Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tarantino exposed
This book is essential reading for Tarantino fans. I found this book suprisingly informative and loaded with interesting facts that bring an awareness to Tarantino"s intentions and make reviewing Tarantino"s films even more interesting the second time around. This book does what it's supposed to do - inform. Well done Mr Page - who"s next?
Published on 14 May 2006 by victoria froud

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Few insights and let down by poor editing
I ordered this book based on the reviews available; I was looking for an insightful study of QT's films - something that would highlight themes and references I'd missed, and that would add enjoyment to subsequent viewings. Unfortunately, I didn't find anything new in the book, despite not being a Tarantino aficionado. What I did find were summaries of all the films on...
Published on 6 Oct. 2006 by SteveG


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Few insights and let down by poor editing, 6 Oct. 2006
By 
SteveG (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
I ordered this book based on the reviews available; I was looking for an insightful study of QT's films - something that would highlight themes and references I'd missed, and that would add enjoyment to subsequent viewings. Unfortunately, I didn't find anything new in the book, despite not being a Tarantino aficionado. What I did find were summaries of all the films on offer including all key plot points (making this book unsuitable for people who haven't seen all of the films) along with obvious, often repetitive, opinions from the author. One QT trademark highlighted is that of the use of a case (of money, drugs, etc.) in each film, but rather than refer to this as "the case/bag motif" or another appropriate label, the author repeats every previous example, adding the new instance each time. The unnecessary word count from this approach must be considerable. Also, a comparison between Reservoir Dogs and The Taking of Pelham 1-2-3 (page 54) refers to the use of colour aliases, citing the examples of Mr Grey, Brown, Blue and Green, and noting that only Mr Brown - the character QT himself plays - is used in Dogs; an interesting point, except that Mr Blue was also used, and the fact that he was played by noted criminal/author Eddie Bunker only highlights the seriousness of this omission, or the discussion of his involvement in the film anywhere in the book. These omissions, coupled with the typographical errors and the cited reference sources being almost exclusively internet-based left me with an impression of an unpolished, rushed work - perhaps (and this is pure speculation on my part) a reworking of the dissertation that saw him receive the "first class degree in film and literary studies" noted on the rear cover. In my opinion, the substantial cover price printed a couple of inches lower demanded more thorough research, better quality control prior to publication, and that the author had something new to say about a most original writer/director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tarantino exposed, 14 May 2006
This book is essential reading for Tarantino fans. I found this book suprisingly informative and loaded with interesting facts that bring an awareness to Tarantino"s intentions and make reviewing Tarantino"s films even more interesting the second time around. This book does what it's supposed to do - inform. Well done Mr Page - who"s next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL QUINTESSENTIAL, 7 Dec. 2005
An incredibly interesting read, well written and totally avoids the 'long-windedness' and self-importance that a lot of these books seem to subject their readers too. Definitely one to hang onto and not trade in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read For Any Tarantino Fan, 20 Nov. 2005
By 
Mr. P. Brecken (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The book is full of interesting facts and quotes about the great Tarantino. This is a must read for any Tarantino fan, it would be a great addition to anyones Tarantino collection.
It has been well written and very factual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have!, 2 May 2006
By 
A. Sillifant (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
If you're a Tranatino fan you need this. As a complimentary part of your collection this book has to be on your shelf. I look forward to further expanded editions of Mr Page's book as Mr Tarantino's legendary film career continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - a must for Tarantino fans, 11 Feb. 2013
By 
L. Whitton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this book for my son who is an ardent Tarantino fan - he has raved about it ever since he started reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great read, 5 May 2006
this brilliantly delves into the mind of tarantino.loved the pulp facts.thoroughly enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quintessential Tarantino
£11.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews