Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Gospel Collection - The COMPLETE Elvis Gospel!
This new offering from BMG is one of the most extensive they have released since the Complete 50s Masters. In one single box we get all of the gospel music recorded by Elvis Presley. That means all the great masters such as How Great Thou Art, Milky White Way, He Touched Me, Bosom of Abraham, I Believe, Peace in the Valley, and all the other well known and much loved...
Published on 12 Sep 2000 by Sherrlon

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collector's material
Elvis was a great Gospel singer. His approach was personal and never conventional. Well, this can be said of many Gospel singers...

This record contains lots of Elvis' recordings, three CDs and about 60 tracks. This makes it a very good value if you want to buy lots of songs for a really small price.

There are great songs in this record, (Joshua in...
Published on 30 Nov 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Gospel Collection - The COMPLETE Elvis Gospel!, 12 Sep 2000
This new offering from BMG is one of the most extensive they have released since the Complete 50s Masters. In one single box we get all of the gospel music recorded by Elvis Presley. That means all the great masters such as How Great Thou Art, Milky White Way, He Touched Me, Bosom of Abraham, I Believe, Peace in the Valley, and all the other well known and much loved songs. But that is only one part of this box's appeal. This set also contains concert recordings, music from Elvis' TV Specials and appearances (including Peace in the Valley performed on the Ed Sullivan Show and How Great Thou Art from the 1977 Elvis in Concert Special), backstage [informal] recordings, and home recordings. Some of Elvis' best work on this set is not the finished masters but the "behind the scenes" recordings such as Show Me Thy Ways Oh Lord. Elvis' dedication to this song (and all the home recordings), although not done originally as something for the public, is astonishing. This is also true of the 1950s recordings at Sun (after Elvis was on RCA)with Jerry Lee Lewis and other Sun stars. This is a truly amazing set that all Elvis fans and gospel fans are going to love. You truly miss out if you settle for Amazing Grace (2 cd set) or any of the single gospel CDs. Those are all great - but this is the ultimate gathering of all aspects of Elvis' love and passion for gospel music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis' Gospel Legacy Pure Gold, 7 Sep 2000
Elvis's gospel music has always been a favourite with his fans, and here for the first time all those Gospel classics on one set of 3 CD's. This set contains all of Elvis Grammy awards that he received, ironic that Elvis was and is still known as the King Of Rock'n'Roll, yet the 3 Grammy's were all for his Gospel recordings. How Great Thou Art - Album, He Touched Me - Album & How Great Thou Art - Live recording from Memphis in 1974. This set has all this material plus his first gospel tracks from the 50's including his rendition of "Peace In The Valley" from his last appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show in January of 1957. Also for a better look into Elvis musical roots, we are treated to a few Home Recordings, which show Elvis relaxing and singing songs that he felt happy singing. If your new to Elvis and thought he only sang things like "Hound Dog" this set will show another humble side to Elvis that few really knew, and it All comes out in these recordings every one sung from the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Elvis at Absolutely his best, 4 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you only buy one CD set this has to be it.
I have previously had a few Elvis Gospel CD's that I have now been able to pass on to friends and family. The reason for this is because this set has just about ever gospel song Elvis ever recorded, and he sings them with such a heartfelt passion it's almost impossible to stop playing them. If you are having a bad day and are all stressed out just play any one of these CD's and the stress will fly right out the window, they are that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Presley, 9 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Nigel J. Lewis "danny boy" (withshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What can you say about Elvis that as not been said before! this triple cd is in my mind one of the best if not the best cds Elvis ever recorded if you like Elvis and Gospel music then get this cd! you won't be disappointed just look at the title and what it say's Peace in the Valley and that's what I get with this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gospel Hits of Elvis, 19 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a mixed recording. The first of 3 CD's is good,the second a sort of jam session with a lot of clapping and the third a mixture. Its OK but I only really like the first CD. I was dissapointed overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST ELVIS GOSPEL CURRENTLY AVAILABLE, 19 Feb 2011
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Is there any point in saying the singing is beautiful,if you love Elvis,here you will get to listen to a different side of him,gone are the gimmicks and strange singing styles,just pure singing from his heart.
What I can really comment on is VALUE FOR MONEY,compared with "I Believe: the Gospel Masters"the only alternative (box set),"Peace in the Valley",is not only much much cheaper it also has many more tracks but on less CD's.
Also I can comment on RECORDING QUALITY,now although against Amazon guide lines one is not supposed to comment on what other reviewers say,I feel I must,THIS IS MOST IMPORTANT,THE RECORDING QUALITY IS EXCELLENT,REMASTERED IN A SIMILAR WAY TO HIS 50'/60's/70's box sets.The only exceptions are the amateur,rare,live tracks etc,some are very early,however I would not wish them to be missed out,they do show his voice development and for me are very interesting.IN CONCLUSION,IF YOU WANT ELVIS GOSPEL,YOU MUST BUY IT,CURRENTLY IT IS THE MOST COMPLETE AND BEST VALUE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 6 April 2010
By 
Mrs. Jl Reilly "Jane Reilly" (warwickshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a must for all Elvis fans, I am so pleased with my purchase, beautiful music from from the greatest entertainer ever ,gospel music at its very best .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gospel = Christmas = Gospel, 13 Sep 2000
Five stars. The first one for that "Softly and Tenderly" originally performed with Jerry Lee Lewis. Elvis' inspired voice brings joys and faith to those who listen. The second star, for "I Just Can't Make It By Myself". Making the goal clear to everybody. The third star for "How Great Thou Art" is masterpiece with "Amazing Grace". The fourth star goes for the gift of this release that brings the following equation (Christmas = Gospel). If "Seeing is Believin'", earring Elvis' heart trough the music of is soul is finding the way to overcome sadness and tears. Fifth star goes to "You Better Run" and its rhythmic for it talks about real life, our society who will find no peace on earth but "Peace in the Valley" with God children's. Serge Carmel Bourge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Collector's material, 30 Nov 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Santander, SPAIN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Elvis was a great Gospel singer. His approach was personal and never conventional. Well, this can be said of many Gospel singers...

This record contains lots of Elvis' recordings, three CDs and about 60 tracks. This makes it a very good value if you want to buy lots of songs for a really small price.

There are great songs in this record, (Joshua in Jericho, Peace in the Valley, Working in the building...) There is small drawback, however: this is a collection of diverse material. Some of the recordings are not so great, some of them are simply scraps of songs that can't be heard properly. Some are fragments of jam sessions of Elvis and his friends (the Imperials, I think) between recordings.

This, of course, can give you an insigth of Elvis' recording process, of his personal relationship to other musicians, and to his aproach to music.

If you are an Elvis connoiseur this should have a place in your disk collection, but if you simply want to hear his voice and the gospel, then you should buy some other record, more expensive but better edited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
my dad loved this! he listens to it everyday now. a must for fans of gospel music from elvis
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews