Customer Reviews


4,291 Reviews
5 star:
 (3,494)
4 star:
 (555)
3 star:
 (148)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


664 of 680 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprising glimpse into the hidden world of life on London's streets
In its own way this is Orwell for the 21st century. Yes, the cat is cute, yes the story is a simple one. But it's genuinely revealing about the kind of life led by people who live at the bottom of society's net - if not underneath it. It's plainly but surprisingly well written, and very readable; and if you live in London some of the details of how such things as busking...
Published on 20 Mar. 2012 by megamurph

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cute book
This book, although simply written, is a heart warming story that I enjoyed even more since I had seen these two busking in Covent Garden. An easy read that makes you feel grateful for what you have.
Published on 7 Aug. 2012 by Bookworm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Street Cat Named Bob, 19 Mar. 2012
This is an easy but wonderful read,I couldn't put it down! You will experience so many emotions when reading this heart warming story,a brilliant example of how hope can emerge from the depths of dispair.Finding each other gave Bob and James a new purpose in life and hope for the future.I'm sure it will be a best seller!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


151 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "If I'd been a cat,I'd have been on my ninth life", 16 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A wonderful read and a very touching story! If James managed to combat the drugs, what are others "waiting" for?... The answer is in his book (strongly recommend it to the "Connections", "Camden Project", "Job+" etc charities)
Well, this is not Irwin Shaw, or Leo Tolstoy, or Allan Bennet, but James' warm and genuine style and you will love it!
Taking us through his own maze of doubts, joy, disbelief, laugh, love and hope, James proved there is no need to wait for their "ninth life", if people want to change their current one.
Well done to you, James and to Bob, your lovely cat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars street cat named bob, 17 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book deserves to be a bestseller wishing bob and james good luck for the future.Easily five stars.A really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for any library, 21 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: A Street Cat Named Bob: How one man and his cat found hope on the streets (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book it took about 2 days to read.Couldn't put it down,I heard about it on caster last year and preordered. What a uplifting read,James didn't have much but still helped Bob and what a reward a best friend and companion for life.If your looking for a good read you will love this.Good luck to Bob and James.Bob is 1 handsome fella .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great great GREAT READ VERY UPLIFTING, 7 April 2012
By 
Mr. Nicholas R. Muller (london england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
one of the best books ive read it shows that you can find hope and love and friendship from a animal [BOB THE CAT] I WOULD RECCOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ANYONE WHICH I HAVE MANY TIMES i hope james make a lot of money from this and leds them to a better life also anyone one who can conqour there addictions[ drugs] or any addiction like james has should get a thumbs up read this book buy it and its a true storey THIS SHOULD BE MADE INTO A FILM SOMEONE IN HOLLYWOOD OR LONDON DO IT. a book that made me smile laugh and cry at times very uplifting but then ive always had cats iam a cat person [ there have been many books and films about a love between a animal and its owner this is by far the best] AND ITS TRUE i just have to add this as many others have said the book doe's open your eyes into the hidden life and world of the homeless and big issue sellers and also buskers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Street Cat Named Bob, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
Penny Rimmington (Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the most inspiring book you will read all year.........how two hurt and damaged souls found each other and the incredible bond they share. It is a story of hope and redemption - how the love of a little ginger cat enabled James to overcome his demons and drug addiction and how they became inseparable. You will laugh and cry at their remarkable experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A totally endearing book that will warm the cockles of your heart., 4 Nov. 2012
By 
Sally Walker (Eastbourne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a totally endearing book that will warm the cockles of your heart. The writing is simple, (I do not mean at all to be derogatory here) and immediate. It perfectly well fits this true story.

It is probably a book that every teenager should read as part of a drugs education programme. For not only is this book about a cute, adorable cat who develops an uncommonly strong bond with a young man, James Bowen, but it is an account of that young man's life and his eventual conquering of his drugs habit. All credit to James for managing to do that. It also tells us how the Big Issue model works; it has certainly changed my attitude to Big Issue sellers.

This book goes to prove how strong the bond can be between human and animal, I would suggest quite often stronger than between human and human. Animals can have a capacity to deeply effect people's emotions and over time their lives. This book is testimony to that.

May Bob have a long life ahead of him and James a fulfilling one, with and without Bob.

This falls into my `A Good Read' category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An inspirational read, 1 April 2012
If you only buy one book this year, please make it this one. You'll go through the full gamut of emotions and come out the other side with a huge smile on your face because two warm and wonderful souls, James and Bob, found and saved each other.
I know them both and love them both, and when you read this book, you'll likely fall in love with them too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bob's his Guardian Angel, 6 April 2012
A cat in a scarf and an ex-junkie -- great stuff in fiction - but it's not fiction - its the most wonderfully uplifting and heartwarmingly true story of two lost souls finding each other and making life better for the both of them - buy this book it's unputdownable ( best word to describe it) ...... Doesn't life take funny turns sometimes ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James and Bob - Total Inspiration, 16 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the most superb book I have read. It was uplifting, inspirational and gives hope to all that read it. I have bought several copies as presents, the most important being the one I gave to my beautiful friend, Sue, who was dying and had dedicated the last ten years of her life to rescuing stray cats (whilst also supporting many other rescue shelters for all kinds of our four legged friends). It was the last book she read, in fact her husband had to read it to her because she was so weak. But she loved every minute of it shedding many happy tears. I am just so glad she knew about James and Bob before she left us so prematurely.

Thank you James for every word you have written. It has given so many people happiness and opened our eyes to those that have fallen through our social net through no fault of their own. There but for the Grace of God is the saying I believe......

You are both gems - you really really are! Bless you both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews