Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than your other Hollywood tripe
Having read Bel Ami by Guy de Maupassant, I looked forward to seeing Georges Duroy brought to life on the big screen. I wasn't disappointed. This isn't your usual "same old, same old" Hollywood tripe, this is a classy period drama with lots of twists and turns and yes it is erotic too. The cast are fabulous, Christina Ricci excels in the role of Clotilde, Georges long...
Published on 26 April 2012 by Lynne Edmunds

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better
In Paris, 1890, a penniless young man (Robert Pattinson) is befriended by three married women and quickly becomes the stud muffin du jour. He acquires money and power but learns being a boy toy can be complicated.

Based on a story by Guy de Maupassant, this rags-to-riches tale has lavish sets and costumes and beautiful photography. The three female leads...
Published 22 months ago by Kona


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been better, 20 Oct 2012
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bel Ami (DVD) (DVD)
In Paris, 1890, a penniless young man (Robert Pattinson) is befriended by three married women and quickly becomes the stud muffin du jour. He acquires money and power but learns being a boy toy can be complicated.

Based on a story by Guy de Maupassant, this rags-to-riches tale has lavish sets and costumes and beautiful photography. The three female leads (Kristin Scott Thomas, Christina Ricci, Uma Thurmon) are outstanding. The same cannot be said for Pattinson, however; his character is neither handsome nor appealing and so the story falls flat. Also, his dialogue, which deals with emotionally-charged subjects like love and hate and loyalty and betrayal, is stoically-delivered with an unflinching poker-face. He doesn't have the charisma required to make his role believable.

If you are a fan of Robert Pattinson, you'll enjoy the movie. My take: 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, awful acting, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Laura Hartley (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Bel Ami (DVD) (DVD)
The first time I watched it, I thought it was an excellent film, albeit with some moments with dodgy acting and raunchy sex scenes. After a while; however, I began to think that it really wasn't a very good film at all and that I had simply been caught up in the moment. Now, after watching it for the second time, I'm back to thinking that it's not that bad a film at all.

Bel Ami is an adaption of the novel of the same title by Guy de Maupassant. I can't say whether the film sticks to the original story or not, but with most films that answer is usually no. Bel Ami follows the story of George Duroy and his rise to power in Paris by manipulating the wives of the most influential men in the city.

At first I thought that Robert Pattinson was doing an excellent job and his acting was great, however, it soon became a source of much hilarity. Pattinson really does the 'tortured' face well and he basically had that look plastered on his face for this entire movie. In fact, it was pretty much identical to the face he pulls whenever Edward Cullen can smell human blood. Suffice to say, Robert Pattinson will never be anything more than the sparkly vampire from those teen movies. The other actors, however, were superb. The three main women were portrayed by Uma Thurman, Kristin Scott Thomas and Christina Ricci and they all had very different characters that were pulled off equally well. Had these three women not done such a brilliant job I think I would've just rolled around laughing for the majority of the film. Each of these women has an incredibly compelling character, each affected by some sort of demon. Appearances were very important in nineteenth century France so these actresses were essentially playing two women.

I was quite disappointed that the director didn't make more a point that this story is set in Paris as I could've easily mistaken it for London. There are no distinctively French features, in my opinion, which is a great shame because this is seen to be one of the greatest pieces of French literature. I think that the 'French'ness of the story was definitely lost, but it was interesting nevertheless. I was inspired by this film to research more into the novel of this film and other works by French writers in the nineteenth century as it seemed to be a thoroughly intriguing period of history. This film has an excellent soundtrack and the music really adds to the atmosphere of the story. The same piece of music is used throughout to create an ominous and tense feeling, but it works very well.

All in all, I suppose I would recomend this film because it's a really good story; however, if you're watching it on the merit of Robert Pattinson's acting then you will sorely disappointed. Watch this film for the women, not for the men, as ultimately they are they most powerful women in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than your other Hollywood tripe, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bel Ami (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
Having read Bel Ami by Guy de Maupassant, I looked forward to seeing Georges Duroy brought to life on the big screen. I wasn't disappointed. This isn't your usual "same old, same old" Hollywood tripe, this is a classy period drama with lots of twists and turns and yes it is erotic too. The cast are fabulous, Christina Ricci excels in the role of Clotilde, Georges long term mistress and really the only one he actually has genuine love for. Kristen Scott Thomas manages to pull off the role of Virginie, a pious 50 something married high society woman who falls hook, line and sinker for a younger man, Georges. Robert Pattinson gives an impressive performance away from his Twilight persona, showing he has some real acting chops, he is captivating onscreen. Georges is not an easy character to play, he's shallow, empty and heartless and will stop at nothing to get what he wants and he doesn't care who he hurts along the way and Pattinson does a great job of portraying his callousness yet gives the character a certain amount of warmth, enough to have you understand why this man is the way he is. A highly enjoyable film from directors Declan Donnellan & Nick Ormerod. The costumes and sets are pretty special given the low budget for the film. Definitely worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top notch adaptation of the book, 27 July 2012
This review is from: Bel Ami (DVD) (DVD)
I came to this film seeing that it had a terrible rating on rottentomatoes and some mixed reviews generally . I have to also confess to hating Twilight.

But, but. I have read the book a number of years ago and thoroughly recommend it. It is a story of nasty people using other people to get what they want. If you don't think this is relevant to your own life then open your eyes and look around you. Or look in the mirror. The author, Guy de Maupassant, by all accounts does not seem to have been a terribly nice fellow himself and I believe (I'll need to check later) died of syphilis. The importance of the novel is the questions that it poses, essentially all the big ones: is there another life or is this it? What would you do to advance your own position in life? How do you treat people depending on your perception of their use to you? How much energy do you spend in exacting petty revenge for wrongs done to you? Do you fear death? These are big questions, and they are questions wrapped up within the story of a vain, self-pitying, ruthless, talentless 19th century Parisian toyboy and his manipulation of women and, their manipulation of him. Read the book. In particular, the description of the death of Charles Forrestier is one of the most terrifying descriptions of dying and death I have ever read.

So, the important thing is, given that the filmakers have set themselves the task of interpreting the book, does it succeed?

Emphatically , yes. I was very impressed by Robert Pattinson (and I hate Twilight) who succeeds brilliantly in conveying the emptiness, inadequacy and rage of the central character, who loathes himself, and the women he seduces, in equal measure. Think "what does it profit a man to gain the world and lose his own soul", and you've got the general point. The supporting cast were all equally impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WATCH IT!!!, 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bel Ami (DVD) (DVD)
Make sure you see this movie!! I wasn't sure about it at first and I will admit I was watching it for Robert Pattinson but when I saw this movie I was totally drawn in to the story. It's so different because there's not really any good people in the story but Clotilde but I loved watching the story unfold.

Not usually what I'd go for but loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars stellar cast fail to inspire, 22 Sep 2012
By 
W. Martin "Mummy Martin" (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bel Ami (DVD) (DVD)
So, so disappointed. Such a star line up of actors and actresses, but still a very superficial film. Essentially about a man who sleeps his way mercilessly to power and riches. Apparently there was more to it than this... something to do with politics and Morocco... but this was barely noticeable in-between the unemotional, repetitive sex scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Parisian Swingers, 19 Aug 2012
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bel Ami (DVD) (DVD)
I didn't like "Bel Ami" despite the excellent supporting cast for Robert Pattinson (an actor who I don't like). I found the film to be too disjointed and I found it hard to decipher what exactly was going on at times ,who certain characters were and what role they played in the plot (what little there was) of the film. "Bel Ami" is set in 1890's Paris and Pattinson plays a poor ex soldier who manages to ingratiate himself into the higher echelons of Parisian society and becomes a favourite of a number of attractive wealthy women,most of whom he beds in illicit trysts against a backdrop of a likely French invasion of Morocco . I didn't like most of the characters apart from Christina Ricci's and the film was particularly unmoving and uninvolving.One to avoid I think unless you happen to be a keen fan of Robert Pattinson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A curate's egg. Good performances are let down by a weak script and inexperienced film directors., 12 Aug 2014
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bel Ami (Blu-ray) (Blu-ray)
A stellar cast, production crew, composer and camera person do what they can but are subverted by an inadequate script and two theatre directors with no experience of film making. Pattinson is a revalation in the lead role and performs with considerable nuance in his portrayal of the eponymous central character. But overall the narrative is rushed and there is far too little character development in the totally mismanaged script. Such a shame! Still it has much to recommend it and is far from the disaster critics have painted it. The blu ray transfer has solid audio and video although strangely it defaults to Dolby 5.1 rather than the included DTS soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, if nothing else, 12 April 2012
By 
G. D. Busby "Cornish Graham" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bel Ami (DVD) (DVD)
A good cast and fairly good settings start this film off on the right tracks. However, the storyline is a little weak...returning French cavalry officer down on his luck, gets a helping hand...abuses his position...and so on. Kick myself for not having read the Maupassant story first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bel Ami (DVD) (DVD)
who wouldnt love rob pattinson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bel Ami (DVD)
Bel Ami (DVD) by Robert Pattinson (DVD - 2012)
5.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews