Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little read
I thought the book was great. It is short, but its explanation of the euro situation was very clear and concise.

The whole history of how the euro came into being, the problems that Greece faces, and how the euro situation could affect China are covered in detail.

After finishing the book you'll have an understanding of why the euro really is in...
Published on 2 Mar. 2012 by David Walker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy writing in parts, and a tendency to approve of austerity, but overall worthwhile
Julian Knight is confused between the balance of payments and government accounts, stating that governments spending less than they earn will have a current account surplus. This is simply not the case and reflects either a sloppy, amateurish approach or a jaw dropping lack of understanding of rudimentary economics.

Also, though he does present austerity as a...
Published 13 months ago by Gionnelle


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little read, 2 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Euro Crisis For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
I thought the book was great. It is short, but its explanation of the euro situation was very clear and concise.

The whole history of how the euro came into being, the problems that Greece faces, and how the euro situation could affect China are covered in detail.

After finishing the book you'll have an understanding of why the euro really is in crisis.

If only the newspapers could cover the situation in such plain informative English.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Euro crisis in several easy parts, 13 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Euro Crisis For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
No doubt there is a lot of detail missing from this book - but that is not the point. This book's purpose is to give the overview of the birth of the Euro, its life so far and what sort of noises the life support machine is making at the moment. This book will no doubt quickly date as the Euro crisis lurches along, but then that is the beauty of electronic books in that they can be updated so easily.

Suffice to say this book is more than enough to get you up to speed on the crisis as well as looking at possible outcomes including the return of the Dracma - maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know...., 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Euro Crisis For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
...but where afraid to ask. This book gives you the tools to convince even your closest friends that you have a handle on everything that led to the crisis in the Euro zone. At 99p you would be mad not to buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sloppy writing in parts, and a tendency to approve of austerity, but overall worthwhile, 22 April 2014
By 
Gionnelle (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Euro Crisis For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
Julian Knight is confused between the balance of payments and government accounts, stating that governments spending less than they earn will have a current account surplus. This is simply not the case and reflects either a sloppy, amateurish approach or a jaw dropping lack of understanding of rudimentary economics.

Also, though he does present austerity as a debated issue, he seems to do so only as a question of degree - how much austerity is right for recovery, rather than whether it is right at all. He does not state that many people feel austerity is fundamentally the wrong policy, and that governments should be adopting a Keynesian approach and spending more to stimulate growth.
Whether one is pro or anti-austerity, the author of a primer book such as this has a duty to the reader to present both views (and even mention it is an ideologically charged issue, to give the reader a deeper political understanding).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for a light introduction, 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Euro Crisis For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
Explained difficult concepts and introduces concepts like "devaluing" currency in layman's terms and why Europe is in the mess that is in. Worth the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good overview, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Euro Crisis For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
Short, concise, and most importantly, neutral. It is very short, so some readers may find it somewhat lacking, but as a very basic overview of the crisis it's definitely worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Euro Crisis For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
I basically had no clue what the Euro Crisis was and one quick read of this book told me everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and quite humorous too!, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Euro Crisis For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
I used this, to gain a little more knowledge to help with a dissertation. I found that it way very easy to follow and only took half an hour to learn. Unlike a lot of books, it didn't bore me to death with a lecture in macro-economics. Really good and was pretty funny too, definitely worth the pound I paid for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted to know., 26 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Euro Crisis For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
Being someone that has been aware of what is happening in the Eurozone, but not knowing why or what was going on, I had always wanted to "catch up" and understand. For a small price, this product gave me all the knowledge I wanted, explained easily. I now know what is going on, and people are "impressed" that I actually understand it. haha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty simplistic, 6 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Euro Crisis For Dummies (Kindle Edition)
Reading a few arcticles now and then from BBC news would explain about as much as this book. For 99p you can have the conclusions of those articles gathered all in one place. The whole book must be less than 6000 words. It is easy to understand and explains a fair bit, for people who are interested in the subject you already know more than this book, for those who really don't have a clue (a dummy) it is perfect.

For example it says public debt is measured as a percentage of GDP but then doesn't give the debt of any countries, not one in the whole book. I frequently heard that Greece's GDP-debt was 130-140% GDP last year during bailout negotiations on BBC news (or so I have memories of hearing that, anyway I'm in Japan atm so a little out of touch).

Anyone who sorta keeps up to date, I don't think this is worth it, but for 99p it's not a big deal, might help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Euro Crisis For Dummies
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews