Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars46
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.06
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2014
Another brilliant read from Pam Howes, telling the story of 2 couples who knew each other from being young through to adulthood and the lovely story of how Rod always loved Mandy but married Jennie. I read this book in 2 sittings, just could not put it down. Brilliant Pam, wish I could give more than 5 stars.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
Well, they say the course of true love never does run smooth, and that is certainly the case for the two protagonists in this novel. The book tracks the rocky road they travel as their romance develops, and the numerous emotional barriers and unexpected events that they struggle to overcome. Just when things seem to be going in their favour, something else pops up to stop them, and the reader is with them all the way. Pam Howes writes in such a way as to draw the reader in completely, and at one point I certainly found myself having to dry my eyes!

If realistic romance is your thing, without sugary sentimentality, that you will love this! Highly recommended.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
An easy read for beside the pool on a sunbed, it is set in my era, and brings back memories, believable characters I can identify with. Great!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2012
Fast Movin' Train is a story of two people who want to be together but their timing and circumstances present one problem after another. Can Mandy and Rod go through with their commitment to each other or will their existing marriages, and all that goes with them, prevent it? Despite all the ups and downs of problems they encounter there is a strong sense of warmth through the story. It entices the reader to keep going despite any need to eat or sleep. You just have to find out if these two will be together eventually and what will happen to the others in their lives. Pam Howes weaves a compelling yarn that you just can't put down. If you want a story to hold your attention all the way through look no further.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2013
A story that keeps us turning the pages, Pam Howes storytelling keeps us entertained throughout.
This is a story between two close friends whose friendship turns into love.
Already married and with grown up children, these lovers face difficulties when their love affair is discovered.
We feel the emotions as they tackle obstacle after obstacle and we wonder will they truly be together finally?

Pam Howes's writing is flawless and clean. I enjoyed this experience.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
I have read Pam Howes' other books and enjoyed them so I wondered how this one would stack up. I needn't have worried. It is a brilliantly written book telling the tale of star-crossed lovers trapped in marriages that they have outgrown. The story feels so real and even though I need my beauty sleep these days, I was up until after midnight as I couldn't put it down. Every page has its own dynamic and the romance/tragedy will strike a chord in every reader's heart.

Pam has a flair for making her characters so real that you feel you know them and want to know more as the pace continues unabated. Her knowledge of the music industry comes to the fore in this book too, but 'what a tangled web we weave' means that you feel sorry for the two main characters as they try to work out how to be together but family matters always get in the way. This is 'real life' writing bringing out the many difficulties faced by two people who are married to the wrong partners, but you also feel sorry for the ones left behind. An eternal problem unfortunately, and I won't spoil it by saying any more. I hope anyone who is looking for a good read will download this and as it is free at the moment, there's no better time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
I don't know what more to say about Pam's books...great,fab,brill.gripping,funny,sad,sensational ....can't wait for the new one...keep em coming...late nights can't stop reading...!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2012
As usual Pam has excelled in Fast Moving Train, totally unputdownable, I read it in 2 sittings finishing it at 6am.
A real page turner with credible characters which seem so real to life. Pam descriptive writing is brilliant. A really poignant story. Absolutely loved it. Well done again Pam.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
fast moving train is a book i did not want to put down. two people married to the wrong people. book has everything,sadness,anger, lust and love, every page keeps your interest, and does to the end. i felt empathy with mandy and rod, but also there spouses. who will they choose, i wont spoil it for you. i felt for mike and jenny, but i really wanted mandy and rod to be an item. i cried in parts of the book, felt for the children too.i loved this book and sorry it came to an end. this book is brilliantly written by pam howes as is her other books. i recommend this book to young and old alike. have your hanky handy, well done pam. i have others on my kindle i will review when i have read them
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2012
When an old family friend declares his love for Mandy, she is tempted into an affair with him. Neither Mandy nor Rod is happy in their marriages though both realize how much they'll hurt their respective partners when the truth comes out.

Rod is a rock musician and the couple mostly conduct their affair when he's away on tour. We are viewing the situation from Mandy and Rod's perspective, their feelings and the difficulties they face, even with the support of their friends, but at times it's difficult not to feel great sympathy for the people they're betraying.

A face-paced story that keeps you reading in order to discover if all turns out well in the end.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse