Customer Reviews


435 Reviews
5 star:
 (221)
4 star:
 (129)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


169 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bletchley Park de-cyphered !
This book is rivetting. I know we've all been told quite a bit about Bletchley Park since the wraps were removed, but this book makes one realise how absolutely extraordinary a place it was; and how amazingly extraordinary were the girls and boys, men and women who worked there. It is wonderfully human in its descriptions of personalities and is better than any novel I...
Published on 15 July 2010 by A. Rodriguez-Veglio

versus
74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite Interesting
I didn't read the blurb for this book before I ordered it, but went on the recommendation of a friend. Since she, like me, is interested in codes, puzzles and wordgames of all kinds, I imagined the book would give detailed information about the enigma machines and how the German codes were cracked in WW2.

But this is a social history of Bletchley Park and it...
Published on 3 Aug. 2012 by Jean Nisbet


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

169 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bletchley Park de-cyphered !, 15 July 2010
By 
A. Rodriguez-Veglio (Northamptonshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is rivetting. I know we've all been told quite a bit about Bletchley Park since the wraps were removed, but this book makes one realise how absolutely extraordinary a place it was; and how amazingly extraordinary were the girls and boys, men and women who worked there. It is wonderfully human in its descriptions of personalities and is better than any novel I have ever read set in this period and a similar background. It shows how beautifully English-amateurish and ad hoc was the setting up and gathering of suitable personnel; and how very well-chosen and suitable they all were ! Doubt it would be allowed to happen today ! And how much we owe them all can never ever be calculated. I'm so glad this has been written and published whilst so many of them are able to receive this salute to their loyalty and commitment. We owe them our un-dying gratitude....literally !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


173 of 178 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret lives decoded, 30 Jun. 2010
By 
Alex Williams (Aylesbury, Bucks) - See all my reviews
There have been a plethora of books on Bletchley Park and the crucial part it played in the downfall of Nazi Germany. This, though, is the first to put a human face to the extraordinary ordinary people who toiled tirelessly to crack the intercepted enemy codes and help turn the Second World War in the Allies' favour. Through a series of interviews with those who worked at the intelligence centre in the nondescript Buckinghamshire town, Sinclair McKay has been able to breathe new life into a well-mined story. Bound by the Official Secrets Act, many had not spoken about their war-time roles before; indeed, so assiduously did they follow the letter of the Act, relatives went to their graves thinking their offspring had somehow shirked their patriotic duties during the conflict, rather than being unsung, anonymous heroes. A book that deserves to sit alongside more scholarly offerings on the shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical Interest, 22 Oct. 2010
By 
I. H. C. Mellor "mihcm" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What has always amazed me about Bletchley Park is how it has remained so 'secret' for so long. This book goes a long way to explain why that is. The book looks at the lives of the people who worked at the Park during the war, how they came to be there and what it was really like. These are actual accounts from the people themselves. It is a very easy to read and facinating insight into a massive secret operation that probably won us the war. I actually live in Milton Keynes and I know many of the areas mentioned in the book so it is a very vivid, real-life, story for me. I would strongly encourage anyone reading this book, who has not done so already, to visit Bletchley Park, you will definitely feel a need to do so after reading this book. The huts are still there as is the house, lake etc. I found this book an amzing insight into somewhere I have visited several time, but now realise I knew so little about. The accounts of people like Alan Turing and 'Dilly' Knox are fascinating and shows the amazing foresight these people had. This is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite Interesting, 3 Aug. 2012
By 
Jean Nisbet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Life of Bletchley Park: The WWII Codebreaking Centre and the Men and Women Who Worked There (Kindle Edition)
I didn't read the blurb for this book before I ordered it, but went on the recommendation of a friend. Since she, like me, is interested in codes, puzzles and wordgames of all kinds, I imagined the book would give detailed information about the enigma machines and how the German codes were cracked in WW2.

But this is a social history of Bletchley Park and it gives most detail about the working conditions, social lives and lodgings of the many poor people who strove to crack the codes. I say poor, because it's clear their conditions were not particularly good in or outside of work. And worst of all, since they were all covered by the Official Secrets Act they were unable to tell even their immediate family and friends at the time or for 30 years after what contribution they had made to ending the war.

I found the description of Alan Turing's life and his bizarre death especially moving. Who knows what Turing might have gone on to contribute to the development of computers had he lived in a more tolerant society?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The human side to Bletchley Park, 5 Aug. 2010
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although this book does look at how codes were broken, the war changed and lives affected by what happened at Bletchley Park, this is essentially about the people who worked there. And, what a cast of characters to work with! Boffins, socialites, professors and tea girls. Everyone had a part to play and this is a very interesting book about a fascinating time. Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the human side of Bletchley, 28 Oct. 2010
By 
Stevetrumpet (Beds UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very interesting book about the people that worked at Bletchley Park in Buckinghamshire during the Second World War working on code breaking, including that of the infamous Enigma machine. This is the story of the codebreakers and other workers rather than about the codes, for which there are many other books available.
The book has some interesting photos and has been written following interviews withthose that were there working at Blecthley during the war.

There is an extensive list of references and so will give anyone wanting to know moew a good set of additinal references. If you have read or seen the film based on the book Enigma and are interested to find out more - then this is a good book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Secret Life of Bletchley Park, 25 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written and easy book to read. A real eye opener. How did they manage to keep Bletchley Park such a secret during the ward, nobody knew for example that so many people were involved in Bletchely Park during 1940 to 1945. Also reading between the lines, it helps you to understand why some strange political decisions were made during and after world war two. I enjoyed this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but Flawed, 18 Mar. 2013
This book is an interesting addition to the extensive literature about the code-breaking activities of Bletchley Park. It focuses on the lives of the code breakers rather than the technical aspects of their work. McKay has drawn on the existing literature and also interviewed a number of survivors whose testimony forms the bulk of the text. McKay is to be congratulated on his work in gathering this eyewitness material.

However, the book is deeply flawed because McKay has not paid the same attention to checking his facts with regard to the War itself. For example, he says that the Battle of Britain ended at the end of August 1940 (p 109). Does he not know that Battle of Britain Day is 15 September? On p 133 he says that U-110 had sunk the "Athenia" in the first few days of the war. In fact it was the U-30. The connection was that Lemp, the commander of U-30, had taken command of the U-110 for the cruise in which she was captured. McKay speaks of the "ferocious 1950s pride" in the Harrier jet (p 320). The prototype VTOL plane first flew in 1960 and was not ordered by the RAF as the Harrier until 1966. These are just a few of the errors and distortions that mar the book.

McKay also seems to want claim more credit for Bletchley Park than is due. BP contributed to the Battle of the Atlantic but it was won by technical innovations such as centimetric radar, high-frequency direction finding, long range aircraft and escort carriers; not to mention the courage of the sailors of the Royal and merchant navies. The Luftwaffe navigation beams (p 110f) were identified by a combination of technical examination of shot down German bombers, interrogation of prisoners and BP decrypts. The existence of the beams still had to be confirmed by detecting them using aircraft equipped with sensitive radio receivers. The German beams were jammed not bent.

Perhaps the greatest distortion occurs in McKay's account of the operations against the "Bismarck" in May 1941(p 113). He claims that "Bismarck" had been tracked after BP had broken certain codes and a "pantomime" was organised in which a RAF reconnaissance plane pretended to find the German ship. This is nonsense. The "Bismarck" was tracked by espionage, by aerial reconnaissance, by radar and by radio direction-finding. The Admiralty had concluded that "Bismarck" was heading for Brest and this was later confirmed by a BP decrypt. (This is explained in the War Diary for May 1941 on the BP website) However, the position of the ship was not known so the aerial reconnaissance carried out on May 26 was a necessary search which genuinely found the "Bismarck".

If you want to read about the life-style of the people of Bletchley Park, this is a book for you. But don't trust anything McKay says about the War itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Secret Life of Bletchley Park, 20 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This interesting book deals primarily in an anecdotal sort of way with the characters of the Bletchley staff and their social/professional interactions. It makes essential mention of the technical nature of the operation and of the huge contribution Bletchley made to the allied war effort, but should be read after or in conjunction with other books which more fully describe the technical performance of the Bletchley equipments and the brilliant academic/technical minds which went in to the design, production and operation of the decyphering equipments.

Bletchley would not have worked without those (often eccentric) brilliant minds, its state-of-art engineering, the dedicated efforts of its staff and (somewhat miraculously) the maintenance of total secrecy about the whole operation notwithstanding there having been up to 9000+ people working there.

This book provides particular insight into the two last of these factors and adds "colour" to one's appreciation of the other two when reading more widely elsewhere about the more technical aspects of the operation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Padded and inaccurate, 30 Dec. 2012
Much of this as already been said by others, but I found the book a huge disappointment. The author seems to have interviewed only a handful of people who were actually there (the rest, one presumes, being dead by now) and what he has to say about their experiences is, for the most part, dull and repetitive.

The former shortcomings are sad, but the inaccuracies are inexcusable. For example, 10 seconds on Google would have revealed that there could not possibly have been 2500 fatalities on HMS Hood; it had a crew of 1418, of whom 3 survived. And to say that Fasson and Grazier got the VC is a schoolboy-level error. Integral to their story was the fact that they could not be given the VC as the action did not take place in the face of the enemy (no German sailor was allowed to witness the retrieval of the code books).

With difficulty, I made it through to the end of this rather shoddy book. But my recommendation to others is to leave it un-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews