Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A complex Mexican stand-off
Catch .44 is the story of Mel (Bruce Willis - Setup) - a crime lord in the unspecified deep south. He has sent his all-female hit squad consisting of Tes, Dawn & Kara (respectively; Malin Åkerman - Watchmen, Deborah Ann Woll & Nikki Reed - The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn) to a remote diner to intercept a drug-deal.

But when Mel's right hand guy - the...
Published on 9 Dec. 2011 by J. Morris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars FAKE GRINDHOUSE COMPROMISE
The title "Catch .44" appears to be some clever play on the phrase Catch 22, i.e. as in a double catch 22 as well as a .44 caliber bullet. The movie really isn't that clever, but pretends to be. I was confused by the beginning. The film opens with Bruce Willis (Mel) talking to an unseen person who he has worked with for seven years but doesn't trust...cue credits. The...
Published 19 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars drivel, 5 Mar. 2012
Absolute crap, storyline non-existant and a complete waste of time, I'd have thought 'stars' like Bruce Willis and Forest Whitaker would be able to smell the whiff of scripts like this at twenty paces...

I had to rate this with one star just to complete the review process, it would be maore appropriate to assign it with five lemons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 14 Jan. 2012
By 
Derek J. M. Evans "sugarbird" (Berkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a miserable film this is.Action ? There is none.The dialogue is almost unintelligible and seems consist of the word f..k and little else.Bruce makes a brief and unimpressive appearance at the end. There seems little logical pattern and leaves one wondering if there is a plot.Save your money and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Expletive deleted, 25 April 2014
This review is from: Catch .44 (Blu-ray)
I would not recommend this turgid film to anybody. Every other word is a swear word beginning with 'F', there is no action in this action movie and up until the time I ejected the disc very little to appreciate why the film was made at all. This was a mistake on my part in placing the film on my rental list, a total waste of viewing time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 11 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
I usually love Bruce Willis films, but this was bad. The female lead was especially bad, Pinocchio was less wooden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
Very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 4 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
Boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing rubbish, 15 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
The only thing that saves this film from a one star review is Bruce Willis & Forrest Whittaker whom i both really like as actors but really question what they were thinking when signing up for this and that the soundtrack is very good (plenty of rock n roll).

The plot involves three young women (lead by Malin Ackerman, who has the acting ability of a plank of wood) off to do a heist for crime boss Bruce Willis, to redeem themselves after their last job went tits up, although you are not told what happened; this is a massive failing as the film is pretty much centred around this and why there is a shoot-up in a diner, which is where the film starts & ends. The film then uses flashbacks to explain who the girls, Bruce Willis & Forrest Whittaker are and why they're all involved.

However the script appears to have been written by a twelve year old, who got his/her mates to edit & produce it, and if you are twelve then you'll probably enjoy it.

The plot lumbers around without any real direction, limited action and the dialogue is pretty woeful, padded out with quite a few unnecessary expletives to try and make this a "modern crime caper": indeed the film is a crime to cinema.

Avoid unless buying it for a £1 and are desperate for something to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glad to see Bruce Willis back on form, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Catch .44 [DVD] (DVD)
I Die Hard Series was to me a classic .and I was pleased to see that catch 44 was on the same level of interest .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Catch .44 [Blu-ray]
Catch .44 [Blu-ray] by Aaron Harvey (Blu-ray - 2012)
£8.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews