Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars16
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2012
No doubt there is a lot of detail missing from this book - but that is not the point. This book's purpose is to give the overview of the birth of the Euro, its life so far and what sort of noises the life support machine is making at the moment. This book will no doubt quickly date as the Euro crisis lurches along, but then that is the beauty of electronic books in that they can be updated so easily.

Suffice to say this book is more than enough to get you up to speed on the crisis as well as looking at possible outcomes including the return of the Dracma - maybe.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
Julian Knight is confused between the balance of payments and government accounts, stating that governments spending less than they earn will have a current account surplus. This is simply not the case and reflects either a sloppy, amateurish approach or a jaw dropping lack of understanding of rudimentary economics.

Also, though he does present austerity as a debated issue, he seems to do so only as a question of degree - how much austerity is right for recovery, rather than whether it is right at all. He does not state that many people feel austerity is fundamentally the wrong policy, and that governments should be adopting a Keynesian approach and spending more to stimulate growth.
Whether one is pro or anti-austerity, the author of a primer book such as this has a duty to the reader to present both views (and even mention it is an ideologically charged issue, to give the reader a deeper political understanding).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
...but where afraid to ask. This book gives you the tools to convince even your closest friends that you have a handle on everything that led to the crisis in the Euro zone. At 99p you would be mad not to buy it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
Reading a few arcticles now and then from BBC news would explain about as much as this book. For 99p you can have the conclusions of those articles gathered all in one place. The whole book must be less than 6000 words. It is easy to understand and explains a fair bit, for people who are interested in the subject you already know more than this book, for those who really don't have a clue (a dummy) it is perfect.

For example it says public debt is measured as a percentage of GDP but then doesn't give the debt of any countries, not one in the whole book. I frequently heard that Greece's GDP-debt was 130-140% GDP last year during bailout negotiations on BBC news (or so I have memories of hearing that, anyway I'm in Japan atm so a little out of touch).

Anyone who sorta keeps up to date, I don't think this is worth it, but for 99p it's not a big deal, might help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2013
Being someone that has been aware of what is happening in the Eurozone, but not knowing why or what was going on, I had always wanted to "catch up" and understand. For a small price, this product gave me all the knowledge I wanted, explained easily. I now know what is going on, and people are "impressed" that I actually understand it. haha.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
I used this, to gain a little more knowledge to help with a dissertation. I found that it way very easy to follow and only took half an hour to learn. Unlike a lot of books, it didn't bore me to death with a lecture in macro-economics. Really good and was pretty funny too, definitely worth the pound I paid for it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
Really succint and enables the reader to grasp the essentials issues at the core or the Euro crisis. It can result to be rather simplistic for those who already have a certain degree of understanding and look for in-depth analysis of euro crisis dynamics and causes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
Short, concise, and most importantly, neutral. It is very short, so some readers may find it somewhat lacking, but as a very basic overview of the crisis it's definitely worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
A good place to start despite been dated, but that is what the press is for! An excellent buy for anyone who wants to learn about the Euro zone and the unwelcome effects on the UK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
Explained difficult concepts and introduces concepts like "devaluing" currency in layman's terms and why Europe is in the mess that is in. Worth the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)