Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment.
Read an article about some recent game releases loosing money although the product was highly rated and a critical success. Sleeping dogs was one of them, so I purchased a copy and found it really was excellent entertainment. For the low PC price, it is a gift. Fast and furious with gorgeous graphics and didn't need a supercomputer to run it. This really is a fun game and...
Published 15 months ago by Stephen Hassell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Damn bugs
This game is pretty funny an the storyline is very interesting and quite good,but this game has a lot of graphic bugs,even with good computer requirements.I searched something on the Net about it,and I discovered that those troubles are very common among user who own good pc.There are a lot of official patches to solve those problems,but it's impossible to download them...
Published 13 months ago by Deb_Italy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent entertainment., 22 May 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Read an article about some recent game releases loosing money although the product was highly rated and a critical success. Sleeping dogs was one of them, so I purchased a copy and found it really was excellent entertainment. For the low PC price, it is a gift. Fast and furious with gorgeous graphics and didn't need a supercomputer to run it. This really is a fun game and the scenery is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shenmue meets GTA, 12 Mar 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (PC DVD) (Video Game)
While Sleeping Dogs lacks the excellent character and plot development of GTA IV, the ambiance and atmosphere of Square's representation of Hong Kong more than makes up for it. At its best, it takes you to an oriental place in the same way as classic open-world games such as Shenmue and Deus Ex. The graphics are sensational and the game runs very well on low-mid range systems -- by stark constrast with GTA IV. My main criticism of the game is that fundamentally it is a 'gangsta' action title. Being able to beat up women and visit hookers etc is the shtick of the GTA games. In the stunning environment the game takes place I would have preferred a stronger RPG/adventure element. But then, that would have made it a different game entirely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best PC game of the year, 17 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. W. Martin "Wil" (Nottingham; UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Beautiful game, great story, lot's of fun. Only game I've touched since SC2 other than Arkham City. Turn off AA if the combat system feels sluggish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 14 Feb 2014
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is based on being an undercover cop and infiltrating the Triads. In this type of game you would expect to have to balance the trust of either of the two sides, but this doesn't happen the story plays out and doesn't really give the option of favouring either side. There are police cases to undertake and offers of help from fellow people help improve your cop score and Face respectively.

The Face meter is used for passive abilities for Wei and also gauges what you can buy in shops, (clothes or cars).

The controls are really easy only with the zoom button being L-Shift when using a gun i found that annoying as when driving I would left click and then fly out of the car as that's the button you press to enter and leave cars. This does prove annoying when you accidentaly do it when you have time limit on your mission.

Graphics are superb and the cut-scenes portray your clothes as well which is an aspect I love. My Laptop has struggled with games but even on Low graphics quality it looked amazing and in the rain when I thought my latop (A Dell Inspiron N5110) it ran smoothly.

In the game you can compete to get the best scores against your friends (ie, cleanest driving or kill streat) this offers a nice little contest.

This game is simply a must get and there's certainly plenty to do as i've finished and only really done 50% of missions. 5/5

PS. Some bugs that require you to press / mash buttons would be best changing the button config to Left Mouse Button, as i found that worked best,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic game ! Higly recommended !, 29 Nov 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I was looking to fill the void after Splinter Cell and especially after Assassin's Creed.

I wanted another very good sandbox game and people recommended Saints Row and Sleeping DOgs. Saints Row III was not bad, but I wasn't very impressed either (sorry for the fans, just my 2 cents). Sleeping Dogs is another story. While it might not be at the same extremely high level as AC, and the map is smaller, it is a very good game ! It is not just a lame GTA-wannabe but offers very refreshing and substantial differences. It is a nice game, a good story, a very likeable main character and very much fun to play !
* EDIT * I am now playing GTA4 (I know, a bit late) and wow, I am very unimpressed with GTA4. Sleeping dogs is a million times better !! Sure, GTA4 is older, but so is the first AC and AC sure was much better. I really loved GTA San Andreas a lot, but GTA4 is worse in many apects. What a pity.

The "shooting" parts in SLeeping Dogs are limited; you have to fight your way through the Yakuza underground scene by means of kung fu. The kung fu part is very well done, very cool, and the different moves are not too difficult.

CONCLUSION : very nice game, very recommended for those who need to fill the void in between the AC's, splinter cells and Cod's or for gamers who like something different. It is a pity that not many people know this game, therefore it is unloved. That is unjust and certainly undeserved !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, except for the unexpected download, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I loved this game, it provides many pleasurable experiences. The only down I saw in this game is that the disk only install 2.8gb of 6.4 of the game, so I had to download the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 5 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (PC DVD) (Video Game)
Really good game to play its like a chineses version of GTA, the story line is entertaining and funny when they swear in mandarin, finishing the game is not hard, the choice of characters are good, plus the scenario and environment in the game is really good makes u feel like u r in china.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Damn bugs, 30 July 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This game is pretty funny an the storyline is very interesting and quite good,but this game has a lot of graphic bugs,even with good computer requirements.I searched something on the Net about it,and I discovered that those troubles are very common among user who own good pc.There are a lot of official patches to solve those problems,but it's impossible to download them because of Steam,it should update the game automatically but it doesn't,and this is the only way to download the patches,and it's not sure they work.
If you asked me if I tell somebody to buy it,well,I'd answer:"Well,try,I hope you'll be lucky".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Job, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (PC DVD) (Video Game)
I bought it, i played it, i finished it.
Great Game!!!
Dont really understand why so many many DLCs..but hey, its a great game for the money that it costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 13 April 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sleeping Dogs (PC DVD) (Video Game)
This is a seriously good game that deserves way more hype than its had. Loved it. If you liked GTA get this, you will not be dissapointed. The main missions are varied, fun and never get boring. The side missions are rewarding and add to the overall experience. The combat system is excellent and the focus on hand to hand combat only serves to distinguish this title from GTA and make it an excellent game in its own right. Buy it now, for a tenner you are getting an absolute gem. Hope they make another.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sleeping Dogs (PC DVD)
Sleeping Dogs (PC DVD) by Square Enix (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
11.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews