Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We're going on a journey...
The 'French electro-pop guys'have made it good on a contemporary foray into the 'Themed Album' a la prog/avant garde of the late 60's/early 70's.
It tells, as if you didn't guess, of the Jules Verne story and subsequent early film by G. Melies, taking us on an aural journey to the moon and what was found (and lost) when 'man' arrived. - So something to turn on and...
Published on 9 Feb 2012 by J. Harrison

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing
Was bought this as a present recently and very much looked forward to listening to it being a long tome follower of Air and their work. I was not overly impressed initially and after listening to it a number of times have found that it has not "grown on me" if anything it has the reverse effect. To be honest and it is only my view, i find it dull and pretty tedious on the...
Published on 16 Mar 2012 by thrubwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars We're going on a journey..., 9 Feb 2012
By 
J. Harrison (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Voyage Dans la Lune (Audio CD)
The 'French electro-pop guys'have made it good on a contemporary foray into the 'Themed Album' a la prog/avant garde of the late 60's/early 70's.
It tells, as if you didn't guess, of the Jules Verne story and subsequent early film by G. Melies, taking us on an aural journey to the moon and what was found (and lost) when 'man' arrived. - So something to turn on and become absorbed in.
There is definitely no particular single going to come out of this album IMHO, but then the whole is what works. And it certainly does. If one listens closely, there is a hint of Vangelis in there amongst others, which I find an intelligently amusing nod of respect rather than a rip-off. It makes me want to find the film and play the music along to it, but then Air have probably done this already as an accompanying video....
You don't need to like Air's previous albums, some of which, I don't, or electro pop, as it is neither. But if you can 'open your ears', you may well enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Blast From The Past, 6 Feb 2012
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Le Voyage Dans la Lune (Audio CD)
My first encounter with George Melies' marvelous little 1902 film
'Le Voyage Dans La Lune' occurred in 1987 when I saw South African
artist William Kentridge's installation at the Hamburger Bahnhof
Gallery in Berlin. His was a haunting and strangely beautiful response
to Melies' magical work; part personal commentary, part homage.
Air's musical response to the original is an imaginative and entertaining
programmatic interpretation which, in its rather old-fashioned, post-prog
way captures the fantastical spirit and charm of Melies' quirky invention.

The album comprises eleven tracks which could have sprung fully-formed
from the nineteen seventies. From the sombre opening track 'Astronomic Club'
with its wobbly male choral vocal statements, reverberating percussion and
abrasive electric guitar; through the jazzy twists and turns of 'Sonic Armada';
the delightful blips and tinkles of 'Cosmic Trip' and the quaintly epic
resolution of final track 'Lava', we are swept back to sound-worlds created by
the likes of Patrick Moraz (particularly his 1976 album 'Story Of I'), Chic Corea's
Return To Forever (1976's 'Romantic Warrior came especially to mind) and even,
to some degree, John McLaughlin's Mahavishnu Orchestra. Truly nostalgic stuff!

For fans of that era there is much to enjoy. For new listeners the journey
will be both engaging and entertaining. Either way it's a fine recording.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seven Stars, 18 Feb 2012
By 
Fletch-a-sketch "Fletch" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Voyage Dans la Lune (Audio CD)
"Le Voyage Dans Le Dune" is a great album of music which definitly does not outstay its welcome. Yes the album is short barly 30 minutes but packed full of ideas. If you get the opportunity get the version with the DVD. The music was commissioned for the film, though only 15 minutes of it was used, the film made by Georges Méliès, in 1902 is considered a pioneering film, the accompaying film is a restored hand coloured print and while a bit jumpy at times is a masterpiece of early film making and the music does do justice to the film, which its Gallic feel. A nice touch as well is that the music is uncompressed LPCM (48/16) rather than compressed Dolby Digital, and sound great.
The album expands on that music for the film almost double the playing time. Favourite tunes on the album tend to be the longer more complete pieces such as 'Astronomic club', 'Seven Stars' and 'Sonic Armada'
While reminiscent of earlier Air albums such as 'Moon safari' and 'Premiers Symptomes' , this really does stand up well as a brand new album. I would add that for me this is an early contender for album of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celestial Voyage, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: Le Voyage Dans la Lune (Audio CD)
"Le Voyage Dans Le Dune" by Air is a great cd that features a medley of songs running the gamut of electronica and chillout musical genres. All of these songs evoke a futuristic vibe (it is as if they can be used in any upcoming science fiction/fantasy and/or family film). "Astronomic" and "Cosmic Trip" are two of the fun musical tracks that nourish my spirit. The dvd comes with an early 1900's movie called "A Trip To The Moon." It was for avant-garde for made in 1902. This is because the rocketship concept was imaginatively flirted with before becoming an eventual reality many years later. The characters involved six men that appeared to be either scientists and/or teachers. "Le Voyage Dans Le Dune" by Air is best for those who enjoy unique electronica/chillout music genre hyrbrids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent Air soundtrack, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Voyage Dans la Lune (Audio CD)
This is typical of a soundtrack in that the tracks are eclectic and a bit odd at times, but it's worth getting if you're a fan of the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Air, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Voyage Dans la Lune (Audio CD)
Le Voyage is another of Air's brilliant film-inspired albums. Some mediocre tracks mixed in with some brilliant stand out tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Voyage Dans la Lune (Audio CD)
A good all round album, some pop, some ambient but not my favourite Air album hence the 4 stars, deserves 3.5 really. I got the 2 disc version with the film, you should commit to watch this first, the music will make more sense on further listenings
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant....!, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le voyage dans la lune (MP3 Download)
A good buy and very emotive music, although a little short. A lot different from Moon Safari, my only other Air album purchased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars well done, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le Voyage Dans la Lune (Audio CD)
This album is a homage to Georges Melies
of whom I first heard while watching Scorseses
movie Hugo. Liked both
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Le voyage dans la lune (MP3 Download)
Strange band, Air. It took a few listens before I could decide whether I liked it or not. Now I definitely do, though I don't think it's up there with Moon Safari
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews