Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars murders and witches in Northern England
Refreshingly enjoyable book with interesting background information about the Lancashire Witches. The characters were well rounded and hopefully Stone and Johnson will have more cases to solve in the near future.
Published on 29 Feb 2012 by piglet77

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read.
Fanciful and not well written with many grammatical errors (words omitted, etc) but, that said, still a good page turner.
Published 15 months ago by kevin crocker


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars murders and witches in Northern England, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Demdike Legacy (Kindle Edition)
Refreshingly enjoyable book with interesting background information about the Lancashire Witches. The characters were well rounded and hopefully Stone and Johnson will have more cases to solve in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A dark Lancashire mystery, 11 Feb 2012
By 
Eccy "Eccy" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demdike Legacy (Kindle Edition)
This is a cracking read. A dark web of mystery and intrigue. Set in rural North West England, this is a story with a real history and the 17th Century Pendle Witch Trials are skillfully intertwined into a modern story every bit as compelling as The Killing, Borgen or any other Scandinavian thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Demdike Legacy (Kindle Edition)
I was told about this book by a friend and can't recommend it enough a thoroughly enjoyable book and a riveting read from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 22 Jun 2014
By 
P Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demdike Legacy (Kindle Edition)
Gripping from beginning to the end, many thanks!
Fab read, brilliant character's a highly recommended book! Will be reading more of Barry's books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Midsomer Murders meets the Pendle Witches, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demdike Legacy (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed the book although I thought it could have had a more positive view of Christianity in spite of the storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars easy and slightly odd reading, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demdike Legacy (Kindle Edition)
this is nothing like i expected but it was very enjoyable.
loosely based on true facts and very out of the ordinary it made a nice change from the usual stuff i read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Demdike Legacy., 15 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Demdike Legacy (Kindle Edition)
I very much enjoyed this book. Extremely well written with a wealth of good research on the true witches of Pendle. I really liked the idea of them living to fight another day. I found the writing style to be very down to earth and the characters were truly brought to life. This story is told with due respect to the people who's lives were lost,. I will certainly read more by Mr Durham.

I am editing at this time to let everyone know that the Manchester case mentioned in this book is out now. It is obviously by Barry Durham and is called Familiar Territory. If you liked this book, you really should read the second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the demdike's, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demdike Legacy (Kindle Edition)
what a read gripping right to the last page, being a lancashier lad, it was good to find out about the past and the present,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyable, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demdike Legacy (Kindle Edition)
good read enjoyed it very much because its easy to read and for that fact would like to recommend this book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pendle Witches, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Demdike Legacy (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book, it is so well written and seems so believable. I remember the stories from childhood. We used to pass the hill years ago and my Mum told me about the Pendle Witches. This is a great story about Witches that makes them ordinary people with extra powers. Read and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Demdike Legacy
The Demdike Legacy by Barry Durham
1.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews