Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the avengers 1999
this a great dvd to have if you are marvel fan. this is the 2nd avengers team after iron man, captain america, thor, hulk left the team. iron man, captain america do show up on this dvd.
Published on 5 Aug 2012 by ROBERT A. CORA

versus
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars B-vengers, Assemble!
The first thing to get out the way is that despite the cover this is very much the Avengers "B" Team - no Thor, no Hulk, no Iron Man and no Captain America, aside one episode cameos from the latter two. The second is that a handful of the group 'power up' when it comes to battle and get battle armour, in a sequence a bit like the Power Rangers. The third is the accent of...
Published on 9 April 2012 by bulba.thor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars B-vengers, Assemble!, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers Complete 1999 Series [DVD] (DVD)
The first thing to get out the way is that despite the cover this is very much the Avengers "B" Team - no Thor, no Hulk, no Iron Man and no Captain America, aside one episode cameos from the latter two. The second is that a handful of the group 'power up' when it comes to battle and get battle armour, in a sequence a bit like the Power Rangers. The third is the accent of the Scarlet "Winds of Destiny, Change!" Witch. It's.... different? On the plus side we do see foes such as Ultron, the Masters of Evil, Namor, Kang and the Zodiac, and the characters in the team won't be completely unfamiliar to those with just a passing knowledge of Marvel (Hawkeye, Vision, Ant-Man), with it based on the 1984 West Coast Avengers, and fans of the comics will notice various nods towards the characters as we know them.

The series itself is watchable, but considering other comic-based series that pre-date it (e.g. X-Men, Batman: The Animated Series) it definitely falls short of what it should have been. This series doesn't attempt to translate major story-lines, and whilst originality can be effective, considering the success the aforementioned series had with this it's disappointing to see a collection of stories that comparatively lack punch and scale. The series does have a few re-occurring plot-lines that give it some continuity, such as Wonder Man spending most the series in a coma, and the series finale draws on a couple of previous episodes, but a dozen or so episodes isn't enough time to really pad potentially unfamiliar (and some significantly changed) characters out with any sort of depth.

As a fan of the comics I can't say that this is anything close to a "must-buy", but considering the cheap price (£5ish at the time I write this) it's a cheap and cheerful superhero experience that I enjoyed despite its failings, and I have pre-ordered it. Don't expect great things, and it won't disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the avengers 1999, 5 Aug 2012
By 
ROBERT A. CORA (canton, ohio usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers Complete 1999 Series [DVD] (DVD)
this a great dvd to have if you are marvel fan. this is the 2nd avengers team after iron man, captain america, thor, hulk left the team. iron man, captain america do show up on this dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting.... or wanted., 29 July 2012
This review is from: The Avengers Complete 1999 Series [DVD] (DVD)
I had high hopes for this series, despite picking it up for £5 on impulse at the supermarket and was extremely disappointed.

The big three (Ironman, Thor & Captain America) are not involved except for less than one episode, no Hulk either - Instead we have Ant-Man, The Vision, Scarlett Witch, Hawkeye and various others that I forget.

Story lines are ok, but lack anything really interesting or fun and the villains are also second rate - If you want to see a great version of 'The Avengers' then watch the 2012 movie or 'Earth's Mightiest Heroes' which are infinitely better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good to add to your Marvel collection., 3 July 2014
This review is from: The Avengers Complete 1999 Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great addition to my Marvel collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money & entertaining, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers Complete 1999 Series [DVD] (DVD)
Entertaining and keeps children quiet for hours on end, also good for adults who remember their old comic books from their childhood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good series, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers Complete 1999 Series [DVD] (DVD)
Great series, they obviously planned on making another ad this one ends in the middle of a story line. That was disappointing but the series itself wad enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars splendidly bad, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers Complete 1999 Series [DVD] (DVD)
The entire show was horrible to watch, but you already know that! Otherwise you wouldnt look for this. But its an amazing collection of this television show. The coverart and menu's look and work great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 14 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Avengers Complete 1999 Series [DVD] (DVD)
it was an excellent chance how I thought it would be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Optimistic Reappraisal of Avengers; United They Stand, 21 Oct 2012
By 
Mr. A. Balls (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Avengers Complete 1999 Series [DVD] (DVD)
The Avengers, as beloved and popular with childhood audiences as ever, were given a substantial revamp for this particular series; changes which didn't necessarily please the adult members of the audience. Back in the late 1990s when this series was produced, not many American animation houses had yet adopted the myriad Japanese cartoon tropes that we are so used to seeing today. Nowadays, anime-style transformation/power-up/costume-change sequences are second nature, as are superheroes with 'super deformed' musculature and gaudy uniforms, but at the time, adult viewers found these new additions quite jarring.

However, having seen my young nephews clearly enjoying this cartoon, I have 'taken a leaf from their book' and reflected upon the show, focusing on the more positive and child-friendly aspects of the series.

POSSIBLE SPOILERS AHEAD.

Although set in New York, this cartoon is loosely based on the Marvel comic entitled 'Avengers West Coast'. The team roster includes founding Avengers Ant-Man and the Wasp alongside long-term members Scarlet Witch and the Vision, newer members Tigra and Falcon, plus best friends Wonder Man and Hawkeye, the latter seen in the recent film 'Avengers Assemble'. Fellow film characters and founding members Captain America and Iron Man make guest-appearances in one episode each, as does Sub-Mariner himself, Prince Namor.

Although the costume changes weren't popular with everyone, we really enjoyed team-leader Ant-Man's new suit which featured a miniature rocket-ship worn as a backpack; when Ant-Man shrunk, he could go aboard the backpack and fly it on missions! It too could shrink and be flown around the body, much like the vessel in the film 'Fantastic Voyage', seen during my own childhood.

The music on the series is quite stirring, I feel. The credits say it was composed by 'Suki' Levy, but considering its powerful feel, I think that maybe it was successful musician Shuki Levy who wrote it, 'Suki' being a spelling mistake I suppose.

The stories, as you'd expect, are very child-friendly, but the relationships between the characters are subtle enough for adults to enjoy. In this series, Ant-Man and the Wasp's marriage is portrayed as a very strong one with lots of teamwork, there's a bit of a love triangle between Wonder Man, Scarlet Witch, and the Vision, and when Captain America shows up, there's a bit of friction between he and the team's leader, Ant-Man.

All in all, I feel it's a shame that the loose ends concerning Wonder Man's ailments, (he's not really ill; he's 'super-charging'!), and the evil alien gang, the Zodiac, were never resolved before the series was cancelled. I know it's a long-shot, but perhaps these loose threads will resurface in the new cartoon, 'The Avengers; Earth's Mightiest Heroes', or maybe in one of the forthcoming Avengers films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avengers Assemble, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Avengers Complete 1999 Series [DVD] (DVD)
It doesnt matter what year anything to do with marvel comes out because everything is just awesome nothing can beat marvel!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Avengers Complete 1999 Series [DVD]
The Avengers Complete 1999 Series [DVD] by Ron Myrick (DVD - 2012)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews