Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Budget Camera
Very easy to use budget camera, which I've had for 3 weeks now. I was a little concerned that its low light performance may be poor, but used at a party where there was very low lighting and the autofocus assist worked really well and produced much better pictures than my other digital camera which cost nearly three times as much. Recommended.
Published 16 months ago by Ledge

versus
77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good starter camera with a few flaws
--------------
Photos:
--------------

Unfortunately this camera is very slow at starting up. I also found it suffers with a painfully slow shutter speed, meaning there is a significant delay in capturing the shot. Although this isn't a problem for still or landscape type shots, it is a fairly significant problem in sports / action shots. The slow...
Published 16 months ago by Jrien


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Budget Camera, 15 Dec 2012
Very easy to use budget camera, which I've had for 3 weeks now. I was a little concerned that its low light performance may be poor, but used at a party where there was very low lighting and the autofocus assist worked really well and produced much better pictures than my other digital camera which cost nearly three times as much. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good starter camera with a few flaws, 14 Dec 2012
--------------
Photos:
--------------

Unfortunately this camera is very slow at starting up. I also found it suffers with a painfully slow shutter speed, meaning there is a significant delay in capturing the shot. Although this isn't a problem for still or landscape type shots, it is a fairly significant problem in sports / action shots. The slow shutter speed is also more evident when you are taking pictures shot to shot.

In portrait mode the camera demonstrates good skin pigmentation and very little red eye. Shots with red eye, are very easy to correct with the software that comes with the camera, which is particularly good since you don't need to use any other imaging software to get the job done.

It has an ISO range of 80-1600. One thing I noticed was that you cannot manually set the ISO speed. At the lowest ISO of 80, the photos produced are flawless. However as you move up to ISO 200 you will begin to see some noise in your photos. At ISO 1600 the images are very noisy.

If you enlarge part of an image you have taken and zoom in to 100%, you will see a purple'ish tinge where the lens has not properly aligned each wavelength of light - however, its not so much noticeable to the naked eye, unless you were considering using this camera for producing large prints, it wouldn't be a problem.

The camera has a minimum focusing distance of 10cm. At this range it does an excellent job of capturing a fine level of detail on shots with a lot of tonal variation.

In bad weather, where the colours are sometimes murkier, the pictures produced show some colour interference, showing colours which were not present in real life - this is however only noticeable on close inspection. So unless you were particularly looking for it, you would probably not notice it.

----------
Video:
-----------

Using 2 AA batteries will allow you to record about 10 of mins video, with a maximum resolution of 1280 x 720. It's a nice addition to the camera to record video in 720p HD. However the video recording is somewhat choppy.

One serious problem this camera has when recording video, is that the optical zoom locks, meaning you only have access to a 4x digital zoom.

----------
Overall
----------

The camera has a fairly decent sized 3 inch LCD screen, the menu system is very easy to understand and navigate through, and despite the cheap plasticy case, for the 49 price tag, it's a good enough camera for a simple point and shoot.

It's not however a camera you'd want to use with the intention of producing large prints, but for uploading to the web or for producing smaller prints like 6x4" or 7x5", it does a good job of capturing plenty of bold vibrant colours, with crisp, clean, sharp images at low ISO speeds. If you can live with the slow shutter speed, it is perfect for anyone looking at buying a starter camera, or who isn't too bothered by the tech. specifications. Although the video recording could do with some major improvements.

So overall, I'm rating this camera 3/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a good basic camera, but takes AA size batteries, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon COOLPIX L26 Compact Digital Camera - Black (16.1MP, 5x Optical Zoom) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
I tried to find something cheap and decent. This is what I came up with.
My requirements were : Good brand, good MP rating, some vibration compensating technology and of course a low price.

What I didn't realise (as I didn't read in enough detail) was that it takes two AA-size batteries. This means one needs to factor in the cost of rechargeable batteries and the rechargeable battery charger (unless you already have one). This also adds to the amount of supporting gear that needs to be packed in your bag when going on a trip.

For the price I think it is an okay buy, but if I had to choose again I would put in another 10 to 20 and get a slightly better model with a built-in battery and a slim charger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great wee camera, 2 Dec 2012
By 
C Fyfe "me" (perth scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i love this camera so easy to use and brilliant quality pictures the software that i had supplied with mine took me about 5 minutes to work out how to edit red eye but its the best i have ever used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic product for this price range, 6 Jan 2013
By 
O. Oyetunde "Sentient" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon COOLPIX L26 Compact Digital Camera - Black (16.1MP, 5x Optical Zoom) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
I am completely happy with this product, although it will be nice if it was hinted clearly that a memory card was not included then I could have purchased that separately. Apart, from that this camera is brilliant and very easy to use for any novice. A brilliant buy at the price. Very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Camera Excellent Price, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just returned from a Christmas trip to Italy and took my new camera Coolpix L26. Hadn't had time to read its instructions and didn't have to charge the camera, just put in a couple of small batteries. Focussing has always been a problem in the past, yet with this camera it doesn't matter - no blurring! Good size viewer, so I could just click away! And all under 50! (My last camera cost three times as much and very fiddly.) I do need to read how to adjust for night-time photos but that apart it was really good to be able to use a camera as an 'add on' to my trip, whilst thinking about something else at the same time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE IT - Coolpix camera, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the look of it, the slimness, the colour, the whole package. It's the best compact camera I have ever had and that's saying something considering I am 75 years young!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars camera, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon COOLPIX L26 Compact Digital Camera - Black (16.1MP, 5x Optical Zoom) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
Bought theses for the kids at christmas. they love them. Only downside is they take AA batteries which seem to run out quickly. however, we are switching to rechargeable. The cameras are easy for the kids and more importantly the parents to understand. Great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my daughter loves this camera, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She's great at taking photos and it takes better photo's than our camera that we paid much more for so we're very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small and compact, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikon COOLPIX L26 Compact Digital Camera - Black (16.1MP, 5x Optical Zoom) 3 inch LCD (Electronics)
Perfect for a night out small and compact. Excellent camera and zoom in facility to capture all details. recommendation to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7e49744)

This product

Only search this product's reviews