Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling concert
This concert from 2011 features 32 songs ranging from The Cure's debut album up to the last studio album; with career highlights lighting up the night sky in between. The song quality is excellent. Bring back Boris and it would have been perfect! My only quibble is the rewording of a song to 'Killing Another'. Fantastic value double cd especially when all profits go...
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by Acton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars THE CURE BESTIVAL 2011
A great band.Great songs.A great festival performance.A good cd only spoilt by a bad sound mix(the drums sound awful)Still as so cheap worth a listen if only for the sublime outing of CATAPILLAR.
It is a good not perfect document of a great night.
Published on 8 May 2012 by rob


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling concert, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: Bestival Live 2011 (Audio CD)
This concert from 2011 features 32 songs ranging from The Cure's debut album up to the last studio album; with career highlights lighting up the night sky in between. The song quality is excellent. Bring back Boris and it would have been perfect! My only quibble is the rewording of a song to 'Killing Another'. Fantastic value double cd especially when all profits go to charity.
I would love to see a dvd/bray of this concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 7 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bestival Live 2011 (Audio CD)
This is a really excellent CD, buy it now. If you are starting out and investigating The Cure get "Standing on a beach,staring at the sea" first and then buy this. If you have any past affilitation with The Cure, this CD is a "must have". I have given it four stars because The Cure in this incarnation do lack a second guitar in the mix (Porl Thomson?)and the sound does get a bit one dimensional and lacks depth in some places. On the up side it does allow Fat Bob to demonstate his considerable, massively underrated musicianship/guitarmanship. Godlike genius -yes.
It must have been a great gig.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Triumphal, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bestival Live 2011 (Audio CD)
Having read the reviews of this album, I'd have to say that I disagree with most of them in some part. I have been listening to this endlessly over the past few days, especially disc 1. Although a big Cure fan in the early 80s, I did lose some interest when they started producing pure pop songs like Lovecats or Caterpillar, though I appreciate that these were some of their most popular tunes. This live set reflects their extensive back-catalogue, so you get the pop as well as the doom and despair.

There are a few criticisms made which seem odd to me. Firstly, the trebly drum sound is quite excellent and provides a driving rhythm to all the songs. I could listen to it all day (and I have been). It's a drum sound that I especially like, also favouring that of Simple Minds' Mel Gaynor, and the hugely crisp and trebly sound on Steel Pulse's Live at the Rastafari Centennial album. It's good to have a sound that cuts through the mix and that provides real energy.

The second point raised is that it's a pity Porl Thompson isn't playing as The Cure requires two guitars. Not so. Simon Gallup's bass acts like a lead guitar at times, playing outstanding riffs way up the neck, rather than just plonking away in the background like so many bass players. This was a style which became prevalent in the late 70s with the likes of The Stranglers or Joy Division. So there is an interplay between Gallup and Smith that makes a second guitar largely superfluous.

The third criticism levelled is that Smith is just going through the motions with his singing. I can't understand this at all. On tracks like Open or A Night Like This, it sounds as if he means every word. Rarely has the lyrics of despair been voiced so eloquently.

This set has a unique sound, in some respects thanks to Smith's extensive use of flangers and phasers which fill the space. Add in driving rhythms, angry bass lines and from-the-heart-vocals and you end up with an enthralling live album that sounds a lot better than Concert (in which A Hundred Years is way too fast, and Shake Dog Shake is inferior to this version here).

It is, quite simply, a superb live album which will be appreciated by all those fans of The Cure who aren't Cure anoraks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 12 Dec 2011
By 
Lumpster (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bestival Live 2011 (Audio CD)
A great CD capturing a fantastic band in top form - a vast set with drawing from every era of what is now a storming back catalogue. The CD represents superb value for money (even better given the proceeds are going to a good cause) and the sound quality is fantastic. The Cure don't play live much these days so grab this CD as the next best thing and celebrate one of Britain's greatest bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Cure, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bestival Live 2011 (Audio CD)
The Cure performing in front of an excitable crowd. Great sound on the CD. Play it loud.Go on buy it. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Cure - Bestival Live 2011, 2 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bestival Live 2011 (Audio CD)
Brilliant band, good choice of songs from their extensive repertoire though the recording quality is a bit hit and miss. Also what is the strange rewording on Killing Another all about?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking album - Live and magnificent, 15 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bestival Live 2011 (Audio CD)
A must for any music collection, the Cure at their very best - LIVE. some of the best music played brilliantly by a band at their peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just like heaven, 17 Sep 2012
This review is from: Bestival Live 2011 (Audio CD)
i wasn't to sure whether to buy this or not but after a couple of weeks of deliberation it finally arrived. and i am glad it did, some songs do sound a little different because they have a guitar or two missing from the studio or other live versions, but smithy's great guitar playing and fine voice for smithy, help to cover the missing guitar sounds. a previous reviewer mentions the drums being a bit loud and poppy i think the reason for that is to make up for the missing guitars. if you have any of the other live albums and like them this may well end up being your fave. A great choice of songs and a fine performance from the band. p.s if you saw them at reading this year the songs are done just as good but smithy's voice is a little better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars THE CURE BESTIVAL 2011, 8 May 2012
This review is from: Bestival Live 2011 (Audio CD)
A great band.Great songs.A great festival performance.A good cd only spoilt by a bad sound mix(the drums sound awful)Still as so cheap worth a listen if only for the sublime outing of CATAPILLAR.
It is a good not perfect document of a great night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this well worth the money., 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bestival Live 2011 (Audio CD)
After not seeing this band for so long, it was a pleasure to watch this tour on the Arts Channel on Sky, so I decided to buy the album, it has alot of good tracks on from early to present day and they are still as good as ever, would recommend it you not be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bestival Live 2011
Bestival Live 2011 by The Cure (Audio CD)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews