Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive viewing that had me hooked!
I bought this series simply to see the amazing John Simm. He really is a totally believable actor no matter what he's in and this series was no exception. This, of course, is now quite an old series (mobile phones and the internet are but a distant idea) but it was gripping viewing with many fine performances nonetheless.

Although it didn't ruin my viewing...
Published 8 months ago by Ms JG

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but not great and probably longer than it needed to be.
I'm a big fan of Jimmy McGovern and he writes some excellent people based drama (Cracker and The Street are two that stand out) so I wanted to try some of his older stuff.

The Lakes tells the story of Danny (John Simm in one of his earliest starring roles), a young lad from Liverpool who makes his way up to Windermere and surrounding area to make a new start...
Published 3 months ago by Mike Renshaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive viewing that had me hooked!, 27 April 2014
By 
Ms JG "Ms JG" (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lakes : Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this series simply to see the amazing John Simm. He really is a totally believable actor no matter what he's in and this series was no exception. This, of course, is now quite an old series (mobile phones and the internet are but a distant idea) but it was gripping viewing with many fine performances nonetheless.

Although it didn't ruin my viewing pleasure, I did find much of it wildly improbably, however. Particularly so in the second series, it seemed to ask the viewer to take a great leap of faith in terms of whether situations were credible. For example, despite having family secrets of monumental importance, everyone seemed to be able to shout about them to each other on the street and yet not a single neighbour in this small, tightknit community,seemed to ever overhear or even pass by at a crucial moment. We're also expected to believe that Sheila (who has lost her daughter, her only child) has come to grips with her loss amazingly quickly and returns to work at the hotel with lightning speed and almost never refers to the incident. Additionally, there is absolutely no explanation as to what has happened to her husband. Where has he gone? Why doesn't he appear at all in series 2?

But it's the huge amount of sex that goes on that really stretches credibility to breaking point. Wherever you go it seems that people are madly shagging one another, with everyone walking in on everyone else right in the middle of it all and never batting an eyelid. The managers of the hotel seem to take it so remarkably well that Room 34 may as well have a sign above the door that says it's permanently reserved for anyone who wants a bonk and they never feel the need to actually fire anyone for having sex when they should be working - not even when it involves their own daughter! Equally, we're also expected to believe that, despite some characters having it in for others in a really big way, that they all continue working alongside each other - no one ever seems to think that they'd be better off finding another way to earn a crust, even when they've been beaten to a pulp!

Still, despite it's flaws, I've given this production 5 stars. It gets you in, it keeps you gripped and it delivers a rattling good yarn. And, at the end of the day, isn't that what good entertainment is all about?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's good, but not great and probably longer than it needed to be., 8 Sep 2014
By 
Mike Renshaw (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lakes : Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Jimmy McGovern and he writes some excellent people based drama (Cracker and The Street are two that stand out) so I wanted to try some of his older stuff.

The Lakes tells the story of Danny (John Simm in one of his earliest starring roles), a young lad from Liverpool who makes his way up to Windermere and surrounding area to make a new start. The story is well told with the main story being on Danny and how he deals with some strong issues - good writing and action.

Sadly, in the second season the focus moves away from Danny (although he is still a major character) and looks at other people in the village and this dilutes the strong story on the central character. It's also a longer season which makes it feel less focused.

It's good, but not one of the best - maybe a one off story based on the first season would have made it stronger.

Recommended if you've not seen and one for fans of John Simm or Jimmy McGovern
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality series with a young John Simm, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lakes : Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season One could be given 4.5 stars while Season Two did not quite live up to its promise partly because of the storyline and partly because it did not feature John Simm's character so prominently and let's face it, the man has enough screen charisma to read the telephone directory and make you want to pay attention. Just look at Mad Dogs!
However this is quite a few cuts above that twaddle and has stood the test of time well with the serious social issues nicely balanced with a cheeky script and a raw look at the sex lives and morals, of not just the young but their parents generation as well.
At this price it is good entertainment and I will rewatch, just as I will revisit Simm's other top class work in State of Play and Exile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lakes : Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
We enjoyed the series immensly, difficult not to watch the whole thing in one sitting. Can recomend the series to anyone who enjoys an adult drama with a little dark humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 14 Jun 2014
By 
booklover "mrs-p" (North West of England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lakes : Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Good sorry lines, great acting, superb script. Series 1 is only the foundation for the second series. Full marks around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great British drama, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lakes : Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
John simm at his best in this great British drama set in the lake district.A bit racey and bad language,but funny and moving
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lakes : Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I was a great hit buying this for my Gran she loved the whole series and now gets to watch it when ever she wants Thank You
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bargain, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lakes : Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This series was great on TV at the time,well worth watching again.Quick delivery too! A pleasant trip down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Simms, 1 Dec 2013
By 
M. G. A. Sluis (Holland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lakes : Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
It is always a pleasure to see Simms and in this series he is playing so well and the series are giving such a good picture of that time I loved the series then and still do
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lakes Series 1 and 2 John Simm, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Steve (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lakes : Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent, adult, BBC drama as other reviewers have said. It is fascinating to see a young John Simm (Life On Mars) in a very different role.

But my point is the current Amazon price. A tenner! I paid about £25 for the set when it first appeared and don't regret that.

It's top quality adult drama.

Just note that this is not a travelogue on the Lake District. It has an 18 certificate for good reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lakes : Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD]
The Lakes : Complete Series 1 & 2 [DVD] by John Simm (DVD - 2012)
£13.13
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews