Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out of the arena
*Minor Spoilers*

Vengeance picks up where Blood and sand left off, Spartacus continues his quest to recruit more slaves to his cause as Glaber returns to crush the building rebellion. Season 2 gets off to a bit of a shaky start picking up the ending of Blood and Sand two years later with a new lead actor and no defined antagonist.

Liam Mcintyre takes...
Published on 1 April 2012 by SF- A story is as real as you ...

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no subtitles
I am ordering from amazon for years, bought tons of dvd's, blu-ray's..this is the first time I feel cheated cause there are no english subtitles (not amazon fault), I was really shocked, from now I will be more careful before ordering beacuse really I didn't bother to check, subtitles on blu-ray is commonplace! And they want 30 pounds for this what a shame! Seriosuly...
Published 23 months ago by malfin


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Out of the arena, 1 April 2012
This review is from: Spartacus - Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
*Minor Spoilers*

Vengeance picks up where Blood and sand left off, Spartacus continues his quest to recruit more slaves to his cause as Glaber returns to crush the building rebellion. Season 2 gets off to a bit of a shaky start picking up the ending of Blood and Sand two years later with a new lead actor and no defined antagonist.

Liam Mcintyre takes up the title role after the tragic death of actor Andy Whitfield. Comparison is inevitable with big shoes to fill, thankfully Mcintyre continues to get better and better as the season progresses, the first few episodes a trial by fire in which he seems somewhat uncomfortable but by the middle of season he seems to find his footing and by the end he is Spartacus.

I had my doubts that season 2's villain of the piece Glaber, played by Craig Parker, would be able to hold his own after John Hannah's utterly brilliant rendition of Ludus owner Batiatus, and while the first few episodes set him and his ambitions up he continually develops to be more ruthless and cunning becoming a worthy rival for Spartacus.

Indeed the first four episodes of season 2 are a little directionless with Spartacus running around getting into fights and freeing slaves however episode 5 lights the match on this season, Liam's performance has become more assured, Glaber shows his true colours, a truly explosive action sequence and the return of Gannicus. From then on the seasons steps up and becomes a relentless ride to the finish.

It's still nice to see a step back from the action at times for some quieter moments as Gannicus tries to heal his broken friendship with Oenomaus; Crixus tries to help a damaged Naevia reassert herself as well as the developing relationship between Spartacus and Mira. There is of course still the political intrigue and manoeuvring back at the Ludus as Lucretia, Ashur and Ilithya dance around one another with there various schemes.

The theme of vengeance is obviously a very prominent one this season, more importantly the price of that vengeance, as Ilithya is delivered to Spartacus he weighs the price of taking her life, an eye for an eye or becoming the man he despises? In between the bouts of violence it's good to see some solid storytelling there.

I know some fans tune in for the action and sex scenes more than anything, which are still there in spades, as graphic as you remember them, they should be more than appeased by the body count.

And the final episode, provides an action spectacle like no other, also a shocking number of character deaths as well which will leave fans taken aback at the seriously culled cast, it's certainly up there with the viscerally thrilling season 1 finale 'Kill them all' and wraps up a lot of stories that have been hanging around since day 1.

So after a little shaky start, which is to be excepted, vengeance and it's lead find their footing to deliver a solid second season that fans will enjoy and as the credits roll leave them waiting breathlessly for season 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High expectations, but 'Vengeance' delivers, 28 April 2012
By 
A. Hinsley (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spartacus - Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
After the brilliance of Blood and Sand, this series had an awful lot to aspire towards.

That was only exacerbated by Gods of the Arena, which is arguably even better than the original series. We were treated to the rise of Batiatus of Crixus, introduced to Gannicus and witnessed more blood and sex than ever before.

The sad news that Andy Whitfield was fighting a losing battle with cancer meant the role was passed on to Liam McIntyre. Big boots to fill - the role of Spartacus suited Andy to the core, and he brought a sophisticated mixture of fierceness, wit and muscle to the character.

At first I was sceptical about McIntyre. In comparison to Whitfield, who is fairly softly-spoken and kind-faced (which creates a great juxtaposition between the man and the warrior), McIntyre's facial expression is often one of seething rage; teeth gritted and brow furrowed. He is also quite noticeably less 'built' then his predecessor. The acting was a little wooden at first, as if he was completely overawed by the magnitude of the role and the calibre of actors surrounding him.

Yet he soon grew into the role. To say he has done justice to Whitfield's Spartacus would be an apt commendation, yet it would also be harsh on McIntyre. To put it bluntly; he comes good by the end of the series. You are made to feel Spartacus' pain, and eventually you find yourself emitting a sigh of relief as he finds his own peace. The moment of deliverance in the season finale is outstanding; easily the best scene from any of the three seasons. Recall season one, where Glaber noticed that the Thracian had 'learnt his place' before him, on his knees? The roles are reversed here as Spartacus enjoys the moment. A man who has for so long felt the emotional scars of his wife's abduction and then murder enacts his revenge, and you feel as if you yourself have scored a victory over those bastard Romans.

McIntyre, as I have said, comes good - but let's not overlook the contributions of others. Manu Bennett is once again brilliant as Crixus. The cold-eyed, harshly-spoken Gaul of Blood and Sand retains the same grit and aggression we would come to expect, yet with the rescue of Nevia he develops a softer side, and the audience becomes to accept him not just as a gladiator, but as a human being. Dustin Clare's inclusion was an excellent move by the producers; Gannicus became a fan favourite, and his relationship with Oenameus (played excellently by Peter Mensah) is a central part of the later episodes in regards to Gannicus' sexual relationship with Mileta, Oenameus' wife from Gods of the Arena.

This sub-plot brings an additional meaning to the concept of 'Vengeance' - yet it is forgiveness that is ultimately employed on this occasion. Again, do not think it is just Spartacus' ongoing feud with Praetor Glaber that is referred to by the show's title. Nick E. Tarabay returns as the scheming Syrian Ashur, and the wrongdoings he did upon Crixus and Naevia in the first season plays a significant role as he assumes a position as Glaber's right-hand.

Lucy Lawless also returns as Lucretia; a superb decision by the producers. Though we thought her dead alongside her husband, Batiatus, Lucretia is revealed to have survived the gladiator rebellion in the Batiatus household. Though her position as a prophetess becomes a little tedious at points, Lawless is flawless (pardon the pun) in the role, and she too has her own score to settle with Glaber and his wife Ilithiya.

Though one assumes this series is solely about Spartacus, the magnificent acting ensemble surrounding McIntyre makes for splendid viewing. We are introduced to new characters - and new gladiators! - and older characters given only a bit-part role in the original series (such as the stunningly-beautiful Katrina Law, who plays Mira, as well as Aggron, who has a romantic relationship with another new character, Nicea) are able to come to the fore. What the producers have done is keep the show fresh at the same time as focusing on the same central characters: Spartacus, Glaber, Lucretia, Crixus, Neavia and Ashur, and their roles in 'Vengeance'.

Starz had a difficult job to do in living up to Gods of the Arena and Blood and Sand, but they delivered with 'Vengeance'.

My only regret is that I have to wait another five months for the physical release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars no subtitles, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am ordering from amazon for years, bought tons of dvd's, blu-ray's..this is the first time I feel cheated cause there are no english subtitles (not amazon fault), I was really shocked, from now I will be more careful before ordering beacuse really I didn't bother to check, subtitles on blu-ray is commonplace! And they want 30 pounds for this what a shame! Seriosuly dissapointed..(I am not so good in english but with subtitles I understand everything, without it like half..so it's mandatory for me to have 'em included)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spartacus is back with a Vengeance!, 7 May 2012
First of all, I'm not very good at writing reviews, so I'll just give my opinion of the show!

When Andy Whitfield was diagnosed with non-Hodgkin lymphoma in 2010 Starz decided to create a prequel to Spartacus: Blood and Sand. That prequel being Spartacus: Gods of the Arena. This was to give Andy Whitfield time to recover, at first Andy's treatment was successful and Starz started to plan for the new series. Unfortunately Andy Whitfield suffered a recurrence of the disease and had to pull out of the role as Spartacus. Andy Whitfield tragically passed away on the 11th September 2011, at the age of 39.

At this point Starz weren't sure if the series was to continue. Text from Wikipedia:

Steven S DeKnight (series creator) added that the Spartacus producers and Starz executives weren't always sure they would go forward without Andy Whitfield, who they said had brought "gravity and heart" to the role of the famous warrior. "It's unheard of to recast your titular character in a television show, and we did a lot of soul searching about whether we even wanted to try", DeKnight said. "And then Andy [Whitfield] said, 'I really think the show should go forward without me. I give you the blessing. I want this story told.'"

Liam McIntyre was later cast as Spartacus.

When I heard that Starz were going to continue the series I was of course delighted, but at the same time had that worry of "will it be the same without Andy Whitfield?". Ever since Liam McIntyre was cast as Spartacus I always felt he deserved the chance to make the role his own.

In all honesty it did take a couple of episodes to warm up to Liam, but that was to be expected after following such a great actor. Liam has made the Spartacus role his own and has done a fantastic job so far, I didn't think the show would be the same but it's just as good as Blood and Sand. If you haven't watched this series yet give Liam a chance, if you stick with the show I honestly believe you'll enjoy it!

Spartacus: Vengeance is only a 10 episode series, but there's more than enough to keep you satisfied. As with Blood and Sand, there's plenty of action, nudity, plot twists, betrayal and of course vengeance! Each episode had me on the edge of my seat in shock and excitement, wanting more... but had to wait one week between each episode! Luckily you won't have to wait if you buy the DVD/Blu-Ray.

So overall the series continues to impress, even with some cast changes the show is just as epic. The writing and directing are again fantastic and the story is still pulling you in. If you enjoyed Blood and Sand and Gods of the Arena, you'll definitely enjoy this!

RIP Andy Whitfield.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartacus - Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is the third in the series and is first class. It is somewhat graphic at times and very much only for adults but a good story-line and plenty of action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood and Guts, 11 Feb 2013
By 
RJAY (NOTTINGHAM) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartacus - Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a christmas present for her indoors, we had watched the previous spartacus dvds and found them very entertaining. This one was just as good, hope there is another series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great, however..., 24 Nov 2012
By 
Zoltán Szávai (Budapest Hungary) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
without English subtitles this set is not what I expect for. I had to order the R/1 version from amazon.us which includes the subtitle. Really annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Regarding the UK Blu-ray release:, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Caveat emptor. Unlike the US Region A release, the UK Blu-ray release has NO subtitles at all (English SDH or otherwise). Big fail!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 13 Feb 2013
This review is from: Spartacus - Vengeance [DVD] (DVD)
Andy was a lot to live up to but after the third episode Liam shows he is worthy of taking on the role (though you do expect to see Andy appear every now and again). Overall I thought vengeance was excellent, though not for the faint hearted. Full of intrigue it sets up the story for the final clash that we'll see in war of the damned. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST SEASON SO FAR - CRAIG PARKER STEALS THE SHOW, 23 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Though the original Spartacus actor Andy Whitfield is missed (R.I.P) in season 2, he was replaced with Liam McIntyre, by no means a bad actor, but the hard task of following in Whitfield's footsteps he does not accomplish one hundred percent.

Better luck with replacing the main villain John Hannah (Batiatus) as Glaber assumes that role, brilliantly played by Craig Parker, delivering the best performance in the entire show.

Another great aspect of season 2: it sees the return of Dustin Clare (Gannicus)and Lucy Lawless, as well as several other characters of Season 1.

Season 2 consists of only 10 episodes, but episode 1 sets in motion a manhunt that is far superior to anything Hollywood has ever created, in regards to story and acting alike.

The violent scenes of carnage were also increased, making horror movies such as Saw and Hostel seem like harmless movies for teens. Not all effects succeed in looking great, but the majority of them look awesome.

Several unsuspected plot twists and three dimensional characters (most notably Nick Tarabay's Ashur) make the intrigues realistic and never just set in place simply for dramatic purposes.

Definitely a must-see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spartacus - Vengeance [DVD]
Spartacus - Vengeance [DVD] by Rick Jacobson (DVD - 2012)
£11.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews