Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the days of Crystal Silence
Another demonstration of telepathic duo musicianship from the architects of the famous Zurich Concert of October 28th 1979. This time a mixture of 'standards' and jazz compositions from such masters as Tadd Dameron, Dave Brubeck and Thelonious Monk. I doubt that any more intricate, intelligent and interesting piano/vibraharp interplay has ever been captured to disk...
Published on 25 May 2012 by Kenneth J. Morris

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but not THAT good.
This is a lovely sounding album of nostalgic jazz. Corea's piano and Burton's vibraphone have never sounded in better technical or sonic form. The whole album has an attractive coherence to it and one can easily stick it on in the background and dream away the afternoon.

However, there is no denying that this music is not in any way a real challenge to listen...
Published 17 months ago by Alexander J. Dunn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to the days of Crystal Silence, 25 May 2012
By 
Kenneth J. Morris (Burton-upon Trent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot House (Audio CD)
Another demonstration of telepathic duo musicianship from the architects of the famous Zurich Concert of October 28th 1979. This time a mixture of 'standards' and jazz compositions from such masters as Tadd Dameron, Dave Brubeck and Thelonious Monk. I doubt that any more intricate, intelligent and interesting piano/vibraharp interplay has ever been captured to disk. Mesmerizing, magnificent stuff, thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good but not THAT good., 17 Feb 2013
This review is from: Hot House (Audio CD)
This is a lovely sounding album of nostalgic jazz. Corea's piano and Burton's vibraphone have never sounded in better technical or sonic form. The whole album has an attractive coherence to it and one can easily stick it on in the background and dream away the afternoon.

However, there is no denying that this music is not in any way a real challenge to listen to. It has all been heard before in some form or another many years ago in the decades of jazz's true lifetime. This is homage even if it is at the hands of the players who shaped jazz history in the 70's.

I just wish there were more truly critical album reviews on Amazon.co.uk and not the droves of five star verdicts which lead people to expect the best music in existence. 'Hot House' is good, but not THAT good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic music...it is a must for the lover of Gary & Chick, 10 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot House (MP3 Download)
I went to listen them live in London at the Barbican. Fantastic music & fantastic concert as well.
This CD is a must for all the lovers of Gary Buron and Chick Corea music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Corea/Burton = hot, hot, hot!, 9 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Hot House (Audio CD)
Hot! Hot! Hot! ... (HOT!) Not one duff track. (HOT!) Excellent tunes and masterful technique! This CD finds Corea and Burton flowing beautifully together again. It's as good as anything they've done before. (HOT!) The 2nd track, Eleanor Rigby, never did much for me, not with the Beatles or without. In fact I always skipped the song whenever it appeared on a CD. Not on this CD I don't! Brilliant arrangement by Corea! ... Buy! Buy! Buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves top rating, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot House (Audio CD)
I agree that there may be too many five star reviews on "amazon" but that may be because people can't be bothered to rate a disappointing album.

I've had this CD since its release more than a year ago and every time I play something from it I find that I am compelled to stop any other distraction and really listen to it. Although the music is accessible, it isn't "easy listening". The selection of tunes is interesting and the interplay between the two musicians is wonderful.

Well worth adding to one's collection.

Perhaps amazon should introduce a crown designation for albums that a listener thinks are truly remarkable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars scienterrific, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hot House (Audio CD)
With the familiar combination of Chick Corea and Gary Burton I was expecting some spacey fusion but it turns out to be a comparatively straight jazz album (theres a phrase) with piano and vibes respectively swinging with the best of old masters and a taster of the stuff they hope to get down with chamber orchestra and jazz quintet (see Continents) all in all very enjoyable and a good listen - more than good. I also disvcovered from the cover notes that Corea is or was a scientologist which surprises me he's so good. Probably should have guessed when I saw the cover of Vigil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot House
Hot House by Chick Corea (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews