Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Bu**er Off", he said
These are the words Freddie Trueman said to his foreman when sacked as a bricklayer. They were also the words he said to me after queuing at his car for his autograph as a 12 year old at Edgbaston in 1963 after he had taken 7-44 to defeat the mighty West Indies.This reflects Trueman. My boyhood hero. A great fast bowler. A legend. Loved by the public. A pain to the...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by ACB (swansea)

versus
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ah'll sithee
This is an enjoyable read. While it recycles extensively from John Arlott's 70's biography, it adds a lot of new material from interviews with family and team mates.

It has a cracking start and a very moving finish. The first chapter is the reunion of Trueman, Geoff Boycott, Brian Close and Ray Illingworth shortly before Trueman's death. They are almost a...
Published on 13 Nov 2011 by Stephen Hudson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Freddy, 13 May 2013
By 
Miss J. Peacock "mr ja" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred Trueman: The Authorised Biography (Kindle Edition)
As Harold Wilson once said he was THE GREATEST YORKSHIRE MAN THAT EVER LIVED.And if he had come from any other county he would have been SIR FREDERICK TRUMAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best cricket book I've read, 7 May 2013
By 
T. Priestley "Redimp" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred Trueman: The Authorised Biography (Kindle Edition)
Well done chris from a fellow old lincolnian. A fantastic read and a book highly recommended. Truly fantastic book that was difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Six Hit!, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Yorkshire County Cricket member,I obviously have a marked bias (even though Mr Truman was somewhat scathing towards the club's members on occasions).However credit must go to the author for producing a book both fair and objective.Chris Waters has had access to footage and documentation probably not revealed before,resulting in a quite original biography.Having read other biographies on the Yorkshire legend,I wouldn't have bought this version had it not been recommended by a friend,but having enjoyed the book,thanks to the author for the immense effort put into the work.Let's have another one on D.B.Close,Chris!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred Trueman: The Authorised Biography (Kindle Edition)
fred trueman my hero much i did not know but would be more suitable for older generation todays would say who"s fred
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A super read, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought i knew it all about Fred well i was wrong.A brilliant bowler but not quiet a very nice man.The book is a great read worth every penny but be prepared to find Fred in warts and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought as a gift so don't no whether the book is any good or not but was delivered quickly and not a bad price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a good book, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred Trueman: The Authorised Biography (Kindle Edition)
This book is a very good read about my boyhood hero. Once I started it I found it difficult to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable read, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a present for my Dad - a former YCCC member while Truman was playing - and he found it to be a very good read and brought back lots of happy memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read., 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fred Trueman: The Authorised Biography (Kindle Edition)
Obviously an interesting character. A superb cricketer who, obviously, made one aware of it. Did not agree with his choice of language but he liked to portray himself as a tough Yorkshiremen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eee by gum!!, 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my husband who is a cricket fan and a yorksire man , he really enjoyed the book and has loaned it out to friends who agreed with him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews