Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A complex Mexican stand-off
Catch .44 is the story of Mel (Bruce Willis - Setup) - a crime lord in the unspecified deep south. He has sent his all-female hit squad consisting of Tes, Dawn & Kara (respectively; Malin Åkerman - Watchmen, Deborah Ann Woll & Nikki Reed - The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn) to a remote diner to intercept a drug-deal.

But when Mel's right hand guy - the...
Published on 9 Dec 2011 by J. Morris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok
not a bad film which . well worth a watching if you can get it cheap enough second hand or ex rental
Published 9 months ago by Mr. W. J. D. Murphy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A complex Mexican stand-off, 9 Dec 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Catch .44 is the story of Mel (Bruce Willis - Setup) - a crime lord in the unspecified deep south. He has sent his all-female hit squad consisting of Tes, Dawn & Kara (respectively; Malin Åkerman - Watchmen, Deborah Ann Woll & Nikki Reed - The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn) to a remote diner to intercept a drug-deal.

But when Mel's right hand guy - the chameleonic Ronny (Forest Whitaker - Panic Room) shows up and walks right into the ensuing Mexican standoff between the girls & Mel's man on the ground, Billy (Shea Whigham - The Lincoln Lawyer) nobody is quite sure who is double-crossing who, only one thing is clear; Mel is NOT going to be happy when he shows up...

Catch .44 is an odd film, mainly because we see the end at the beginning. We are thrown in at the deep end, understanding nothing of how the characters came to be in this predicament, as the flashbacks roll, they all bring us back to this scene and we see the same scenario from a multitude of camera angles again & again, adding something each time around. It's an intriguing technique that allows us to see the genesis of each of the characters reasons for being there. Upsettingly, Mel's opening line reveals who the bad guy is in all this, removing some of the tension but this is only crystal-clear in retrospect and is probably easily missed.

Nonetheless, Bruce Willis plays a fantastic aging-alcoholic-mobster and is truly chilling in his rendition of the eerily-calm Mel. The true star of the show here is Whitaker, who plays a man with multiple guises and is a terrifying psycho in his adoration for Tes (Åkerman). Everyone plays their role well with each scene being truly unpredictable - very refreshing. The direction is snappy (credit to Aaron Harvey) with multiple plays of the same scenes from different angles not being an easy beast to master. There are also some pretty nasty wounds inflicted and the CGI holds up well here for this medium-low budget production. The southern country soundtrack is also memorable, with some darker modern-folk being included. All in all, this is a truly different film to the usual fare with great performances from Whitaker & Willis, ably supported by the strong cast and unusual direction. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 1 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. W. J. D. Murphy (n ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
not a bad film which . well worth a watching if you can get it cheap enough second hand or ex rental
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FAKE GRINDHOUSE COMPROMISE, 23 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
The title "Catch .44" appears to be some clever play on the phrase Catch 22, i.e. as in a double catch 22 as well as a .44 caliber bullet. The movie really isn't that clever, but pretends to be. I was confused by the beginning. The film opens with Bruce Willis (Mel) talking to an unseen person who he has worked with for seven years but doesn't trust...cue credits. The music is Mexican-Cowboy grindhouse stuff during the credits. We see Tes driving...Then we see three women in a diner, they are talking about living in a man's world , the apparent theme of the film, when they attempt to rob the place and one of them gets shot...more credits and the music is "Fox on the Run." We have ventured into some kind of "Pulp Fiction" diner scene flashback scenario. The names on the girls flash on the screen by their face, which has come to be the rule rather than the exception in modern action films.

Tes, the leader of the group, works at an exotic dance bar. They work for a drug dealer named Mel. The whole diner scene we saw earlier is about a drug deal. While there are cell phones, Mel talks on a red rotary dial phone to Tes in a remote phone booth, apparently something that still exists in Louisiana.
While the girls are driving to the restaurant, there is some subplot action that is going on that appears unrelated.

The movie swaps back and forth between the restaurant shoot-out action and various flashbacks leading up to the scene. The film is supposed to be a Tarantino style grindhouse, but doesn't really work that well as the characters aren't that great. There is no clever grindhouse dialouge. The flashback scenes don't work that well. Forest Whitaker uses different accents during the movie which doesn't appear to be by design. The movie lacked great action.

F-bomb, sex talk, brief strip club nudity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Expletive deleted, 25 April 2014
This review is from: Catch .44 (Blu-ray)
I would not recommend this turgid film to anybody. Every other word is a swear word beginning with 'F', there is no action in this action movie and up until the time I ejected the disc very little to appreciate why the film was made at all. This was a mistake on my part in placing the film on my rental list, a total waste of viewing time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's alright, 16 April 2014
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
This film kind of reminds me of the glut of violent thrillers that emerged after Pulp Fiction in the mid 90's. A solid cast of known names, flashy directing and a non linear plot that jumps between time frames. Unlike many of those imitators this flick is not too bad.

A trio of young ladies (Malin Akerman included) take a job from their drug dealer boss to find out who's moving in on his patch. They aim to infiltrate a drug deal at a remote truck stop but things dont go according to plan and a tense series of events ensues also involving Forest Whitakers "delivery guy".

The script is reasonably punchy and it's well acted all round. Crosses and double crosses take place and there's enough bloody action to keep you involved. Bruce Willis pops up in one of his now trademark fleeting roles as the drug dealer in question before popping off again to count his wages. Cheers Brucie. Anyway, a decent film, worth a spin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Bad, Bad, Bad, 14 Mar 2014
This review is from: Catch .44 (DVD)
One of the worst films I've ever seen. Poor story line, poor acting. Poor attempt at copying a Tarantino film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must watch, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
This was a great film I really enjoyed watching it on my day off work and would recommend to all who watch films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars From `Die Hard' to `Try Hard', 6 Feb 2013
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
Quentin Tarrintino. There, I said it. I got it out the way straight away. It's just you can't really talk about Catch 44 without mentioning the man in some way. Catch 44 is so `Pulp Fiction inspired' that you'll be expecting Samuel L Jackson to pop up in a gimp mask at any time.

Instead of a predominantly male cast, Catch 44 centres on three female drug smugglers and what happens when one of their (supposedly routine) drop-offs goes very wrong. That's about the extent of the plot. I've read in other reviews phrases like `the film stretches a single scene out for the entire ninety minutes.' And they're not far off it.

The whole film is - technically - set in a diner (the location for the illegal exchange). What other parts of the film come in flashbacks and repeats of the initial scene, over and over again. This has picked up more than a little criticism from some as being repetitive and annoying.

I didn't think it was that bad. Granted, Catch 44 is no Pulp Fiction, but I found it entertaining enough to watch for an hour and a half. One thing you should know is that Bruce Willis (despite featuring heavily on all major advertising) is in it for about ten minutes. The story is mainly about the girls. Forest Whitaker does his best to inject some much-needed characterisation, but really, the lack of any forward momentum is the film's major downfall.

My advice: know what you're getting. This is no masterpiece, but it's not quite as bad as some of the reviews make it out to be. It just could have been a lot better, based on the star-power that seemed to be attached to the project.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish 44, 27 July 2014
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
crap film do not watch it. there is no story to it and that car chase on the cover doesn't even happen. this is 1 and a half hours of my life i want back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars movie, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch .44 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
good B rated movie with bruse willis in it, has a good story line to it, I like it for the price, thank's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Catch .44 [DVD]
Catch .44 [DVD] by Aaron Harvey (DVD - 2012)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews