Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreaming with the sharers
First, read the excellent The Killing Moon: Dreamblood: Book 1 - I'm not sure how easy it would be to follow this sequel otherwise. If you have read The killing Moon, all you need to know is that this is just as good. It occurs 10 years later, and while some characters from the first book re-appear, this story principally concerns the Sharers not the Gatherers.
Published on 10 July 2012 by Chris Baker

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but not as fast paced as the original
I've always loved NK's writing style since she burst onto the scene a few years ago. It's addictive, it's hard to put down and above all else it is a tale that is full of wonderful twists and turns. Add to this some solid characters, wonderful world building and of course a pace that really makes this a tale to savour.

Whilst perhaps not as fast paced or...
Published on 17 Jun 2012 by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreaming with the sharers, 10 July 2012
By 
Chris Baker "Chris B" (Witney, Oxon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadowed Sun: Dreamblood: Book 2 (Kindle Edition)
First, read the excellent The Killing Moon: Dreamblood: Book 1 - I'm not sure how easy it would be to follow this sequel otherwise. If you have read The killing Moon, all you need to know is that this is just as good. It occurs 10 years later, and while some characters from the first book re-appear, this story principally concerns the Sharers not the Gatherers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dream(blood) on!, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Steve Benner "Stonegnome" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Nora K Jemisin's fantasy novel, "The Shadowed Sun", follows hard on the heels of the author's earlier "The Killing Moon". The book provides a stunningly powerful follow-up, with the action set some ten years after the events of the earlier volume. If you have not read the earlier volume, I advise you to do so before starting this one.

While the first volume presented a fantasy world modelled heavily on an ancient Egypt of the Pharaohs, the follow-up story manages to blend in additional aspects of ancient North American Anasazi pueblo people of the Canyon de Chelly in Chinle, Arizona, who dwelt in the canyon before the Navajo, and also builds further on the fantasy dream magic elements of "The Killing Moon". The result is a delicious trans-cultural mix which is both exotic and eminently believable. If anything, the story is even more beautifully woven and constructed than the first one (although some may find the romantic element just a little too cloying for comfort; personally I thought it was well-judged and well-handled). The inventiveness of the first volume is matched in the second by many new ideas and notions and, unlike many sequels which simple rehash their predecessors, "The Shadowed Sun" presents a powerful new story as a satisfying counter and conclusion to earlier events. While political manoeuvring remains a prominent aspect to the story, gender stereotyping and women's rights (and roles) come more prominently to the fore, with a female protagonist who becomes more central to the tale than any of the characters of the earlier work. Tension builds well during the book too; indeed all aspects of the narrative are handled in an exemplary fashion, making the book a joy to read from beginning to end.

The author tells us that this brings "The Dreamblood Series" to an end, for the time being, although I for one -- and I doubt that I am alone -- hope that she will revisit Gujaareh again before too long, for there would seem to be scope aplenty for more stories here.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars so I am more than delighted to report that The Shadowed Sun is not one ..., 19 Nov 2014
Sequels to extraordinary books can be disappointing, so I am more than delighted to report that The Shadowed Sun is not one of them.

Such a brilliant a follow-up to The Killing Moon (which I loved) and with quite the best ending I've read in a very long time.

Beautiful, complex and deeply satisfying - couldn't recommend this more highly! What an absolute joy to find an author who writes such wonderful tales.

More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Shadwed Sun: Dreamblood Book 2, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadowed Sun: Dreamblood: Book 2 (Kindle Edition)
I am totally hooked on the world Jemisin has created and I love her characters. It's pure fantasy - some of the best fantasy I have ever read in terms of believability and depth. I can't wait to buy the next book from this gifted author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing, 16 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Shadowed Sun: Dreamblood: Book 2 (Kindle Edition)
I was totally absorbed by this exotic world. Amazing how elements of this book approach the deepest depravity of human kind and show the possibility to survive and recover. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great but not as fast paced as the original, 17 Jun 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I've always loved NK's writing style since she burst onto the scene a few years ago. It's addictive, it's hard to put down and above all else it is a tale that is full of wonderful twists and turns. Add to this some solid characters, wonderful world building and of course a pace that really makes this a tale to savour.

Whilst perhaps not as fast paced or inventive as the original the authors writing style is what makes this tale work its way deep into the readers mind and keeps it there. Its almost as if NK has found either a magical spell to enthral or perhaps a way to create a word drug that just keeps you hooked. All in it's a magical read and definitely an author that's firmly on my TBR list for quite a few years to come. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have not read, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have not completed book one yet - but am looking forward to reading this one. This again I do not want to write any more because I have not read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shadowed Sun: Dreamblood: Book 2
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews