Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAKE AN OLYMPUS TRIP WITH IRELAND'S FINEST EXPORT
The Duckworth Lewis Method did much to elevate the profile of head Pug Thomas Walsh in 2009. A top 40 UK album and appearances on national TV and Radio to promote the 'best cricket album ever' helped spur our gallant boys onto a convincing Ashes win. It was also a cracking record.
Well now it's time for Walsh to step back into the spotlight with his own band Pugwash...
Published on 22 Aug 2011 by Mr. Christopher J. Welch

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps I was expecting too much
Thomas Walsh's Duckworth Lewis collaborations with Neil Hannon are firm favourites, as much for their lavish arrangements and depth of melodic invention as for their humour and soundness on cricket.

So I was hoping for something similar here - if without the cricket - and it isn't quite there. Yes, there are melodies, but the oft-mentioned hints of ELO are more...
Published 6 months ago by will_de_beest


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAKE AN OLYMPUS TRIP WITH IRELAND'S FINEST EXPORT, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Olympus Sound (MP3 Download)
The Duckworth Lewis Method did much to elevate the profile of head Pug Thomas Walsh in 2009. A top 40 UK album and appearances on national TV and Radio to promote the 'best cricket album ever' helped spur our gallant boys onto a convincing Ashes win. It was also a cracking record.
Well now it's time for Walsh to step back into the spotlight with his own band Pugwash. Anyone with a fondness for melodic, crafted and smart pop/rock will know these Irish boys already. If your new to the Pugwash experience then The Olympus Sound is a wonderful introduction. It may even be the bands finest, and without doubt most coherent and accessible, long player to date.
Now down to a core four piece, with occasional help from Dave Gregory, Neil Hannon and Ben Folds, Pugwash have upped the ante with an album full to bursting with potential hits, delicate ballads and Beachboys quality harmonies.
There You Are, Fall Down and Here We Go Round Again are swaggering guitar pop gems (the latter featuring backing vocals from XTC head honcho Andy Partridge) overflowing with lovely musical flourishes and earworm melodies. First single Answers On A Postcard is a jaunty, cheeky Madness/Small Faces style foot tapper, Be My Friend Awhile the best song Jeff Lynne didn't write and gorgeous closer Four Days is the perhaps Walsh's greatest track yet.
It's hard to criticise The Olympus Sound - it's erudite, beautifully played (stand up and take a bow multi-instrumentalist Mr Tosh Flood) and the vocal arrangements are exceptional. Lyrically peerless (think prime Elvis Costello and Ray Davies) and bursting with clever touches - the parping Penny Lane keyboards on Here We Go Round Again, the perfectly realised string arrangement gracing To The Warmth Of You and the Steely Dan like chord changes and vocals on the stunning See You Mine. Yes there's nothing massively original about what Pugwash do but, when you find yourself grinning like an idiot as yet another mile wide chorus hoves into view, it matters not. And who but Thomas Walsh could compose a ditty based on the tone only dogs can hear - 15 Kilocycle Tone - then turn it into a great tongue in cheek Revolveresque wigout.
FAB. In all senses of the word.

*****This 2012 version of the album comes with 3 bonus tracks - Heal Me, Happy Again & Waltz With Me...all of which are excellent. The latter is a symphonic masterpiece that would have sat happily on ELO's OUT OF THE BLUE and still been a highlight*****

Get this if you like ELO, BLUR, THE KINKS, MADNESS, BEACHBOYS, XTC, CROWDED HOUSE and.......yes The BEATLES.

Download these THERE YOU ARE, FALL DOWN, BE MY FRIEND AWHILE, FOUR DAYS, SEE YOU MINE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PUGWASH, 24 April 2013
This review is from: The Olympus Sound (Audio CD)
I'm from Italy and i know and love Pugwash since the time of the first record, "Almond Tea". I think they are the best pop band in the world of last 15 years. Why are not they so popular? I think it's a matter of their image unfortunately (Thomas Walsh is not Damon Albarn for example and he's not very thin and we know how is important the image in pop music) and maybe some may consider their music too vintage.
Whatever they've done is wonderful (Duckworth Lewis Method album, too) and their last LP, "The Olympus Sound" is maybe their supreme masterpiece (but other album too).
What to say, if you like Beatles, Kinks, Beach Boys (from Pet Sounds onwards), ELO, XTC sounds and etc, well they'll be your
favourite band.
YEAH THE SAVIORS OF POP!
Long live to Thomas Walsh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pugwash Olymic Sound, 16 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. I. J. Jones (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Olympus Sound [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Without a doubt the best album of the year! I have it on CD and Vinyl and I have to say that the vinyl does indeed give a richer fatter sound. These tunes are beautifully crafted and the harmonies are exquisite. A return to true craftsmanship in music. Great production! Feelgood music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps I was expecting too much, 10 Oct 2013
By 
will_de_beest (South Oxfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Olympus Sound [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Thomas Walsh's Duckworth Lewis collaborations with Neil Hannon are firm favourites, as much for their lavish arrangements and depth of melodic invention as for their humour and soundness on cricket.

So I was hoping for something similar here - if without the cricket - and it isn't quite there. Yes, there are melodies, but the oft-mentioned hints of ELO are more reminiscent of Jeff Lynne's Harrisonesque recent efforts - with too much acoustic guitar - than the string-soaked prime-period stuff that makes the DLM albums such a delight.

Disappointing too that this LP edition doesn't qualify for Amazon's Autorip, while the cheaper CD edition does. The LP itself, though, is excellent - heavy, flat and with zero surface noise.

Not to say there aren't enjoyable songs here, but the best new entries in my collection beg to be played over and over again, and this one just doesn't have that effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A slow burn, but wonderful when you give it time, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Olympus Sound (Audio CD)
Pugwash are a band out of time. The songs could be from a long lost ELO album, or even a rediscovered Beatles reunion.

I came to this via Duckworth Lewis Method (Pugwash main man is the other half of DLM to Neil Hanlon, AKA The Divine Comedy). It does not have the instant catchiness nor the obvious wit of DLM or Divine Comedy, but the tunes, the sound and the lyrics are all excellent, if at first a little samey. What is undeniable are the great pop "hooks" in the tracks, all of which stick in the mind and niggle away until you go back to them and learn them. This catchiness and superficial lightness run somewhat counter to what are, for the most part, songs of broken and betrayed love.

Having been a little underwhelmed on first listening I found myself playing it again. And again, until now it's rising up my iTunes "most Played" list. Well worth a punt if you like good old fashioned song writing and tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb!, 31 Dec 2012
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Olympus Sound (Audio CD)
I first became aware of Thomas Walsh, the singer/songwriter of Irish band Pugwash when he released a cricket-themed album with Neil Hannon (The Divine Comedy) under the guise of The Duckworth-Lewis Method. It raised many eyebrows at the time, but it was such a fun, melodic, brilliant piece of work, it became a critically-acclaimed, much loved favourite of the year. Although there is another Duckworth-Lewis Method album in the pipeline, "The Olympus Sound" has proved to be another inventive album, packed full of beautiful melodies and harmonies inspired by some of the greatest composers of grandiose, full music such as the Electric Light Orchestra, The Beatles, The Beach Boys and, of course, The Divine Comedy. Admirers of such groups will find much to fall in love with on this album, the lovingly-crafted warmth of the whole endeavour being near-irresistible to anyone who appreciates musicians who can wear their influences on their sleeves whilst avoiding simply replicating and re-writing music they have heard before. The absolutely magnificent "Be My Friend Awhile", for example, could be a undiscovered Jeff Lynne classic, but it doesn't sound like any other songs he has written. Other highlights, in my opinion, are "To The Warmth Of You", "Fall Down", "Dear Belinda" and "Here We Go 'Round Again". However, the whole album is a sheer pleasure to listen to, with plenty of "wow" moments and, if this was to be your first Pugwash purchase, I very much doubt that it would be your last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pugwash....why are they not megafamous?, 13 Nov 2012
By 
KAREN PINCHBECK (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Olympus Sound (Audio CD)
In a nutshell: If you like any of the following - The Divine Comedy. The Duckworth Lewis Method, ELO, The Beatles, Crowded House, later XTC, or generally a well written song with lush harmonies - then you'll like this album. I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pugwash will wash over you, 31 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Olympus Sound (Audio CD)
A hot summers day, a cold evening by the fire, a leisurely drive through lustrous green fields in the countryside and many more vistas of an enjoyable day are to be spent whilst listening to the album The Olympus Sound. It is with a quiet certainty that this album is one of my top 5 favourite albums that I can enjoy again and again. Distinctly reminiscent of ELO (and I don't think that it's ever a bad thing)it yet has a style that is able to stand on it's own. This is an album you will find enjoyable and truly able to connect it with days of enjoyment.
I heard this band for the first time at the O2 Bristol when they accompanied the Bluetones on their farewell tour, the song that caught me is "Be my friend awhile" and that is what this album has become. My friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PUGWASH - On a sea of warm sounds, 7 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. R. D. Nicholls (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Olympus Sound (Audio CD)
Pugwash have made a lovely album. There are definite nods to the Beatles, ELO, Idle Race etc but the sound is their own. The song writing and production are of high order and the album deserves to be a commercial success. I hope that it gets the exposure that it deserves. If you like a bit of psyche sample 15 Kilocycle Tone, something warm & melodic try The Warmth of You, there is range and diversity to the song writing.

I first came across Pugwash on a sampler CD for the very excellent SHINDIG! magazine and glad I am that I discovered them!

Good luck boys

Roger Nicholls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More glorious melodies, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Olympus Sound (Audio CD)
More XTC and ELO influenced songs, most with gloriously hook laden choruses. Nothing really new hear, but why change a winning formulae, the sort of album that really makes you feel good. The production is not quite there, imagine being produced by Jeff Lynne, now wouldn't that be something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadf7dcf0)

This product

The Olympus Sound
The Olympus Sound by Pugwash (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews