Customer Reviews


788 Reviews
5 star:
 (444)
4 star:
 (127)
3 star:
 (74)
2 star:
 (54)
1 star:
 (89)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DEATH TO MING!
There is nothing like a foul mouthed teddy bear to make for a great movie. Personally I think Zach Galifianakis would have made a better Ted, but then again he has played the dysfunctional buddy role before. As a child John (Mark Wahlberg) wishes for and gets a talking teddy bear. Now that they are in their 30's neither one has grown out of their immaturity with Ted...
Published 16 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me- maybe for teenagers!
I couldn't get past the first 10 minutes so I really can't write a review either way. No for me, maybe for teenagers. The humor wasn't my cup of tea, I prefer witty comedy. To be honest it didn't grip me in the beginning and I found it abit dull.
Published 1 month ago by J Rose


‹ Previous | 1 279 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DEATH TO MING!, 26 Jun 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ted: Extended Edition [DVD] (DVD)
There is nothing like a foul mouthed teddy bear to make for a great movie. Personally I think Zach Galifianakis would have made a better Ted, but then again he has played the dysfunctional buddy role before. As a child John (Mark Wahlberg) wishes for and gets a talking teddy bear. Now that they are in their 30's neither one has grown out of their immaturity with Ted becoming an increasing problem.

John's girlfriend Lori (Mila Kunis) demands that either Ted leaves or she goes. The humor is what one would expect from watching "Family Guy" with a lot of adult language. It spoofs other films and is critical of many aspects of society. It is politically incorrect. Like "Family Guy" some of the bits work and some don't. If you don't find one bit funny wait a minute and a new one comes along.

Excessive f-bombs, sex, heavy drug use, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 99 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best comedy of the year, 12 Sep 2012
This review is from: Ted: Extended Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Ted is hilarious, rude and crude (possibly the word you will see in every review of this movie). The film is cast with comedy gold, with a smattering of Family Guy voice actors thrown in for good measure, and the one-liners smack you in the face right from the beginning. The hilarious narration (provided by Patrick Stewart) supplies a healthy handful of these. The mention of the Apache helicopter was still making me laugh when the film had ended.
What can sometimes be the best thing about a comedy is when it is set in a world that is actually believable - obviously with a living and breathing teddy bear involved this comment might seem slightly strange. However, everything else is plausible, and the animated bear is really well integrated into this world as a second rate "celebrity". From here, the laughs continue to flow.
Some people have described this as an hour-and-a-half long episode of Family Guy, and although the humour is broadly the same, believe it or not, there is much more substance to this movie, with sex, romance, danger, drugs and language used in ways that a twenty-minute episode of Family Guy could only dream of.
As John (Mark Wahlberg) and Lori (Mila Kunis) try to create some kind of life together, Ted's shenanigans (possibly an understatement as these shenanigans often involve parties, drugs and prostitutes) continue to come between them. To John, he is just having fun with his longtime friend. To Lori, John is being influenced more and more by these "shenanigans".
I saw one review describe Ted as "wildy unoriginal", however I'm not sure if you can get more original with a storyline that involves a walking, talking, drug-addled teddy bear. So often, comedies are hit and miss, or run out of steam towards the end. Ted, however, is not one of these and this is why it is probably one of the best and most original comedies I have ever seen. Perhaps the plot is fairly standard, but with the creator of Family Guy at the helm, things don't always go the way you expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me- maybe for teenagers!, 25 Sep 2014
This review is from: Ted (Amazon Instant Video)
I couldn't get past the first 10 minutes so I really can't write a review either way. No for me, maybe for teenagers. The humor wasn't my cup of tea, I prefer witty comedy. To be honest it didn't grip me in the beginning and I found it abit dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't meet expectation, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ted: Extended Edition [DVD] (DVD)
After hearing such great things about this film I decided to buy it..some funny bits but a lot of it crude for no reason and not funny..very basic storyline too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Based on Wilfred, 14 Sep 2014
This review is from: Ted (Amazon Instant Video)
Ripoff copycat production of brilliant original bad dog comes to life series called " Wilfred" . Ted is just a poor imitation and not funny or clever just plain dull and boring .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great easy watch film, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ted: Extended Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Great easy watch film for couples or young groups. Not to long so doesnt drag on, i would watch the film again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Truly awful - only redeeming feature was that it was ..., 29 Aug 2014
This review is from: Ted (Amazon Instant Video)
Truly awful - only redeeming feature was that it was free (although I will never get those 105 minutes of my life back!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars but it still has to be good writing and acting, 13 Sep 2014
This review is from: Ted (Amazon Instant Video)
Raunchy humour is on thing, but it still has to be good writing and acting. This movie just doesn't make it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I cannot say if this product arrived on time because ..., 29 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I cannot say if this product arrived on time because it was a Christmas present. However I can say that when I unwrapped it Christmas day morning I cannot fault it, there was no damage to the casing and there was no scratches to the Blu-ray disc itself. As this was a Christmas present I cannot say if this was cheaper then any other retailer that was/is selling this Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Flash!", 7 Aug 2014
By 
Mr. C. Gelderd "aka GelNerd" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
After watching the turgid and un-funny recent effort from director, producer, writer and actor Seth MacFarlane with ‘A Million Ways To Die In The West’, I was hoping this debut film would remind me what made him great in ‘Family Guy’ – and thankfully it did. No obscene and crass jokes (that are gratuitous anyway!), a strong story, a good cast of actors and lots of wonderful in-jokes and pop culture references make his a smooth transition from his cartoon ‘Family Guy’ template to the big screen that encapsulates the humour and warmth I expected.

Yes, MacFarlane makes Ted sound just like Peter Griffin, but that’s half-the joke and he acknowledges this during the film. In fact there are lots of moments when MacFarlane holds his hands up to show he knows this is a careful adaptation of ‘Family Guy’ humour from TV screens to the cinema. Because of this however it works very well and never strays from what we’d expect to see and hear. Plenty of border-line humour that pokes fun at everyone and anything that makes you cringe a little in wonderful awkwardness but sugar-coated with a nice emotive narrative.

Wahlberg plays a perfect straight-man alongside the CGI Ted character and they really do strike a believable duo thanks to his performance, it’s one his best I feel as an actor. Mila Kunis, another Family Guy vet, brings the warmth and gravitas to the real-life importance of relationships as girlfriend Lori. Even MacFarlane himself brings Ted to life so easily with his witty script and Griffin-esque voice.

However the greatest appearance, ousting McHale’s slimy boss and Ribisi’s creepy stalker, is ‘Flash Gordon’ star Sam J Jones as himself in one of the best cameos of recent years. Encapsulating MacFarlane’s love of cult movies and pop culture itself, here the ‘Flash Gordon’ references come thick and fast and will not fail to raise a smile as you hear the iconic music and see Flash himself snort cocaine with Ted and cry “Death to Ming!”. It’s many of these little inclusions from MacFarlane that tap into the geeky humour that makes ‘Family Guy’ so surreal, but so funny and observant.

It’s touching in places and appeals to everyone who can say they had a friend in their youth like Ted, and shows how it would be today if they continued with that friendship, showing the power of such relationships and actually striking a few emotive messages throughout this wonderfully observant and witty film. I can’t wait for the sequel if it’s as sharp and fun as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 279 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ted: Extended Edition [DVD]
Ted: Extended Edition [DVD] by Seth MacFarlane (DVD - 2012)
£8.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews