Customer Reviews


268 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty Of Humanity And A Touch Of Humour
If you're my age, when you see the words "Confessions Of" in a title you can't help but associate it with images of that cheeky chap Robin Askwith and his tawdry 1970's sub Carry On dirty films. Whilst our neighbours across the channel were making the erotic Emmanuelle, Askwith was peeping at showering schoolgirls through bathroom windows with a leering grin that would...
Published on 1 Jun. 2012 by JohnBrassey

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ebook review of Confessions of a Male Nurse
Sometimes funny, sometimes sad, this book touches on events often found in nursing. It is thoughtful without being too sloppy, and its obvious Mr Alexander genuinely cares for his patients, he's always on the right side of Patient Confidentiality. But I must admit that I was expecting the more funnier side of health care, in and out of the NHS. It is well written and...
Published 7 months ago by Donna Bateman


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plenty Of Humanity And A Touch Of Humour, 1 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Male Nurse (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
If you're my age, when you see the words "Confessions Of" in a title you can't help but associate it with images of that cheeky chap Robin Askwith and his tawdry 1970's sub Carry On dirty films. Whilst our neighbours across the channel were making the erotic Emmanuelle, Askwith was peeping at showering schoolgirls through bathroom windows with a leering grin that would today have him banged up for sexual harassment. Fortunately younger readers won't remember the films and, having read the best selling Confessions Of A GP from the same publisher (the excellent The Friday Project) last year, I had an inkling of what Confessions Of A Male Nurse would be like.

It is exactly what the title suggests. Michael Alexander ( a pseudonym for obvious patient confidentiality reasons) tells us about his sixteen years as a male nurse in both New Zealand and London in a series of short anecdotal chapters. And what experiences he has had! The cover picture suggests humour and there is a degree of this in the book although for me it has more of an overriding air of humanity as Alexander is clearly someone of great compassion who cares for his fellow man (and woman).

We are taken through a challenging start to his career as the only male nurse in a gynaecological ward and then on through surgical wards, periods as an agency nurse, the horrors of A&E and the difficulties of working with psychiatric patients. The problems of working with know-it-all doctors, couldn't care less colleagues and belligerent patients in sometimes short-staffed, sometimes dirty but occasionally pleasant wards are outlined in a very well written, extremely believable and insightful book. Although he has plenty to moan about, I am pleased to say that the author is not a moaner and his upbeat style makes this an interesting, educational and very enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyable read, 3 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Confessions of a Male Nurse (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
As I began reading "Confessions of a Male Nurse" by Michael Alexander I found this book as real as it was funny and shocking. I am a healthcare worker myself and understood the book tells us not what should happen, but what actually does happen in the real world of human nurses, doctors and patients in the healthcare systems of most countries in the civilised world. It is a relief that there are actually caring nurses like Michael Alexander who are not afraid to tell the truth.

This is a humorous, easy-to-read, well-written book that I highly recommend to, not only healthcare workers, but to anyone wanting an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Confessions of a male nurse, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Male Nurse (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is a fantastic book I laughed all the way through it and yes it does sound very true to life and is very well written. I would class it as a must buy book and also a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this book!, 4 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Male Nurse (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
Great book, well written and gives a real insight to life as a nurse. Very funny in parts and also sad - a real mixed bag and very enjoyable. Definitely recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 8 April 2013
By 
Zoey (shropshire, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Male Nurse (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
A great read very funny as well as educational a great book due to the fact it's a male nurses view which was interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 2 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Male Nurse (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book onto my Kindle.
One because it was so cheap and I thought it was worth a shot and two because of the good reviews,
and.....
I loved it!
Interesting, funny, sad, honest, heart warming.
Great!

Definitely recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please!, 11 July 2012
This review is from: Confessions of a Male Nurse (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book. It was a great mix of serious, silly, sad and uplifting stories from the world of nursing and if you have enjoyed other books in this genre then this one will not disappoint. The author alludes to other books he may write and I hope he does. A brilliant new voice to add to what is already out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Male Nurse (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
My first book on the kindle. Not read a full book in years. Read this in days. As a student nurse i found this very interesting, funny and learnt a few things along the way. I have now purchased confessions of a GP. At 99p a pop you can't go wrong xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exactly how it is!, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Male Nurse (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
This book gave an excellent incite into the world of nursing. It was funny and sad. Had a mixture of everything you expect and don't expect. Overall very entertaining and informative!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading, 5 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Confessions of a Male Nurse (The Confessions Series) (Kindle Edition)
This book is funny but also has its serious moments. Certainly opened my eyes to how things work in the NHS and what my GP has to put up and all the different training he has done. Also gives you a better understanding of certain illnesses, good and bad. Well worth the read. Has his funny moments too. I look at people differently in the waiting room now lol, wondering......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews