Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you know the history?
I think the fact that the author states at the outset that he is a historian gives answer to the manner in which the book is written. This is a factual account of a decade which has clearly been well researched, referenced and presented as a historical document charting the club in a turbulent time. Even the parts of that decade which are open to conjecture are treated...
Published on 6 April 2012 by KO

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Value Read
A Good read for a good price.Would have loved a bit more depth rather than just a review of results
Published 16 months ago by Scott


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you know the history?, 6 April 2012
This review is from: Celtic in the 1980s: The Lost Decade (Kindle Edition)
I think the fact that the author states at the outset that he is a historian gives answer to the manner in which the book is written. This is a factual account of a decade which has clearly been well researched, referenced and presented as a historical document charting the club in a turbulent time. Even the parts of that decade which are open to conjecture are treated objectively - where the popular view of the board as an obstacle to the clubs progress is given coverage through opinion raised both at the time and with hindsight, so is the less prevalent notion that McNeill made some key management errors too. An emotive account might place more emphasis on certain games and incidents but, in my opinion, the book is even handed and doesn't attempt to weave inference into the text. While it is difficult to argue with the previous reviewer as regards the proof reading, I would hope that people read the book for what it is and not what the proof reader did or didn't do. As a fan growing up in the 80s, I have my own memories of the games which Huddleston recounts and this book helped me recall the period that probably shaped my love of the club in sickness and in health. I read an article today about publishers nurturing authors and how Amazon is killing this. I think differently. I think ease of publishing means that first time authors may make their mistakes very publicly, but, just as publishers build their authors profile over time, Sean Huddleston does a more than decent job in his first book to be encouraged to offer more. For less than 2 on kindle, I'm certainly not grumbling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic in the 1980s: The Lost Decade (Kindle Edition)
Very Good
A very good insight into how the decade didn,t go so good for us Celtic fans,so frustrating for us all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Celtic lose off the park, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic in the 1980s: The Lost Decade (Kindle Edition)
An excellent very well researched account of the way Celtic were managed during the 1980's. Even before the arrival of the Souness era at Rangers, the Celtic Board come across as out of touch, somewhat quaint in outlook with a narrow vision of how to build on previous success. The clear frustrations of the Managers of the era are well drawn without going over the top. Overall a must read for all Celtic fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Celtic in the 1980s: The Lost Decade, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic in the 1980s: The Lost Decade (Kindle Edition)
Great read for all Celtic supporters, especially those who remember the 80s. How Celtic lost the way and almost went bankrupt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Value Read, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic in the 1980s: The Lost Decade (Kindle Edition)
A Good read for a good price.Would have loved a bit more depth rather than just a review of results
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Straight Jacket Look, 27 Nov 2012
By 
Debbie Dunlop (Ayrshire, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic in the 1980s: The Lost Decade (Kindle Edition)
This was the period of my life where I followed Celtic everywhere. I was looking for a more personal account and after hearing Sean Huddleston being interviewed on Celtic Underground I felt assured I would. But the book is drastically short and ends up as a fleshed out Celtic Facts & Figures of the Eighties.
In my opinion the book would have been better served with more interviews with the main players of the time. I would love to know what Paul McStay thought as Johnstone, McClair, McLeod and McInally were leaving. Or David Hay's reflections on his time. I think that would have built a stronger case for the lost decade that it certainly was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Celtic through and through, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic in the 1980s: The Lost Decade (Kindle Edition)
This book transported me back to my teens and early twenty's when players like Roy Aitken, Danny McGrain, Murdo McLeod and Davie Provan graced the hoops. It was the Thatcher years when all we had to look forward to was seeing the Bhoys on Saturday. Win, lose or draw we had some great fun, Real Madrid, Mc Garvey's header, the Centenary season and the miracle of Love Street are all chronicled with fact as well as passion. A must read for all Celts

Hail Hail
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Celtic in the 1980's: The lost Decade .... Great Read, 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic in the 1980s: The Lost Decade (Kindle Edition)
Celtic in the 1980's: The lost Decade .... Great Read. The book is a great read for any real Hoops fan. Its great to see a very important period of their history finally put out into the fore front & people get to see that the 80's was tough time for Celtic full of ups & downs. I enjoyed the read & would def recommend it. For a book of this quality to be available for less than 2 is fantastic & id strongly recommend people buy it. Its a pity that the book isn't available in hardback as id love to have a hard copy.
The book covers the 80's history of Celtic in a detailed fun way that keeps you reading & turning those pages over until you get to the next chapter. Obviously for true Celtic fans it could also be a hard read because no one likes to read the bad periods of their clubs history or the times in which they struggled but its very important that you do as a true fan to understand how your club became the great club they are today. In doing this it allows you to have an appreciation of the great club people see today. The book is a must read for any and all, even if your not a Celtic fan id advise people to read it as its still a good read & again for less than 2 you cant do better all round haha. Enjoy the book & I hope it does well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Decade, and a bit of a lost opportunity...., 4 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Celtic in the 1980s: The Lost Decade (Kindle Edition)
Into the digital age of media, physical books may become the minority, and reading/buying books in digital format is possibly (whether regrettably or not) a large part of the future. "Celtic in the 1980s: The Lost Decade" is not the first Celtic ebook but it is one of the first complete books to be actually published on Amazon.co.uk for sale in ebook format only. In that sense, this book could inspire other writers-to-be to write books on the club in their bedroom to be easily published on Amazon or Lulu.com and the like. This book is very cheap, and at just 2.05 (the official full price) you will see supporters jump over from physical to digital quite readily.

As for the book, the author, Sean Huddleston, has written on an era making a salient point which is that surprisingly there has been little written on the decade despite some great moments of success during it. In isolation, the 85-86 and 87-88 seasons have been written about extensively themselves but not really the era as a whole. This book goes towards partially rectifying this oversight.

First things first. The author really needs to get a new proof reader and/or editor. The number of spelling, grammar and punctuation errors are so numerous it's just unacceptable. It's impossible to pass without comment. It spoils the book unnecessarily and it can be quite infuriating as you attempt to get through it. Amazingly his biog on Amazon says he is a school teacher, so that's 5 of the belt on the hand for this.

Anyhow, the book goes through the seasons chronologically giving a swift run through the seasons with a summary of the team's progress. As this was a fairly competitive time in Scotland, then it should be quite interesting. The result in this book is quite mixed.

The season write ups are done almost as if you are reading a BBC videprinter on a Saturday afternoon as the scores come in. A lot more could be said of the matches which is disappointing. There were a lot of good games in those seasons even in many games in which we lost. Aberdeen, and Dundee Utd had made some great headway in Europe, and so matches against them had become as important as matches against the Huns. You'd hardly think so if you read this book.

HOWEVER, the author does manage to add in various anecdotes, references and notes at points which helps to give this book a certain weight and is a refresher for those who have forgotten much from back then. He does work at helping to convey the general condition and consensus of the club and the support in those seasons, which is much to his credit. Yet at the end it does seem to come up short on providing any definitive conclusion and give an answer to the question of why it was a Lost Decade. The reader can concote their own opinion from the brief information in the chapters, but it would have been more interesting if the author was able to elaborate more on events and issues than he does. Some points may even baffle, for example I don't see Mo Johnston now being given any 'deference' by the support as the author states at one point.

It can be churlish to quibble over the book taking in its minimal price, but as it's published and for sale then you have to show it the courtesy of an honest review no matter the price. In that sense, I'm sorry to be negative on the book. It is in part a lost opportunity but hopefully it can pass on the baton to someone else who will take some inspiration from this and can build on what has been written here on the period.

I still will look forward to the author's next works, but hope he can rectify in the next books some of the issues with this one. He had at least the originality to write on a period which most other authors seemed to have passed over.

Overall, I'm disappointed with this book. Hoped for better. There definitely is a lot to say on the period and its impact on the history of the club. This book though ends up well short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5943660)

This product

Celtic in the 1980s: The Lost Decade
1.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews