Customer Reviews


557 Reviews
5 star:
 (439)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


232 of 246 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Problems accessing the Original 1994 Version on Special Edit
In my option this is the Best Film that Disney have made, the DVD quality has just made the film more enjoyable to watch. The extras on Disc 1 & 2 make this a must have for any Disney Buff or any one with young children.
I did had problems accessing the Original 1994 Version on Special Edition DVD, the “play” icon on the main menu just seemed to play the...
Published on 4 Nov 2003

versus
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For those buying the DVD version
This review is of the product, not of the film, which is worth five stars.

I assumed that this Lion King Diamond Edition DVD would be like the Beauty and The Beast one- a 2-disc set full of great extras detailing the making of the film. However there is only one special feature on this DVD- a retrospective with the director. Hardly a Diamond Edition! This is...
Published on 28 Jan 2012 by Miss Scarlett


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For those buying the DVD version, 28 Jan 2012
This review is of the product, not of the film, which is worth five stars.

I assumed that this Lion King Diamond Edition DVD would be like the Beauty and The Beast one- a 2-disc set full of great extras detailing the making of the film. However there is only one special feature on this DVD- a retrospective with the director. Hardly a Diamond Edition! This is just a basic release- Disney are just counting on the fact that Lion King hasn't been available on DVD for almost ten years, so people will pay high prices for something which is just the film.

Luckily I had discovered this before I bought the product. If you want a special edition of Lion King, track down the 2003 2-Disc Version. There's extra material to please adult and child enthusiasts alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


232 of 246 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Problems accessing the Original 1994 Version on Special Edit, 4 Nov 2003
By A Customer
In my option this is the Best Film that Disney have made, the DVD quality has just made the film more enjoyable to watch. The extras on Disc 1 & 2 make this a must have for any Disney Buff or any one with young children.
I did had problems accessing the Original 1994 Version on Special Edition DVD, the “play” icon on the main menu just seemed to play the New Version of the Lion King.
I called Buena Vista Home Entertainment, they informed me that you need to do the following;
Wait for the main film menu to appear, then go to set-up Icon, in set-up go to the Languages Icon and lastly in Language menu you will find Original Version, (just under Hebrew).
Thank you for reading my review and I hope it helps anyone who thinking about buying this DVD or anyone who had the same problem as me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be careful of some of these reviews, 11 Nov 2011
By 
John A. Stedman (Rye UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Lion King Double Play (BluRay +DVD) released in November 2011 is a 5 star product. No doubt in my mind. Picture and Sound quality are superb and the film is a true classic that speaks for itself. However reading through some of the reviews shown here, it appears that they have been mixed up and do not always relate to this package - some relate to Region 1 US read along issues for example. Choose your review with care!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding!, 25 April 2006
By 
Mr. B. Ambrose (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Disney are known for creating amazing tales but this one, along with the animation the powerful voices for the characters, and the amazing music makes this a truly breathtaking Disney classic!

I saw this film when it came out in the cinema, and I have watched it so many times since then as I think it should be regarded as one of the best animated films out there.

I was lucky enough to get hold of this version of the DVD and I would totally recommend adding it to your list today! One of the best Disney films out there.

I grew up watching Disney films, and have seen most of the classis, but this for me is the ultimate classic. Its got laughs its tear jerking moments and above all it's a film that has proved the test of time and deserves its classic status. So buy it while you can because you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good enough to make you hyperventilate, 30 Nov 2003
By 
L. O. Adcock (Leicester, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Lion King has got to be Disney's best movie of all time. If sales figures are correct, and you already own three copies of The Lion King on VHS, then there's no real point describing the plot of the film, beyond the fact that its wonderful art, award-winning songs, and loveable characters are good enough to make you sob into your Lion King hankerchief. In a good way. And you'll have been licking your lips in frantic anticipation of the Special Edition DVD. And believe me, it's been well worth the wait.
And the Gift Set is no less wonderful. For a start, it contains the Special Edition DVD, with its 2 disks with beautiful disk art, the special features of games, interveiws with the animators and such, the film itself in all its improved glory, and in general, three wonderful hours of bonus material.
After you've enjoyed the film, you can then enjoy up to eight original drawings of the characters to keep in your cupboard in an airtight box so that you don't wear them out by looking at them too much, and most wonderfully of all, the DVD companion Hardback, 'The Journey'. This describes the making of TLK, the making of the TLK Special Edition DVD, and has some lovely pictures in it as well. These are found only in the Gift Set.
All of this is wrapped in a special box with beautiful art.
It takes a lot for me to give any film FIVE stars, but here is TLK in all its greatness.
A small warning - despite being a very limited edition of the Special Edition, the DVD contained within the Gift Set does not contain any more special features than it does when purchased on its own. The extra money is paid for the book, pictures and box. The Gift Set is for adult collectors, not children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent with one disappointment!, 17 Oct 2003
By 
Benson (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is an excellent DVD from Disney. The only dissapointment is the new sequence 'The Morning Report' as it is extremely obvious it is a different singer singing for Young Simba, and this kind of spoils the new sequence. You shouldn't let this put you off though because it is still interesting to see, and the original version of the film is on the DVD anyway.
The lion king never looked better on DVD. The images are crystal clear with the colour more obvious than ever before.
Theres a whole disk of extras as well as many extras on the disk with the film including a new version of 'Circle of Life' (sang by random stars from the Disney Channel), a 'Which character are you most like?' quiz and many featurettes about the making of the film.
If you liked Disney's previous 'Platinum Edition' offers you'll love this, and if you are a huge fan of the lion king, it is definitely for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lion king 3d, 12 Dec 2011
this film was as good as believed amazing in 3d delivery was exactly as specified and came in secure packaging. kids loved the 3d experience will definatley purchace more 3d films from this retailer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film - disappointing DVD, 18 July 2007
By 
Lone Wolf (Essex, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'The Lion King' tells the story of Simba, a lion cub growing up on the African savannah. His father, Mufasa, is the wise king of the Pridelands, and teaches Simba about 'the circle of life' and the responsibilities he will have as the future king. However, Mufasa's covetous brother Scar is plotting to usurp the throne, and with the help of some hyenas, he engineers Mufasa's death. The hyenas chase Simba from the Pridelands, and he is left to grow up in exile with only Timon, a fast-talking meerkat, and Pumbaa, a slow-witted warthog, for company. But one day he must return and reclaim his kingdom ...

By turns heart-warming, tear-jerking and hilarious, 'The Lion King' is, in my opinion, the greatest Disney film of all time. The animation is wonderful for the most part, the songs are catchy, and the story is engaging for children and adults alike, though young children may find some scenes, such as Mufasa's death, upsetting.

I would have given the film by itself five stars, but was forced to knock a star off for the complete mess that was made of this special edition. Firstly, though it contains both the original theatrical release and a new version with an added song, the original theatrical version is hidden away in the Languages menu (even then it is not exactly the original, since the crocodiles in the song 'I Just Can't Wait To Be King' have been inexplicably changed). There is no information given on how to find it, and it is the new version, featuring the extra song 'The Morning Report', that plays by default. Since this song was added several years after the others were recorded, a new voice artist for the character of Simba had to be used, and the difference is glaringly obvious. Not only is the song awful, it completely disrupts a touching and amusing scene - I cannot imagine what the Disney executives were thinking when they decided to tamper with a near-perfect film in this manner.

Secondly, the 'factual' section of extras, which claims to give information about the various animals featured in the film, is rife with inaccuracy. During the segment on hyenas, for example, half the time the animals on screen are not hyenas but African wild dogs! (The narrator also states that there are two species of hyena, when there are actually three). Similarly, when the aardvark is mentioned in the segment on warthogs, a picture of a tamandua is shown. In the segment on meerkats we are told that they belong to 'the weasel or mongoose family' - they do belong to the mongoose family (Herpestidae), but this is a completely separate family from the weasel family (Mustelidae). I can see little point in adding a section that claims to be informative and educational if no effort is made to ensure the accuracy of the facts it contains.

The rest of the extras, however, are more satisfying. There are games and sing-along options that children will find entertaining, and much information on the background of the film, including how the film-makers came up with the story, early character designs, the origins of the music, and how the film was adapted for the stage.

In conclusion, a wonderful film - it's just a shame Disney didn't put a bit more thought and research into the special edition DVD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who doesn't love The Lion King?, 11 Aug 2007
Ok, who honestly doesn't love the lion king? Im 14 and ive never stopped loving it since i was 2!

You never grow out of it, its such a classic! From the mischevious simba to the hilarious timon and pumba this movie is for all the family!

No matter how many times i watch it (and ive watched it alot of times!) i always cry when mufasa dies, always laugh at timon's jokes and sing-along with all the songs! I really just never get sick of it!

Its such a classic, a must have for anyone who loves disney and even if you dont you'll still love it! Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but the DVD needs work, 19 Dec 2006
The Lion King is Disney's crowning achievement. It's the tale of the young lion cub prince Simba who must fight to find his place in the 'circle of life.' The animation is flawless, the storyline is uplifting and strong, and all the characters are memorable. The songs are brilliant, the best being 'Be Prepared,' a delightful treat sung by our favourite villain Scar. We also have a nice strong female character named Nala, who doesn't rely on Simba to save her (she's actually much stronger than he is). She will fight for what she believes in, and everyone will admire her. (maybe even more than Simba...)
It's more than just a mere 'kids film,' it's a work of art that can be appreciated by young and old. The Lion King was given the title as Greatest Animated Film, but lost it to Finding Nemo, and although Finding Nemo is entertaining, The Lion King is way better. It's not hard to see why this became a classic.
If I had one gripe with The Lion King, it would be that I hated the way hyenas are portrayed as 'slobbering mangy stupid poachers.' In reality, hyenas are actually much smarter than lions and are very beneficial to the African savannah by keeping prey populations healthy and clearing up rotting waste. It seems that nowadays nearly everyone hates hyenas and believes the stereotype that Disney portrays. But then again, one can't question a Disney movie for realism - after all, we're talking about singing meerkats and warthogs here.

Now, I'd have to agree with the previous reviewer in that the DVD needs more attention. Disney's claim that the DVD has the film 'exactly how it was in 1994' is a complete lie. There's two versions to the movie, the remastered version with the new song 'Morning Report' and the so-called 'original' version.
The 'original' version is exactly the same as the remastered version, except without the new song. In some scenes bits has been completely re-animated. In some places, it looks spectacular, (like the waterfalls in 'Can you Feel the Love Tonight') whilst it looks terrible in others (the crocodiles in 'I Just Can't Wait to be King). What's the point in reanimating the crocs? They looked fine in the original, now they look ugly. Also, the night scene when Simba stirs up some dust has also been reanimated, getting rid of the letters 'SFX' that appear in the sky.

Aside from all the re-edits, I also am rather ashamed about the animal facts section. It's incredibly inaccurate - animals belonging the wrong families and the wrong number of species. There's the problem with the hyenas that has already been mentioned - half the time you see African Wild Dogs. Whilst wild dogs are sometimes referred to Hyena Dogs, one must note that hyenas are not dogs but are more closely related to cats.

The games are one of the few good things you'll find on the disc. I actually had fun trying out 'Timon's Grab-a-Grub' and 'Pumbaa's Sound Sensations.' According to the 'Personality Profile,' game, I'm most like Rafiki! Many DVD games are low tech and boring, but these ones are definately worth checking out for the young and the young at heart. (like me!) There's also the amusing Virtual Safari that's also worth seeing.

There are several other good extras, but they are very difficult to find. In fact, the entire DVD is very hard to navigate. You'll find the option of watching the 'original' (not) version of The Lion King under the Languages menu. What the? Why on earth did Disney put it there? What wacko designed this layout?

So, this DVD will appeal to Lion King fans, but for anyone who wants to see the film how it was originally will very disappointed. I guess this Special Edition is alright on its own terms, but compared to the Special Edition of, let's say, Bambi, it's there that it ultimately fails.
Unless you really can stand those hideous crocodiles, if you want to see the film how it was originally, I'd try and get a rare widescreen videotape (they do exist) off eBay or something, and then convert it to a blank DVD with the right software. But if you really can't be bothered, then just pick this up now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lion King [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
£22.55
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews