Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and engaging, 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Eric Brown and Dennis Bancroft were intimately involved in the M.52 programme, so it's no surprise that it's a thorough account of the programme and a decent analysis of its cancellation. The surprise was how good a writer Brown is. This is one of the best-written aviation books I've read in years. Brown has struck an excellent balance between giving lots of information and writing an engaging tale.

There are lots of photos (b&w only though), and a couple of drawings including a reproduction of an original Miles general arrangement drawing/3-view. The appendices contain some of the important documents in the project's demise, plus a detailed timeline of the project.

I think this qualifies as the definitive book on the M.52, and I can recommend it without reservation to anyone wanting to know more about the M.52, the state of supersonic research in Britain 1936-1950, the W.2/700 engine and the demise of Power Jets Ltd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant History of Perfidy, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb account of how we betrayed one of Britain's greatest aircraft designers, the late great F.G. Miles, and handed the Americans his design to give them the our opportunity of being the first breaking the sound barrier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Miles M.52, 27 Dec 2012
By 
D. C. Paintin "David" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always be interested in the Miles M.52 project and why it was cancelled so far down the line without any reason given as to why! This book goes into the details thoroughly from start tyo finish and highlights how close and in advance of other nations to breaking the sound barrier. The M.52 and it's engine were breaking new grounds in aviation and would have been a world beating design with it's design features being incorporated into other aircraft design, both military and civilian, ie the Bell X1, which I'm convinced would not have succeeded without the M.52s design features being handed over to the US, with nothing in return, simply because the US had nothing to offer of any use!

The book also highlights how inept British politicians are when it comes to British aviation and waste so much time and tax payers money on projects that show promise and then cancel them because of knee jerk reactions. They still as inept today a sthey have ever been. This book is a very interesting and thought provoking read, which will raise a lot of emotions in those who follow British aviation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What should have been., 1 Jan 2013
By 
P. Loveday - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is one that any person who is interested in the history of British aviation should read. The reasons for the loss of the lead this country had in supersonic flight clearly come across. It also becomes obvious that the powers that be never learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating read, 9 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really found this book a fascinating read. The M52 is known as one of the great "lost chances" of British aviation, but why was it cancelled? The book advances a hypothesis, which seems very plausible, but which is so sad, so much lost for such a reason. Most of the book provides an "insiders" view of the project to build the M52, by arguably the greatest test pilot ever (Eric Brown), and is (again) fascinating. I'd recommend this to anyone with an interest in aviation history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain's supesonic project cancellation mystery, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Accounts of those involved in an attempt to understand why Britain's sound-barrier breaking project, which was many years ahead of any other nation's, was so abruptly halted, only for a closely similar aircraft to take the laurels in the U.S. 18 months later. One of M52's design engineers has spent a lifetime trying to find an answer. Particularly interesting to me because of a local connection to the Miles family businesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great little read, 1 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I simply could not put down this well researched little book.
It was a great read and warrants another read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any plane enthusiast, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. P. A. Roberts (Wakefield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles M.52: Gateway to Supersonic Flight (Kindle Edition)
An eye opening account of how the British aircraft industry was let down by the Government of the day, and how our lead to the sound barrier was given away to the Americans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Miles M52 An Opportunity missed., 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is all the better for having been partly written by a person who was very closely involved in the project.Perhaps it is a little frustrating that the mystery of why we abandoned it when we were so close has still not been solved, but there is much material for consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great value from this supplier. Fascinating read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Miles M.52: Gateway to Supersonic Flight
11.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews