Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but not great....definitely not rubbish
in comparison to steve austins other films i would rank this amongst the best of them! not sure why other reviewers are being so harsh with 1 star! good action fight scenes, austin is kicking ass like you expect, hardly any cheesy dialogue. in short its austin out for revenge against the people who killed his family.

not as good as the condemned, better than...
Published on 17 April 2012 by Mrs. Sandra Newton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stone Cold doing what he does best
An ok B-level action movie. Everything about this film is just ok. They had Stone Cold looking mean and always ready to kick someone’s @$$ but that is about it. The plot is pretty simple almost punisher style. Austin’s family is a cop whose family is killed; the killers assumed that they killed him as well. There mistake is they did not check so no fuelled by...
Published 5 months ago by K. G. A. Alavi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but not great....definitely not rubbish, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Recoil [DVD] (DVD)
in comparison to steve austins other films i would rank this amongst the best of them! not sure why other reviewers are being so harsh with 1 star! good action fight scenes, austin is kicking ass like you expect, hardly any cheesy dialogue. in short its austin out for revenge against the people who killed his family.

not as good as the condemned, better than hunt to kill and damage in my opinion....very enjoyable just to switch your mind off too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Im still recoiling from the 1 star review .WORTH 5 IN MY BOOK., 5 April 2012
By 
Barry (Stoke-on-Trent. Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Recoil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am coming to the rescue of this film ,ignore the 1 star rating ,as I have seen
this (U.S IMPORT (Blu-ray) ,I really enjoyed this film ,the action is perfect for this type of film ,and I dont have a problem with 'Steve Austin's or Danny Trejo's
ability to entertain as this is the film style they do best .Danny (The Mex) Trejo
is great in this (Check him out in Machete) ,and I dont understand why some reviewers always have it in for 'Steve Austin' he may be a wrestler but he can act
and pull off a great action film (Check him out in Tactical Force).
Buy it when its available in the U.K on April 16th ,and Yes! I am a Fan of both these guys ,and have a need to set the balance right in the ratings ,5+++++ for this film,BUY ,or Danny and Steve will be after you!!!
Kind regards Barry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stone Cold doing what he does best, 11 Mar 2014
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Recoil (DVD)
An ok B-level action movie. Everything about this film is just ok. They had Stone Cold looking mean and always ready to kick someone’s @$$ but that is about it. The plot is pretty simple almost punisher style. Austin’s family is a cop whose family is killed; the killers assumed that they killed him as well. There mistake is they did not check so no fuelled by vengeance he leaves the force to punish the killers. Tracking them to a town called Hope he sees a town in the grip of a biker gang. Never one for subtlety or to shy from a fight he introduces himself. Not many big explosions but quite a few fights, the 15 age rating was probably more for the bad language they any violence in the film.

In the first 5 minutes you see Austin take a head butt without flinching, which looks cool but he keeps the same expression and attitude during all the fight scenes, the most expression out of his is a grunt when he gets stabbed. After a half an hour of this it gets repetitive and boring. The Biggest waste in the movie was Keith Jardine's part. Stone Cold is a big guy Keith is just as big and with more actual (mix)martial arts skills to bring to the table, and the one fight they cut out of the movie is the one between these two, everyone else in the film including Danny Trejo is half the size of Steve Austin so yes you can see him throwing these guys around like rag dolls, then you have someone who is perfect for the final fight but you put Trejo in when they can't even be shown in the same frame together because of the size difference.

This is an ok action film to watch but don't expect anything great surprising or different from it. It is Steve Austin playing a Stone Cold vigilante.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU'RE NOT LIKE A PSYCHO OR SOMETHING?, 7 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Recoil [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens with some slow metal music, and is perhaps a grindhouse "light." Ryan Varrett (Steve Austin) "sneaks" around in a Dodge GTX muscle machine, cruising Washington State (Seagal's territory). He plays a vigilante ex-cop who goes after the bad guys who killed his family and any other bad guys who know them. (Don't try this at home.) The film mixes dry humor with stone cold action. The first kill is a man hunting rabbits with an automatic weapon. He misses a bunny at about 10 yards. Austin crushes his neck and tosses him off a cliff. The cops describe the body as "abstract art." Austin has flashbacks to the killing (happens before movie starts) and the police are searching for the bunny killer. These provide a very minor subplot.

A waitress remarks, "Canada, not much up that way but Canada." I am laughing at the dialouge and I haven't figured out if the comedy is intentional. Austin ends up in Hope, Washington. "Hope" is a common name for symbolism or irony...normally from writers who couldn't come up with something better, or if they did, wouldn't think their audience could grasp it. Serinda Swan plays Darcy the local motel owner. She is a widow who smokes, drinks JD, and knows muscle machines.

Austin makes friends with the local bike club known as "The Circle" when he beats up a member who threatened to shoot a puppy (I love this stuff). Danny Trejo, in one of his "rare" bad guy appearances, plays the Drayke, the gang leader. Noel Gugliemi as Rex did a great job as a gang member. The gang has hobbies such as cage matches with electrified fences, drug manufacturing, and town terrorizing. It is the typical movie gang, one that runs guns but fights with tools. Stone Cold has other hobbies.

I enjoyed this action film. It had the right amount of action, humor (intentional and unintentional), and plot filler. It doesn't bother to give us any character build up as they all fit stereotypes. No plot twists, and if you seen enough of these, you can write the ending before the opening credits. As a fan of Austin, Trejo, vigilante films, and grindhouse it is worth a view. In the realistic scheme of things, this is not a five star movie, but I enjoyed it as much as one.

F-bomb, woman violence, CG explosions, Obama picture in police station, no sex, no nudity (Hey! It's Canadian.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not great but....., 1 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recoil [DVD] (DVD)
This film is ok is every sense of the word. The story is ok but totally predictable, the fight scenes are ok and fairly graphic, the acting is ok but never going to win any oscars, definitely the high point for me is a snarling, badass Danny Trejo who is often typecast in these kind of roles but that's because he plays them well and certainly has a 'don't mess with me' kind of face. Not the sort of film I'd want to watch all the time, but it passed 90 mindless minutes which was just what I wanted at the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..COOL MOVIE..", 21 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Recoil [DVD] (DVD)
Steve Austin fans wont be disappointed!! Once again he pulls off another top straight to DVD and Bluray action movie, the story is your typical revenge theme ex cop takes on town of biker thugs and criminals all done in a cool style with plenty of fighting and action. Danny Trejo plays a cool villain as usual and he and Austin have some macho scenes together, if you like classic good old fashioned simple revenge action then check it out. No features though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth getting, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recoil [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Awesome film there's good action throughout story ticks over nicely Austin and Trejo are both brilliant in it in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recoil [DVD] (DVD)
two mean mother..... what a movie really had my attention and would like to see more of these type movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Steve Austin action movie, 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recoil [DVD] (DVD)
Steve Austin is out for revenge in this decent DTV action movie. It's better than The Stranger (which was rubbish), Hunt to Kill and Tactical Force but not as good as The Condemned and Damage. Production values are OK for a DTV movie, which nowadays are usually shot on HD video (and an increasing number of Hollywood productions too). There is a reasonable amount of action and therefore this is recommended for DTV action fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good action film, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Recoil [DVD] (DVD)
Worth a watch good action sequences and story line with a bit of a twist. Saw some of it on tv abroad and had to buy it to finish it off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Recoil [Blu-ray]
Recoil [Blu-ray] by Terry Miles (Blu-ray - 2012)
6.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews