Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, sweet and to the important point.
Although this book is only 56 pages long, and I already knew most of what the author was describing, I still think it is a worthwhile book to read especially for those who find themselves strapped for time and need to remember some very important points.

One of the most important suggestions the author makes is to find an activity you really enjoy that helps...
Published 14 months ago by Cynthia Danute Cekauskas, LCSW

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad...
It's not a bad book and has some great tips. I would like to have seen some pics to illustrate some descriptions, rather than the "look into it yourself" kind of comment...
Published 11 months ago by SCOTT MATLEY


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, sweet and to the important point., 23 July 2013
Although this book is only 56 pages long, and I already knew most of what the author was describing, I still think it is a worthwhile book to read especially for those who find themselves strapped for time and need to remember some very important points.

One of the most important suggestions the author makes is to find an activity you really enjoy that helps burn fat and retains (or builds) muscle so that you stick to it. So many health clubs, fitness centers and gyms aggressively promote their memberships and really overbook COUNTING on the fact that a good many people will sign up, earnestly attend a few training sessions and/or classes and then slowly, quietly (if not abruptly) drop out never to be seen again with the health club "member" still liable for membership fees they have legally signed a contract agreeing to pay. That is why I was so SIMPLY DELIGHTED when the author included Chapter 11 DANCE THE FAT AWAY WITH ZUMBA. Now THIS was an activity I personally found and was able to stick with! Whatever you do the point is to keep active. Cardio DOESN'T HAVE TO suck! From Chapter 6 BOX YOUR WAY INTO SHAPE to Chapter 14 HEAT THINGS UP WITH HOT YOGA, 15 JUMP ROPING CAN DO WONDERS FOR YOUR BODY. 17 TRAIN LIKE THE BRITISH ARMY and 18 THE CARDIO CORE BLAST there is something for most everybody. There is even a BONUS REPORT 12 HEALTH & FITNESS MISTAKES YOU DON'T KNOW YOU'RE MAKING.

Significantly the author does not neglect the importance of nutrition in helping an individual lose weight and/or improve their health and fitness. He emphasizes that "No matter what anyone tells you getting ripped boils down to nothing more than manipulating a simple mathematical formula:energy consumed versus energy expended." (otherwise known as calories in, calories out). "Healthy fat loss isn't as simple as drastically cutting calories, however." the author tells us "If you eat too little, your body will go into 'starvation mode' and sure, it will lose fat, but you will also lose muscle. Plus, worst of all, your metabolic rate will slow down and once you start eating more, you'll quickly gain the fat back (and sometimes even more than you lost). This is what leads to yo-yo dieting." Finally in thie second chapter the author emphasizes "...doing cardio doesn't equal burning fat. It can accelerate fat loss by burning calories and by speeding up your metabolic rate, but whether you actually lose fat or not will be determined by your daily caloric intake and expenditure."

I would like to have seen this book a little longer and more developed. There is a little bit of cookie cutter mentality to it (one solution fits all). For instance, I disagree with him about genetics. I think it really IS harder for some people to lose weight because they come from families where historically people tend to be larger and more prone to being overweight eating habits notwithstanding. A number of these people will make valiant attempts to lose weight, eat properly, exercise vigorously on a regular basis and "do all the right things" and STILL not lose a great deal. Also, the whole issue of women, especially post menopausal women having difficulty losing weight was never really addressed. That being said the book is still a nifty little GENERAL guide on helping people lose their disdain for cardio and embrace it as something they can really enjoy and benefit from. For this I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 27 Mar 2013
By 
Guy Smeyers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this book. It explains you how to eat. (Only high glycemic index carbs before and after training). He also gives examples of different sort of high intensity training workouts. My favorite book af the Mr Matthews is still " Bigger, Leaner, Stronger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend!, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a supplement to Bigger, leaner, Stronger, I highly recommend this book. Traditionally people think losing fat is all about long steady state cardio sessions. But Bigger Leaner Stronger explains in details how we should burn body fat and this book provides excellent practical Cardio workout advice. For example, you can do a weights circuit for 20 minutes, or you can do a HIIT stationery bike session. I would recommend this book to provide you with varied Cardio workouts for fat burning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad..., 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CARDIO SUCKS! The Simple Science of Burning Fat Fast and Getting In Shape (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
It's not a bad book and has some great tips. I would like to have seen some pics to illustrate some descriptions, rather than the "look into it yourself" kind of comment...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cardio sucks, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CARDIO SUCKS! The Simple Science of Burning Fat Fast and Getting In Shape (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This is quite a good book with usefull information on excersise.I have always been a cardio slave so this was a nice read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All you need to know, 9 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This short book has an excellent chapter that de-bunks a lot of the hyped-up myths about what you need to do to loose weight - straight to the point and covering all you need to know - this is an excellent book and great value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good one, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CARDIO SUCKS! The Simple Science of Burning Fat Fast and Getting In Shape (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Very Good book, you will not be disappointed. It gives many tactics to break the borng cardio routine and make it more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Few Points..., 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CARDIO SUCKS! The Simple Science of Burning Fat Fast and Getting In Shape (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
It's not a bad book, even if very short. Though really it's a promotional tool for the rest of the author's more expensive books, indeed we are 10% of the way through by the time the contents page finishes and the content begins - So if you're after something more substantial you'll need to go somewhere else.

The book makes many statements such as "studies find" and "research shows" but never references anything. I'm not doubting the studies, but if you're after citations for university etc you'll find this book won't do the job.

For me, far too much of the book spoke about macronutrients; fat, protein, carbs etc and how the body reacts to them. I've read all about that many times and it's the same wherever you read it, but if it's new to you then you may find it interesting.

Getting into the exercise, which begins half way in, I liked the idea of the cardio circuit and I'll be giving it a try over the weekend, but for those readers who aren't aware of what some of the exercises are, further research will be required because no explanations are given and no images either - Perhaps this is where the author could improve. Some of the other exercise ideas such as the British Army section was also interesting.

The book includes a tiny section on HIIT near the end and I feel, because HIIT is so effective, that more space and detail should have been dedicated to this. When I bought the book, I actually assumed more detail on HIIT would have been given because that is what I searched for when I bought this book, but no, we are given a very small amount of detail here - Perhaps this is Amazon's fault and not the authors. I recommend HIIT - High Intensity Interval Training Explained to further your reading on this since it really is a superb book on the subject.

However, Cardio Sucks is very well written and the author speaks with authority, which is so often not the case with many health and fitness books out there. I consider myself a fitness enthusiast and I read a lot of these type of books and yes, I did learn a couple of new things. I'll be taking a look at some other work from this author in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go for it!, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CARDIO SUCKS! The Simple Science of Burning Fat Fast and Getting In Shape (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Simple rules to follow for great results.
Truly inspirational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Informative Read, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CARDIO SUCKS! The Simple Science of Burning Fat Fast and Getting In Shape (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting book this. I'd recommend it as what's in it doesn't just apply to bodybuilders, it applys to anyone! I'm no bodybuilder, weightlifter, gym fan or athlete, I'm just a guy that's overweight and wants to lose weight. This book has some great info on exercising. There's different methods to suit all tastes and is even for beginners like myself. But its not just info on exercise in this book as it has info on eating not only better but to help you lose weight too. It tells you what's important about different foods and the types to avoid! So if you want to lose weight or just get in shape, buy this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews