Customer Reviews


469 Reviews
5 star:
 (366)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


220 of 233 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Problems accessing the Original 1994 Version on Special Edit
In my option this is the Best Film that Disney have made, the DVD quality has just made the film more enjoyable to watch. The extras on Disc 1 & 2 make this a must have for any Disney Buff or any one with young children.
I did had problems accessing the Original 1994 Version on Special Edition DVD, the “play” icon on the main menu just seemed to play the...
Published on 4 Nov 2003

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For those buying the DVD version
This review is of the product, not of the film, which is worth five stars.

I assumed that this Lion King Diamond Edition DVD would be like the Beauty and The Beast one- a 2-disc set full of great extras detailing the making of the film. However there is only one special feature on this DVD- a retrospective with the director. Hardly a Diamond Edition! This is...
Published on 28 Jan 2012 by Miss Scarlett


‹ Previous | 139 40 4147 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lion King DVD, 3 Nov 2003
I am a huge lion king fan even since i first saw it, and this dvd does not dissapoint. Although the new song does not sound like the original simba, it can be forgiven by the quality of the rest of the dvd, and the special features
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug 2014
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Huge Fun But NOT Disneys Best Film!, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Lion King is a great film, visually very nice and with some catchy songs.
Its great to see it get a much needed re-release on DVD and it was great to see it recently on the big screen.
Having watched the film again, I enjoyed it very much but this is in no way Disneys best film.
The opening is fantastic, the presentation of Simba at Pride Rock is visually stunning, emotional and one of the greatest scenes in cinema history.
But after this, very little happens for a while and the scenery,characters and script is pretty laid back for a big screen adventure.
I could imagine some children getting a wee bit bored by this.
The film does pick up though and becomes quite funny and the introduction of Timon and Pumbaa is well timed after an emotional punch that leaves the vibe of the film on a huge downer.
The characters in this film are likeable but not as memorable as I thought.
Scar is a fantastic villian and seeing it again I realised how dark a character he really is, wanting both Mufasa and Simba dead. I thought this was very dark for a Disney film, but I liked that.
I was surprised by just how much I hated the Hyenas this time round, they annoyed me any time they were on screen.
Rafiki is a likeable character, Rowan Atkinson as Zazu is hilarious and James Earl Jones is a powerful presence as Mufasa. Matthew Broderick is OK as adult Simba but he's an actor I've never been too fond of as I do wish another actor give his voice to the role!
I sound like I'm picking on the film,
and I know PLENTY of people will disagree with my review,
but it really is overall a very enjoyable feel-good and fun film,
definitely Disneys best in recent times, but next to the likes of Snow White, Dumbo, The Jungle Book or Pinocchio, it just doesn't compare to these in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic film, wait for reviews after re-release, 25 July 2011
By 
T. Salmon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The item you are viewing is the oct 2011 re-release of the lion king on 3d bluray, 2d bluray and Digital copy (for PC, Ipod etc), therefore you can discount any comments or reviews for previous versions of the lion king on DVD.

There are a lot of fake copies of the DVD release around, but you can be safe in the knowlege that when it is re-released, amazon will be stocking genuine copies of the DVD and blu-ray versions of the film.

I personally think the lion king is a great film, and the oct 2011 release will definately be even better!

for now, dont pay attention to outdated gripes with independant dealers NOT amazon themselves.
i also would advise getting a copy sooner rather than later...
when i was buying my copy of the old DVD release, it was a minefield to get a genuine copy, also, the price increased as they became hard to come by.

in short, great film, check the date on any reviews for the product!

I will update this review later with details on the release itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!!!!!!!!!, 25 Jan 2008
You would be a fool not to buy this. It is enjoyed by people of all ages, not just children. The songs are magical and the story is great. I would recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simba's back!, 6 Dec 2003
By 
Lucy Dobson (Sutton, Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is wonderful, the special features are great, although I don't much like the new added song! The whole family love to sing along to the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 139 40 4147 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lion King [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
19.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews