Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars67
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2000
This new offering from BMG is one of the most extensive they have released since the Complete 50s Masters. In one single box we get all of the gospel music recorded by Elvis Presley. That means all the great masters such as How Great Thou Art, Milky White Way, He Touched Me, Bosom of Abraham, I Believe, Peace in the Valley, and all the other well known and much loved songs. But that is only one part of this box's appeal. This set also contains concert recordings, music from Elvis' TV Specials and appearances (including Peace in the Valley performed on the Ed Sullivan Show and How Great Thou Art from the 1977 Elvis in Concert Special), backstage [informal] recordings, and home recordings. Some of Elvis' best work on this set is not the finished masters but the "behind the scenes" recordings such as Show Me Thy Ways Oh Lord. Elvis' dedication to this song (and all the home recordings), although not done originally as something for the public, is astonishing. This is also true of the 1950s recordings at Sun (after Elvis was on RCA)with Jerry Lee Lewis and other Sun stars. This is a truly amazing set that all Elvis fans and gospel fans are going to love. You truly miss out if you settle for Amazing Grace (2 cd set) or any of the single gospel CDs. Those are all great - but this is the ultimate gathering of all aspects of Elvis' love and passion for gospel music.
0Comment|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2000
Elvis's gospel music has always been a favourite with his fans, and here for the first time all those Gospel classics on one set of 3 CD's. This set contains all of Elvis Grammy awards that he received, ironic that Elvis was and is still known as the King Of Rock'n'Roll, yet the 3 Grammy's were all for his Gospel recordings. How Great Thou Art - Album, He Touched Me - Album & How Great Thou Art - Live recording from Memphis in 1974. This set has all this material plus his first gospel tracks from the 50's including his rendition of "Peace In The Valley" from his last appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show in January of 1957. Also for a better look into Elvis musical roots, we are treated to a few Home Recordings, which show Elvis relaxing and singing songs that he felt happy singing. If your new to Elvis and thought he only sang things like "Hound Dog" this set will show another humble side to Elvis that few really knew, and it All comes out in these recordings every one sung from the heart.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2009
If you only buy one CD set this has to be it.
I have previously had a few Elvis Gospel CD's that I have now been able to pass on to friends and family. The reason for this is because this set has just about ever gospel song Elvis ever recorded, and he sings them with such a heartfelt passion it's almost impossible to stop playing them. If you are having a bad day and are all stressed out just play any one of these CD's and the stress will fly right out the window, they are that good.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Is there any point in saying the singing is beautiful,if you love Elvis,here you will get to listen to a different side of him,gone are the gimmicks and strange singing styles,just pure singing from his heart.
What I can really comment on is VALUE FOR MONEY,compared with "I Believe: the Gospel Masters"the only alternative (box set),"Peace in the Valley",is not only much much cheaper it also has many more tracks but on less CD's.
Also I can comment on RECORDING QUALITY,now although against Amazon guide lines one is not supposed to comment on what other reviewers say,I feel I must,THIS IS MOST IMPORTANT,THE RECORDING QUALITY IS EXCELLENT,REMASTERED IN A SIMILAR WAY TO HIS 50'/60's/70's box sets.The only exceptions are the amateur,rare,live tracks etc,some are very early,however I would not wish them to be missed out,they do show his voice development and for me are very interesting.IN CONCLUSION,IF YOU WANT ELVIS GOSPEL,YOU MUST BUY IT,CURRENTLY IT IS THE MOST COMPLETE AND BEST VALUE.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
This is a mixed recording. The first of 3 CD's is good,the second a sort of jam session with a lot of clapping and the third a mixture. Its OK but I only really like the first CD. I was dissapointed overall.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2010
What can you say about Elvis that as not been said before! this triple cd is in my mind one of the best if not the best cds Elvis ever recorded if you like Elvis and Gospel music then get this cd! you won't be disappointed just look at the title and what it say's Peace in the Valley and that's what I get with this CD.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2010
This is a must for all Elvis fans, I am so pleased with my purchase, beautiful music from from the greatest entertainer ever ,gospel music at its very best .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2000
Five stars. The first one for that "Softly and Tenderly" originally performed with Jerry Lee Lewis. Elvis' inspired voice brings joys and faith to those who listen. The second star, for "I Just Can't Make It By Myself". Making the goal clear to everybody. The third star for "How Great Thou Art" is masterpiece with "Amazing Grace". The fourth star goes for the gift of this release that brings the following equation (Christmas = Gospel). If "Seeing is Believin'", earring Elvis' heart trough the music of is soul is finding the way to overcome sadness and tears. Fifth star goes to "You Better Run" and its rhythmic for it talks about real life, our society who will find no peace on earth but "Peace in the Valley" with God children's. Serge Carmel Bourge
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2010
Elvis was a great Gospel singer. His approach was personal and never conventional. Well, this can be said of many Gospel singers...

This record contains lots of Elvis' recordings, three CDs and about 60 tracks. This makes it a very good value if you want to buy lots of songs for a really small price.

There are great songs in this record, (Joshua in Jericho, Peace in the Valley, Working in the building...) There is small drawback, however: this is a collection of diverse material. Some of the recordings are not so great, some of them are simply scraps of songs that can't be heard properly. Some are fragments of jam sessions of Elvis and his friends (the Imperials, I think) between recordings.

This, of course, can give you an insigth of Elvis' recording process, of his personal relationship to other musicians, and to his aproach to music.

If you are an Elvis connoiseur this should have a place in your disk collection, but if you simply want to hear his voice and the gospel, then you should buy some other record, more expensive but better edited.
33 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2015
I got this for my mum after she discovered some of the songs on YouTube. Mum used to listen to lots of the songs she had never heard before on you Tube until they were removed due to copyright infringement or something like that.She really enjoyed a lot of the religious music that Elvis never released . So I researched trying to find those songs and this is what I found. She mostly only listens to one of the CDs, although enjoys all of them, so it turned out to be a very good gift that I'm glad I bought.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)