Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars92
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£16.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 December 2015
My Grandson is a huge fan and wanted this cd to go with his collection and he rates it 5 Stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2012
Originally, I was going to write a fairly lengthy list of negative things about 'Sonik kicks'. I was going to say how too many of the songs are distinctly average by Weller's standards, how most of the album is grossly over-produced with fussy and unecessary sonic (sorry, soniK) embellishments...tape loops, backwards guitars, voice distortion, jarring echo noise and random sound effects, and how unfocussed it all feels musically with too much dabbling in different styles veering from manic high-speed stomps through reggae-on-valium to mawkish ballads.

Here's the thing, though -- I quite like this album. All of the above reservations are true to a greater or lesser extent, but d'you know what? I don't care. The songs are delivered with such conviction and enjoyment and contain so many unexpected little twists, surprise codas, clever instrumental diversions and musical tangents that it keeps your interest piqued more or less from start to finish. It's not his greatest work and the song quality is uneven and noticeably improves in the middle section of the album, but the songs are interesting, engaging and never over-stay their welcome. Weller obviously had a blast recording it and I have enjoyed the last four weeks listening to it.

At some point I would love Weller to strip it all down again, just plug in his guitar and record something straightforward and direct, but in the meantime this will do very nicely. Put aside your expectations of what Weller should and shouldn't be doing (the one star reviews bear witness to this attitude) and just enjoy it for what it is.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2012
6 or 7 plays and this reveals itself to be up there with the best stuff of the man's entire career. Amongst the experimentation are some fantastic songs with even the short instrumental pieces adding to the overall mood. For me this is as step up even from the last 2 albums, themselves hugely enjoyable. Strangely Weller's vocals sound like they did in his Jam days but in songs that are totally modern. Best listened to as a complete piece rather than isolated tracks as it makes more sense. Fantastic that he still cares enough about music to be making stuff this good after all these years.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2012
my copy of this album turned up thismorning in the post.
i've listened to it around about 10 times
& this is really growing on me more & more,
to where i just had to come back to amazon
& see what others think ...
i love Paul's experimental ways.
we have all his 90's albums,
& if you don't wanna move with the man,
well you have all the old stuff to listen to.
Personally i love all his work & am excited
when i read of a new album in the making.
What's Paul gonna do next ??
He has suprised me at times but has never,
NEVER let me down ... i love this album,
& i also don't mind the cover.
Can't wait to watch the dvd.
Thanx Paul for ALL your music.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 March 2012
Hands up, I wasn't expecting this. Followed Weller since day one and I found 22 Dreams very dreary yet still it is held up as one of his best. Liked WAKE UP THE NATION but felt a bit forced at times.
This is a hybrid of both but the best bits and more. Without a doubt one of the best of his career to date.

I read somewhere that he reads his reviews on places like this.
Well if you are reading Paul, well done mate, superb stuff.
One tip for the future , avoid dreary vocals as so many of recent albums have had, this one hasn't.
Meant in the best possible way as you are still my hero !!
Sad for a 50 year old !

Brilliant.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2012
this is the best album paul has done as a solo artist so far.My favourite tracks are:-the attic,that dangerous age,when your gardens overgrown.recomend you buy the delux edition as it also contains two bonus tracks:-starlite and devotion as well as videos for green,dragonfly,sleep of the serene,be happy children,drifters,dragonfly,paperchase.also includes interviews with paul.9/10Sonik Kicks (Deluxe Hardback Book Edition)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
Great music as usual from Paul Weller. Different style and good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2012
Never in a million years when i purchased the "in the city"LP back in 77,would i have expected its songwriter in chief, 35 years on creating such a diverse and edgy album has sonik kicks,Mr Weller i doff my hat,to the knockers would you have preferred the formulaic Phil Collins sorts,sticking to the same old same old,album after album year afer year,till enough is enough and celebrity in the jungle or big brother is the only hope of staving off oblivion,"evolution is the solution".
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2012
The vinyl edition of Sonik Kicks is immensively overpriced and should be half the price. It's a single LP in a nice-quality gatefold cover. Get the Deluxe DVD+CD instead which is actually worth the price.
Having said that, the album itself is extremely good, which isn't unexpected when looking at Paul Wellers recent solo efforts.
9/10 album
7/10 vinyl release
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
Having detested Weller since the demise of Jam, I was overwhelmed by Wake up the Nation and this is nearly as good. Not quite as up as WUTN, there are a number of different styles, including songs reminiscent of the Modfather in his earlier solo days which I didn't previously like.

A fine album and I am hoping for more in the future
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)