watching The Shining instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, atmospheric but not scary, 27 Aug 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Innkeepers [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Ti West is a master of atmosphere. He has a canny ability to make his settings feel authentic and real. He acheived this with House of The Devil but surpassed that with The Innkeepers.

This is a well thought out. slow burning, creepy little tale of a soon to be closed hotel and its ghostly resident. Two front desk workers believe the hotel to be haunted and set about trying to find evidence of this. Of course things start to get a little creepy as they delve deeper into the history of the hotel. Throw in a couple of obscure and slightly random characters and you have here a fairly effective horror film.

The film takes its time to build atmosphere and character. The two leads do enough to make you happy to follow them but the additional characters are a little redundant. The mother and her child are utterly pointless as they just leave the film half way through never to return. Leigh, the retired actress, seems to be there for a reason which just fades away as the film progresses and the final guest is purely they for shocking impact.

The film isnt rushed but at the same time is compelling. You can easily be sucked into its little world but by the end you may feel that nothing has really happened. This is very much a character piece with the odd shock thrown in for good measure. How scary you find it will depend on how much you let the atmosphere seep in.

The ending is a real dissapointment and lets the film down. In particular the final shot teases you with the ultimate jump scare which just never comes to fruition. There are some missed opportunities along the way. It is great that a horror film of this ilk isnt solely reliant on shocking it audience with cheap scares, but a few more memorable moments are sorely needed.

So all in all we have a good atmospheric horror film with not much else going on. Ti west is always one to keep an eye on and he consistently makes interesting genre films, just sometimes it feels like too much effort is made to be different when all you need is a good scare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Idiosyncratically Ti West and a world away from the mainstream of horror, 8 Nov 2012
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
The Innkeepers delivers perfectly on a human level. Whether Paxton and Healy are talking about the terrible customers and unbeknownst to them, the creepy harbingers of doom who occupy the second and third act, it all builds up to a crescendo. All these convergent threads make the innkeepers the antithesis to poorly scripted genre films the world over. The only saggy scene is when Claire (Paxton) goes out of the hotel and down the road to the coffee shop where Lena `everyone's least favourite mumblecore patron' Dunham works.

The mixed reception expresses this point perfectly; this is not a film for everyone. The Innkeepers is hard to digest, slow and lacking in the explicit allures of the genre. However at the same time, West is calling back to the period of classic cinema when horror wasn't just about the visceral immediate reaction, it was about something that lingered in the memory long after the closing credits. It was about people.

Ti West's Innkeepers is the antidote to the modern horror film to the point where I wouldn't really call it a horror film. Like all the best genre films, it's not the jumps or the scares that make these pictures stand the test of time. On the contrary it's the drama, the characters and the development and thanks to a witty script of brilliant tension, interaction and tragedy together with the fantastic low-key performances from Sara Paxton and Pat Healy. The Innkeepers is the antithesis to poorly scripted genre films the world over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow But Satisfying, 29 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film that I think is one for lovers of ghost stories and atmosphere rather than slasher films or violent horror such a the Saw film franchise. I have always found gore, torture and lots of mutilation do not scare or entertain me, instead I find it rather boring. I like films that provoke thought and whilst showing something of the protagonist leave elements to the imagination. This is why I enjoyed The Innkeepers because it is a slow burning picture, that gradually pulls you in to the storyline. The film's characters are realistic (at first I did not care for them, but you come to see the humanity in them) and are not just caricatures, they have faults, which I found made me more invested in their safety. I would not say this film is scary (but I do not scare easily) instead it leaves you wondering and considering what happened in the hotel before the film begins and what happens after the last scene, you feel melancholic, wondering what exists beyond the world we think we know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There's no room in this inn..., 16 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
I don't quite understand why this film has gotten such a high score on Rotten Tomatoes. At first, I liked the approach this film was taking by taking a slower pace, and there are some funny touches. But I never found it interesting or frightening. The latter is really needed in a film like this. Avoid...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Innkeepers, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
Was disappointed with an uninspiring story line very limited predictable creepy bits and I just did not understand the ending!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just boring, 30 Sep 2012
By 
L. Rimmer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
Having got the kids to bed, I was really looking forward to settling down and watching a good horror. Unfortunately, I chose The Innkeepers, which is not a good horror.

The premise intrigued me - it sounded rather like The Shining (although I obviously wasn't expecting it to be up to those lofty standards). I was expecting at least some scares and thrills, though. Sadly, it was not to be. The movie is so slow-moving that, far from being gripping, I found my mind wandering and kept having to re-focus my attention onto the film. Not a good sign.

My advice would be: don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inn keeping with the current vogue for haunted house movies, 19 Oct 2012
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
I actually really enjoyed this film; it's true that for long swathes of time very little happens, however Sara Paxton and Pat Healy excel as a pair of amateur ghost-hunters whose relationship is decidedly off-kilter, with Healy's bookish Luke almost professing his love (or perhaps just lust) for his lissome companion.
Director Ti West does very well with very little, and there are a handful-of scalp-prickling moments that may be derided by horror-movie afficionados but certainly worked on me!
I agree that the ending is a bit pat, however it did leave me with a fair few questions, and I think the film would bear repeated viewings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No suspense or scares, 2 July 2013
This review is from: The Innkeepers [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked Ti West's directorial style on The House Of The Devil so decided to give this haunted hotel film a go and I have to say it was a disappointment. It tells the story of two hotel workers and a very limited amount of guests, including a mother and child that have no impact on the story. The film feels far too long and the two leading cast members are not likable despite over long character development. The lead cast member (Sara Paxton) acting is woeful. When these sort of films are done well they are tense and frightening with lots of suspense and scares (The Innocents, The Others, The Uninvited), but this film is plain boring with no suspense or jumpy moments, a sad let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Innkeepers [DVD]
The Innkeepers [DVD] by Ti West (DVD - 2012)
5.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews